We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Resort(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Motel(Rockaway Beach)(Great Value!)
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Rogue Inn(Rockaway Beach)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Garibaldi House Inn & Suites(Garibaldi)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Cabins(Manzanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spindrift Inn(Manzanita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
278
325
74
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
325
74
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudd buildingheated poolgas fireplacedirectly across the streetocean viewjunior suitegreat viewcan't beat the viewcannon beachfull kitchenoregon coastperfect locationsliding glass doorupstairs roombottom floorfirst floorqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 712 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We've stayed numerous times at the Sunset Surf Motel. It has become our favorite place to go since we enjoy being right on the beach and we enjoy Mazanita. We always stay in the Budd building so I can't comment on the other building, though I don't think they look as nice. The rooms are spacious and have kitchen facilities. Our refrigerator was on the noisy side which made it a bit tough to sleep. For location and the price, we love it for a relatively inexpensive getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OregonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

when we first came to the sunset surf and check out our room in the original building, i was taken back immediately by the smell. if only they had a room freshener, as this is the first thing that hits you. yes, the room hasn't been up graded in 30 years, but it was adaquate. the worst part was, the women that work there, smoke RIGHT outside the back door, which is right in front of the steps that lead to the rooms upstairs...there is an over hang, making the smoke hang around. i found that horrible. i would like to give more stars, but it is an older motel, but the location is wonderful, even tho it rained heavily the day that we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This hotel is located just steps from the beach, which is the only good thing about it. The room photos on the hotel's web site are VERY deceiving! We stayed in the "original" building and the rooms are so small you can barely fit a family of 4 in them. Not at all like the photos (false advertising?!?).
The facility is old, but pretty clean. The service, however, is horrible! When housekeeping came after our first night, they simply smoothed the blankets on the bed and gave us new towels. The garbage was not emptied, the room was not vacuumed, the toilet paper was left empty, and the bathroom was not cleaned. When we politely asked the daytime manager if perhaps housekeeping was not done with our room because of the above mentioned items, we were told they would get right on it. Upon returning later, we found they did a quick vacuum just inside the door (sand) and left everything else undone. We finally had to get our own toilet paper from the front desk. Any requests are met with an eye roll and a huff.
We made our reservations 3 months prior to our trip and should have gotten the confirmation in writing because upon arrival our rate was $27 per night higher than we were quoted.
We will NEVER stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelinmom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warnerportland, Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

Sorry you feel this way about our motel.
On our website we advertise two different views of our rooms in original building as one is one bed room with kitchen and two bedroom unit . We could not advertise all room of original building due to various type but the other building like ashely and budd building are typical room.
And also an family of four would fit comfortably in this room that has two queen size beds.
For housekeeping, If our guest request no service, then they are not allowes to go in our guest room and will bring towel when they call or come to the office.
If they want service at a late time, will go and do what is requested .
If we did not meet your needs we are very sorry.
For room rate, we didn't send out confirmations in writing unless we are asked to it.
We respected all of our guest, They are #1 not the Hotel and our rates in the summer season of July and Auguest are one flat rate not mnid week or special discount rates.
We guess when you make a reservation of room three months ago, you looked at the June season rates but you stayed in Auguest.
We are sorry again you could not enjoyed at our Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband and three-year old decided to "wing it" on a trip to the Oregon Coast after attending a wedding in Hood River. We stopped first in the Cannon Beach area and found everything very pricey and a bit "cheesy" ... too touristy for our taste. We headed down the road a bit to Manzanita and, not optimistic about finding a beachfront hotel in our budget, at the last minute, we were stunned to check the office at the Sunset Serf Motel and learn that a great room (#34) with two queen beds (one in a separate bedroom) was available for about $135. The people were very friendly and accommodating, the facility was clean and well-equipped (wifi, cable tv, micro, fridge, coffeemaker, etc), a heated pool was super clean, and the beach was steps away. Plus we had an awesome view of the sunset! This place is a total bargain and should not be missed when visiting the northern Oregon coast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoosierRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This motel has been around for many decades. We stayed here over 40 years ago and the motel is the same. You can not beat the location to the beach! The manager, Linda Lou, was very friendly and helpful.

We had the three comfy, queen bed room and it was perfect. Refrig, stove and sink, with a kitchen table and 4 chairs. Games and movies are available in the front office.

For the price, you can't beat it...........

Friends from Mesa, AZ

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KOOLGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews