We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Right on the water”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great classic west coast beach motel. Room was an ample size and quiet. Choose a room on the 2nd floor for the best view - worth the extra $. If you do stay on the first floor of the main building, make sure you are not near the pool which will completely block your view of the water. Staff was extremely nice and very helpful in recommending area restaurants. It's on a road which is a bit busy, but we found it quiet at night.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for the second floor room. Worth it for the perfect view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    293
    64
    20
    10
See reviews for
204
266
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This motel is very clean and the room was comfortable. You are across the street from the beach with a view of the windsurfers. Don't stay here if you don't like children and families as there are many family groups. However we enjoyed watching the family fun. This is a bargain, price wise, for a motel right on the beach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We could barely sleep in the bed. The mattress couldn't be worse. It prevents you from sleeping. Should have been replaced years ago.Yes, there is an ocean view -- if you leave the curtain open. But then you're staying in a department store window, because 31B is at the top of the stairs, and everyone has to tromp past it to get to their room. So you're on display. Even with the curtain closed, you'll still hear everyone walking by. But you can't hear the ocean, because the windows don't open. Except for the tiny window close to the motel laundry room and the parking lot, where everyone goes to smoke. Housekeeping doesn't do anything except bring clean towels and sort of bunch up the bedcovers. It's close to the beach, but everything in Manzanita is close to the beach. We won't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASPDX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We've stayed here twice. The first time, several years ago, we came off-season and got a nice room with a beach view and deck. This time, we came at peak season when prices were high, so we decided to save money by getting a budget "sleeping room" for two nights. When we arrived, we found that our room had not been cleaned. Since the cleaning staff had left for the evening, the hotel let us stay in a fancy luxury suite that night for no extra charge. The luxury suite was awesome, especially since we weren't paying much for it. It had a great view, a fireplace, etc. But for the following night, we had to go back to our budget sleeping room. All I can say is that the "sleeping room" description is accurate. There was no reason to hang out in the budget room except to sleep. It was tiny and had no view. If you want a room that's enjoyable to lounge in, you'll have to pay for one of the nicer ones. But all the rooms are pretty quiet and have comfortable beds. The motel is in an ideal spot, right on the beach, near restaurants and cafes. Manzanita is one of the most relaxing towns on the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: You'll get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Surf Motel only one night, but we were very satisfied. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The ceiling is quite low though. The location of the motel is great, because it is practically on the beach and there are many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is clearly an older hotel, but our room was surprisingly large with a lovely view out to the ocean. Clean, comfortable, quiet, and with nice amenities (microwave, fridge, wifi) that make traveling easier. And the location just can't be beat. Office staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juliann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Juliann for the wonderful review!

Our staff always strives to do their best to help and serve our guests as best they can, and it is always nice to hear our guests write reviews about it.

We usually try to remodel/renovate our rooms during the offseason, and we hope to see you and your family during your next visit to Rockaway Beach.

Sincerely,
Surfside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stay here two or three times a year, and are always made to feel very welcome. The people are super accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is nice and you can't beat the view!

Room Tip: We loved our suite with a patio where you can watch the beach and the sunsets.
See more room tips
Green Features: Lots of recycling offered. It was good to have real dishes and glasses instead of throw-aways.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laingmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing