We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks personality & warmth”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were so glad we chose Manzanita over the other choices, being high end& busy Cannon Beach or arcade, Vegas like Seaside. Yes, Manzanita doesn't have a lot for downtown but the beach is quiet, peaceful, clean and at your doorstep. However, the motel which is across the road from the huge beach, lacks warmth one likes on a holiday. Our room in the Budd Bldg on the 2nd floor was clean, had all amenities we needed but needed some warmth and modernizing besides the flat screen TV. The non-chalant attitude at the desk did not feel welcoming and set the stage for your stay. A lot of people in the area and at the hotel had dogs, which we didn't mind as we like dogs. The one pet peeve was the railing on the deck was old, huge and blocked the view for one sitting in a chair. I think I would make a different choice next time and yes, I know, it would cost more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venusalberta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHKManzanita, General Manager at Sunset Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

I would like to apologize for the non-welcoming experience of our desk staff. I will look into this issue you have stated and will be addressing it with our staff to help us improve. Also, you were spot on with our room furnitures, and I would like to let you know (based on reviews by our customers) we are currently undergoing furniture upgrades across all the Budd Building rooms this offseason and should be complete in time for the upcoming summer season. As always, we appreciate your feedback and will look to improve our amenities, staff, and service.

Thank you,
Sunset Surf Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 693 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a (relatively) inexpensive motel in Manzanita. It's location in Manzanita is great, right across the street with an unobstructed view of theocean and close to the town, but there's not much to the town and the walkway for the main building disrupts any privacy from the room as people stomp by. A few of the rooms in the main building have sliding glass doors as the entrance, which is strange and somewhat inconvenient.

The room had a strange smell, I think the carpet being wet maybe? My husband described as wet baby diaper, whatever it was I was compelled to by a glade plug in, which doesn't please me on vacation. The room was reasonably clean but had some snot on the shower curtain( gross, but amazing how often this happens) thank god it was acurved shower rod!

Caret was worn, some paint was peeling, trim showed it's age...overall, realling showing it's age! Paper thin walls, kids kept calling our room ( accident or prank, not really sure or caring)

The girl at check in was somewhat sullen, this is obviously a family run business. I believe the bad reviews about service if the check in girl was any indication, these people are not professional enough to handle an unhappy customer.

I guess if you want cheap, this is good enough? I'll pay more to stay elsewhere happily.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor corner room with private balcony if you want any privacy and/or noise reductio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place was an economy hotel with a great location. They were most accommodating, and lived up to my expectations. My suggestion; however, would be that this is not the best town to spend your time in, if you are traveling down the Oregon coast.

The shoreline is flat and without much to photograph; however, it is near othere places well worth the trip. The town is tiny, and not much going on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Older hotel, but two of the buildings were recently remodeled. Rooms still have an older motel feel to them, but comfortable and cozy enough. The beds/pillows aren't super comfortable, but again, you aren't getting things you'd normally have in a hotel in a little beach town. Great price for the location and view. Make sure you get one of the ocean view rooms, definitely worth the slightly higher price. Closer to the ocean than any of the other hotels in town; you can hear the waves crashing from your room and it's awesome. Literally walk across the road out your back door and you are on the beach. Beach wasn't crowded at all, even when the weather was rainy, it cleared up most days so you could walk around. Cute little town just steps away, many restaurant choices either walking distance or a quick (less than 5) minute drive away. Eat at Wandas for breakfast! There will most likely be a line but it was amazing food and worth the wait. San Dune pub had great food for dinner also, and the live music on the weekend there was fun.

Room Tip: If you are in the Budd building, there are pet rooms there, so barking dogs were a noise issue where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just concluded our second stay at the SunSet Surf Motel in Manzanita. We love this place. Rooms are all clean, packed with amenities and have incredible views. The staff are super friendly, laid-back and easy to work with if you need something changed or whatnot. Also, you cannot beat the location. Walk 25 ft. and you are on the beach. Walk a half a block for great espresso and a danish in the morning; walk two blocks and visit all sorts of art galleries, boutique shops, handmade/fair trade goods, etc.

This is our new favorite destination on the Oregon Coast. Great for couples, kids and even pets!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tacmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This motel is an older motel but is comfortable and clean. Weather was poor during the two nights we stayed there so we were very glad of the comfortable sofa as we spent more time in our room than we had hoped. Good pub for meals just up the street and also a great deli which has meals and huge sandwiches which we took back to our room for some of our meals. Convenient to Cannon Beach but much less pricy and we were right across from the beach in a corner room so had a view out of two large sets of windows.

Would stay here again if I were back in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very family-friendly place as you are located directly across from the beach. It's not a fancy hotel so you don't worry about tracking in a little sand; yet it's very comfortable and safe-feeling, and some recent improvements make it nicer than the last time I visited over a year ago. I love having the kitchenette - nice to eat breakfast in and whip up some sandwiches for picnicking at the beach (plus your room doubles as your very own easy access bathroom while spending the day at the beach). The seasonal, heated outdoor pool is warm and a great place to splash around. Everything you might need or want is within a couple blocks, so just park your car!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
273 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,233 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,689 reviews
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: $66 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing