We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This motel is an older motel but is comfortable and clean. Weather was poor during the two nights we stayed there so we were very glad of the comfortable sofa as we spent more time in our room than we had hoped. Good pub for meals just up the street and also a great deli which has meals and huge sandwiches which we took back to our room for some of our meals. Convenient to Cannon Beach but much less pricy and we were right across from the beach in a corner room so had a view out of two large sets of windows.

Would stay here again if I were back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    310
    70
    22
    10
See reviews for
218
281
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very family-friendly place as you are located directly across from the beach. It's not a fancy hotel so you don't worry about tracking in a little sand; yet it's very comfortable and safe-feeling, and some recent improvements make it nicer than the last time I visited over a year ago. I love having the kitchenette - nice to eat breakfast in and whip up some sandwiches for picnicking at the beach (plus your room doubles as your very own easy access bathroom while spending the day at the beach). The seasonal, heated outdoor pool is warm and a great place to splash around. Everything you might need or want is within a couple blocks, so just park your car!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Certainly the smallest room I have stayed in for a very long time! Having our dog with us too in a kennel, there was no room to manoeuvre. However, we were there for the beach, so spent lots of time out of the room. There were no chairs, so we did perch on the bed to watch a movie one night. The room was very clean, everything worked as it should, and it was excellent value for the low rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Will definitely return in the future. Beautiful place great staff.Cant wait to bring the kids. Awesome heated pool. The bonfires on the beach where wonderful. Very nice guests and staff. Only thing that could have made this stay better would be breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiep253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at Sunset Surf occasionally over the years. This time, at my request, I was given a ground floor unit with a kitchenette. It was explained that this was a newly renovated unit that now has a gas fireplace, but no oven. Since I knew ahead of time, no oven was fine.
The unit was very nice, including the fireplace (which I didn't use, as the weather was perfect). However, the kitchen area was woefully inadequate. For example: There was one postage-sized bit of counter space, and the furnishings were almost nonexistent. I had bought French bread to have with my dinner, and to make sandwiches with the next day. There was not one knife for cutting, only the dinner knives, and what if I had wanted to have a steak for dinner? No steak knives. There were no teaspoon-size teaspoons, just soup spoons and little ice cream spoons. I went to the office and asked for a serrated knife which did the job.
If/when I stay there again I will bring my own cooking utensils, etc., like staying in a yurt at a campground.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTclematis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have been staying at the Sunset Surf each summer for the past 4 years because of it's proximity to the beach, great view, and heated pool. The property owners have made a few changes in the past couple years (coffee pots, new dishes, updated furniture) which have helped to modernize it a bit. That being said, it is still a very simple motel.....but it is perfect for children and you can't beat the view. Some rooms have kitchenettes/full kitchens so make sure that you ask for these if you need them. The property offers free wi-fi, and the pool is heated (and cleaned every morning!) There is a nice grassy lawn area with picnic tables out front that is available to all guests. The beach is across a very small road and a through the dunes...a two minute walk at most.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Manzanita is a simple town, not "cute" sified nor particularly rough around the edges. The Sunset Surf Motel pretty much fits the description of Manzanita. The rooms I stayed in had kitchen facilities and a view onto the ocean. They were clean, simple, and utilitarian. For me, it was a very pleasant place to stay, but if you yearn for luxuries this might not be your type of place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
257 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,007 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,560 reviews
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing