We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

An older motel, but remodeled bathroom is nice. Kitchen well kept. And it's clean. You cannot beat the view! Waking up in bed in room 27 over the office makes you feel like you are right on the beach. Nice sitting area and small table. Good space. I would go back. Nice to have free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    278
    59
    20
    9
See reviews for
189
249
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tri Cities, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Once again, we enjoyed the stay. Memorial Day weekend was busier than the week after but noise is not a factor in the Budd Building. I appreciate that the facility has some rooms that are pet friendly -- best advice is to book those as soon as you have your dates. The rooms are clean for the most part -- baseboard areas could be vacuumed more often. Upgrades to other areas of the facility look very nice, we look forward to the upgrades to the Budd Building. We hope there will be bistro height table and chairs to be able to see over the porch railing. Metal artwork would be nice over the fireplace and would not fade with the afternoon sun hitting it. The staff from the receptionist to the cleaning staff are always very friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Manzanita at Sunsurf Motel. We enjoyed putting together a puzzle from one of many the office has to borrow. They also have games and dvds. Enjoyed the great rate, convenient parking, cleanliness and location.. right next to the beach. Next time, we will get a room on the ocean side and come when the pool is open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandinsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped in to see if they had any vacancies, and they were very welcoming. We have three small children, and a dog. The place was perfect! The ocean is RIGHT THERE outside your window. It's tucked away so you don't have a lot of foot traffic coming past your hotel. The beach is beautiful here, not overcrowded. We loved our room, they have done a nice job updating the rooms and incorporating new furnishings. Our room was quiet, and the kitchenette was just what we needed. The ONLY downside was when I went to shower at 10pm, and the water temperature kept fluctuating, the other hotel guests must have been flushing toilets or showering at the same time. But that one little thing will NOT keep us from coming back! This place was a smokin' deal, and our family is in love with this little town!

Room Tip: Get one on the second floor...they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kickstartmyheart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. We stay in Room 27, which is a big room over the office with picture windows overlooking the beach. The room has a small refrigerator, stove and oven, along with a microwave. There are dishes and pots and pans. We haven't cooked, but we did use the fridge and we got instant oatmeal to microwave for breakfast. It is within a couple of blocks of a coffee house (The Coffee Shop) and the Sand Dune Pub, both of which I recommend. We rented a movie from the office to watch in the DVD player. The décor could use some updating, but for $150 a night on a holiday weekend you can't beat the location and the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a nice very beachy place. Great views and dog friendly. I suggest the Budd bldg. and staying on the second floor. They have balconies. In the Budd bldg. you can have a room with kitchen and an extra sleeping room at very reasonable prices. Check on the website for a discount coupon. You can get 10 or 15% off rates, depending on the season

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shastamypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would definitely recommend this motel! It was right on the beach and had a lovely view. The staff were helpful in recommending places to eat. They had board games and magazines in the lobby for when the rain inevitably set in. There was enough parking and their pet-friendly which was great. The only thing I would changes is the design of the railing on the balcony. When you're sitting in the chairs, the wooden rail completely blocks the view of the water. Other than that, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
19.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing