We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Sunset Surf Motel is a great place to stay on the northern Oregon coast. Manzanita is a sweet little town! and the beach is so close, clean and safe.

The motel allowed our dog in a lovely room across & facing the Pacific & sunsets. The dog loved the beach and chasing seagulls.

The motel room was very clean with a small kitchen and a good supply of cooking utensils. THe two grocery stores are adequate; one is close to the motel. Other shopping is also available & within walking distance of motel as are several good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGreene41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    288
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
203
261
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Sunset Surf. We booked two rooms for two nights stay at the last minute and ended up getting one great room for both nights! The room was on the bottom floor just steps away from the crosswalk to the beach and even though we were right on the road, we didn't hear it at all! We stayed with our children (10, 12, and 14) and felt comfortable enough to let them come and go without any worry. Manzanita was a great place, and with this hotel, we were very happy! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nemah, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great location, we had a terrific view of the beach and ocean. Although we didn't utilize the pool, because the weather was so nice, it was very well kept up and guarded from the wind. Only issue was the bed could have been more comfortable. Overall we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianinNemah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Its a nice hotel right on the beach, staff are very friendly. My friend left his phone and camera and the hotel mailed it back to him no problems. Beautiful view of the ocean, a few quaint shops and restaurants around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel1233173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great view of the ocean and good service. We had a problem with the bed and they immediately sent a maintenance person to fix it. Good kitchen faciltiy and flat screen TV. Private balcony was wonderful with a great 2nd floor view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Budd building for private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is an outstanding motel located across the street from the beach which is easily accessible for all ages, including those in wheel chairs. The swimming pool is a bonus and is protected from the wind by a transparent wall. Manzanita is a delightful small town that has several restaurants, two markets, two bookstores and several interesting little shops. It is an easy two hour drive from Portland and there are delightful towns nearby, such as Cannon Beach and Nehalem.

Room Tip: Call early for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Sunset Surf Motel is just what you would expect of an American motel, but set on the best beach location one could imagine. The outlook is splendid, even when the mists close in giving an atmospheric appreciation of this exciting stretch of coast. Forst floor romms have deck access rather than balconies.

Room Tip: As for a first floor room for the view, preferably in the southern-most block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing