We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great view of the ocean and good service. We had a problem with the bed and they immediately sent a maintenance person to fix it. Good kitchen faciltiy and flat screen TV. Private balcony was wonderful with a great 2nd floor view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Budd building for private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    288
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
203
261
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is an outstanding motel located across the street from the beach which is easily accessible for all ages, including those in wheel chairs. The swimming pool is a bonus and is protected from the wind by a transparent wall. Manzanita is a delightful small town that has several restaurants, two markets, two bookstores and several interesting little shops. It is an easy two hour drive from Portland and there are delightful towns nearby, such as Cannon Beach and Nehalem.

Room Tip: Call early for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Sunset Surf Motel is just what you would expect of an American motel, but set on the best beach location one could imagine. The outlook is splendid, even when the mists close in giving an atmospheric appreciation of this exciting stretch of coast. Forst floor romms have deck access rather than balconies.

Room Tip: As for a first floor room for the view, preferably in the southern-most block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My son and I stayed here recently for one night as part of a trip along the Oregon Coast. Manzanita is a quaint little town right next to the ocean. The motel is situated right across the street from a great stretch of beach. It's also close to shops and restaurants about a block away up one of the side streets. The view from many of the units is wonderful, especially on the second floor, as you can look right across to see the beach and sunset. Location wise I really liked this motel.
Facilities wise, this is a not a new motel and it show's it age and lack of attention to detail. Our room was sizable and contained two queen beds, a small fridge, a microwave and a newer style thin screen tv. The carpet in the main room looks like it's been replaced not too long ago, the flooring in the bathroom is old and cracked in a couple of spots. The window screen in the bedroom had a hole the size of a golf ball. I had a shower and at the same temperature setting I received blasts of water that were comfortable, too hot and cold.
As I went to bed I noticed several strands of blond hair on the bedspread, not mine.
The entrance doors to the units must not shut easily or there are several disrespectful neighbors as many doors were slammed and would shake the walls of our unit. With lots of room for lawn chairs outside the units you have late and early risers chatting outside that are hard to ignore.
If you're primary objective for lodging is view and access to the beach this is a great spot but if you want quiet and modern surroundings you should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd level will have a better view of the beach, depending on the number of families you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wonderful place to stay at the beach. Reasonably priced for beach front, ocean view. Clean roomy with balconey/deck facing the ocean. Full kitchen, lots of seats, comfortable bed. Quiet small town with decent restaurants and quiet beach to walk on. Also fun to watch wind surfers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is the second time we stayed here and the location absolutely cannot be beat. It is a motel, so if you go expecting a bellman and a luggage cart, you're barking up the wrong tree. But if you are looking for a reasonably priced place with a view that can't be beat, this is the place. It is overlooking the beach, there is a little pool and the staff is good without being overbearing. They don't bug you if you take a couple of pool towels to the beach a few miles up the road, they don't say anything when you take a bunch of ice to keep your cooler cool. There is a great little 'village' just up the street for coffee and breakfast with a really nice staff too. I love staying here as Manzanita isn't so uppety as some other communities like Cannon Beach. No one looks at you funny for being super casual and you cannot get any closer to the water and especially for the price. Apparently they allow dogs too as our next door neighbor's dog barked incessantly at us coming and going until it's owner came back.

Room Tip: if your budget is super tight, there is a funny little room, 101 that is I think slightly less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderhound760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hood river
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

location is on a quiet corner of the town right by the beach, the room was clean and exactly what I was expecting. The reviews I read and the website portray it accurately. Nothing fancy, but that's what I needed for my budget/kids/dog!!! Sweet place I will for sure stay again. The only draw back was the location of our room made us feel like fish in fish bowl..... my kids were self concious about that, but I don't mind because the trade off is an amazing view from our room of the beach. Very nice friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: choose the top level if you want privacy with the curtains open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Property: Sunset Surf Motel
Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing