We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second summer visit”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wonderful place to stay at the beach. Reasonably priced for beach front, ocean view. Clean roomy with balconey/deck facing the ocean. Full kitchen, lots of seats, comfortable bed. Quiet small town with decent restaurants and quiet beach to walk on. Also fun to watch wind surfers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 693 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is the second time we stayed here and the location absolutely cannot be beat. It is a motel, so if you go expecting a bellman and a luggage cart, you're barking up the wrong tree. But if you are looking for a reasonably priced place with a view that can't be beat, this is the place. It is overlooking the beach, there is a little pool and the staff is good without being overbearing. They don't bug you if you take a couple of pool towels to the beach a few miles up the road, they don't say anything when you take a bunch of ice to keep your cooler cool. There is a great little 'village' just up the street for coffee and breakfast with a really nice staff too. I love staying here as Manzanita isn't so uppety as some other communities like Cannon Beach. No one looks at you funny for being super casual and you cannot get any closer to the water and especially for the price. Apparently they allow dogs too as our next door neighbor's dog barked incessantly at us coming and going until it's owner came back.

Room Tip: if your budget is super tight, there is a funny little room, 101 that is I think slightly less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powderhound760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

location is on a quiet corner of the town right by the beach, the room was clean and exactly what I was expecting. The reviews I read and the website portray it accurately. Nothing fancy, but that's what I needed for my budget/kids/dog!!! Sweet place I will for sure stay again. The only draw back was the location of our room made us feel like fish in fish bowl..... my kids were self concious about that, but I don't mind because the trade off is an amazing view from our room of the beach. Very nice friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: choose the top level if you want privacy with the curtains open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The motel was clean and everything I expected. Very close to the main part of town of Manzanita and walking distance to everything. The pool was heated and clean, plus the staff provided pool towels. Fantastic view and the rooms had chairs on the deck in front to watch the ocean. The gripes I had were that the housekeeping staff did not provide us coffee everyday other than the first day. Coffee makers were in each room, but no coffee grounds after the first day. The bathrooms are a little small and only have small showers, but not rally an issue. I would stay here again with no worries and did enjoy my stay. Its the best motel in town.

Room Tip: Ask for upper deck in main motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Checked into the Sunset Surf for 2 nights and immediately went back to the office to see if we could book a third. We had to move from the second floor of the main building to the first floor of the annex of the third night. Both rooms were just what we wanted-clean, comfortable, perfect location, with fantastic views! Our dog loved every minute, and when she wasn't playing on the beach, she was sitting in the window of our room, watching the action on the beach, wishing she was there!
Appreciated that all of us, including Stella the dog, were welcomed. Traveling with my mother and 10-year old daughter, we always felt safe, even with the patio door open:)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank TravelTrina0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Love, love, love this place. It is now our "go-to" beach spot for nice coastal weekend getaways. Ocean facing rooms have great views and it's so nice to be able to go barefoot from the room to the beach. Kitchenettes in rooms are a great bonus for either eating in the whole stay or just a few light meals - fully stocked so you don't have to worry about what to bring. Fireplaces are a great touch too, especially for cooler months when you can be cozy inside while watching the ocean outside. Overall, a great spot for family, friends or a romantic weekend. The staff is wonderful and very responsive over email before arrival if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We LOVED this property. Walking barefoot from our rooms to the beach and back was lovely. The rooms were large, clean and the maid service was quick. Having our own kitchen was fun too. The heated pool is just that -heated. Very relaxing after a day on the windy beach. We would recommend this motel to anyone, and will stay here again when we visit Manzanita.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
274 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,239 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
846 reviews
7.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing