We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, cozy and ocean view”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I really liked the casual atmosphere where dogs were allowed(select rooms). Friendly with families swimming in the heated pool with a great view of the ocean. Kitchenettes in the room with a grocery store down the street with a great selection and stays open late. Also a Co-op, coffee shop, pizza place and bar two blocks away. I almost don't want to give a good review so we can keep this place all to ourselves :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meowmix365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 693 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Sunset Surf was perfect for the end of almost a week at a couple locations on the Oregon Coast. We were able to have a couple meals in as we already had food with us. The room came with everything we needed as we had a kitchenette. We had a freezer, frig, micro, and all the dishes we needed. The room was for four but there was two of us. we had plenty of room.
We enjoyed sitting by the pool. The wind break around the pool did the job and we got to get some sun and minimize the wind. We were reading and still blocked out the 15 kids in the pool the first day. No problem second day.
It's obvious that it has had some upgrading but is a complete shame they did not put windows with small sliders in the bottom of the windows to add to the ventilation. One small window only and it did get really stuffy. We did not ask for a fan.
the view was wonderful. We enjoyed sitting on the front deck outside our room to watch the Sunset. We felt the price was fair for what we got. We definitely would stay again but would take our own quiet fan as we can drive there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The room was clean and quiet. The staff was helpful and friendly. I appreciate being able to bring our dog here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryliss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love Manzanita and decided to take the kids for a mid-week overnight trip. I have stayed in Manzanita many times but chose Sunset Surf for the location and pool. I was so disappointed; if this had been my first time in Manzanita I might never return.

The motel is inexpensive by coast standards, but for $150 i at least expect to be comfortable. My main complaints:
- The front desk staff was rude and impersonal at check-in and checkout. Not even a smile or welcome. They just ran my card and gave me a key, looking very unhappy to be there.
- The room was stuffy with no fan or air. The one window that opened was behind a huge line of curtains, so all drapes would have to BR open to get fresh air. Not very private or safe.
- when I called the front desk to ask about a fan, nobody answered the phone. So I left my kids locked in the room and went to the office and waited for someone to come to the desk. Fortunately I was able to get a box fan.
- The "heated" pool was uncomfortably cold
- I was awoken in the morning by a very loud noise which turned out to be the shower in the room next to us
- the beds were uncomfortable but they had new flat screen TVs....not really my priority at the beach!

Definitely won't stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What is there not to love about a place that has a 180 degree view right on the beach. You can walk right out the front door and enjoy the sand, boogie board in the waves, sketch, read or just relax. a block away the cute village of Manzanita is right there for shopping, meals, renting beach toys and more great walks. and all for a very reasonable price! the rooms are quiet, very clean, have fireplaces and again amazing view right on the beach. We like to cook most meals in which is very easy, everything you need is there. We have been here three times now and have loved it each time. Can't wait to go back again!!!

Room Tip: upper floor of the "Bud" building is the ticket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our new favorite place to stay on the Oregon coast! We have been there twice already this Summer! Awesome location, great value, clean rooms and friendly staff! Manzanita is such a fantastic town too!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Four of us and our dog stayed 3 nights in unit on the upper level with kitchen and private deck overlooking the beach and found it to be very comfortable with only 2 exceptions...soft cheap soap that fell apart and brick hard pillows. .I was glad I brought my pillow from home. Otherwise the place and linens were very clean, the mattress comfortable. I think they should eliminate the bed spreads....today, most hotels (even Holiday Express) use light weight comforters with linen covers (European-style) that get a regular washing. Bed spreads are old fashion and unattractive and of no use really. We did not use the pool as I will not touch water that is less than 80 degrees....would have prefered and enjoyed a hot tub. Love the location which is walking distance to everything. On our last day we discovered the market and wish we had found it earlier as.it has a spectacular looking deli with many salads, hot dishes and pie....good prices. We enjoyed getting carry-out meals and eating them in our unit ....table with an ocean view, better than restaurant seating. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
276 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,262 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
847 reviews
7.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: $65 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing