We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean view”
Review of Sunset Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We wanted a room for 4 with an ocean view and this was just what we wanted! We were on the 2nd floor of the Budd building. Perfect. The kitchette made it easy to eat in or out. This was not a luxury room, but it was a wonderful room with everything we needed. Good service: fixed a burned out light bulb right away. Fireplace, ocean view, kitchen, clean for a very reasonable price given the location. I will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scastle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 681 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

My daughter and friends have stayed at SunSet Surf several times and we recently booked two rooms for an overnight. Super clean -- kitchen so well equipped for a holiday stay. Tremendous view/on the beach. What more could one wish for? My husband and I plan to stay for several days when we come from NE next summer. Thank you to the lovely receptionist too.

Room Tip: The website states quite clearly the extent of an ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The rooms could be updated some..nice an clean...great view of ocean and across the street to the beach. Plenty of shops in walking distance.It was our second visit,we will be back again.It is dog friendly , we didnt bring our dog this time,didnt hear any noise from any dogs...prices are resonable,also..friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: corner rooms are great..any room would be ok
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Dated rooms but for the most part clean but you get what you pay for. Great location close to main street and right across from the beach with views from most rooms. Our room had big fridge, full kitchen and beds were comfy. Service was lacking! We would stay here again but think the summer rates would be over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We've stayed a few times at the Sunset Surf Motel. It's location is fantastic - right across the street from the beach and I think almost all the rooms have an ocean view. It is an older motel, so the rooms are pretty "lived in" but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. And you can't beat the view! Manzanita is a great little town on the Oregon Coast with wide, walkable beaches and lots of great little shops and restaurants (all within walking distance of the motel). This is a very dog friendly Motel and town, so be prepared to be around lots of pooches and hear some barking as dogs get excited to meet new furry friends. We take our 2 dogs with us and they love the play on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a nice balcony/porch, but rooms on the first floor have a patio - eas...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place is great. I was overwhelmingly impressed with the city Manzanita. If your looking for a place to escape, this is it. Our room was small but not crowded. Nice bed and decent sized bathroom. Small oven with 4 burner top and a small fridge. Enough utinsels in the room to accomplish almost any cooking need. Was so nice to go to the grocery store, within walking distance, pick up some nice meats and produce at market prices, I anticipated getting gouged. Cooked a nice meal and ate at the table with the fireplace on, looking out a glass wall overlooking the ocean. Fantastic! Great for couples or loners. Has a pool if you got kids. Wifi for free. Great little places for breakfast, lunch or dinner, again, very reasonably priced. Great little coffee shop there also, all within walking distance. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocameron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The motel looks straight out onto the Pacific, so you can watch the weather roll in. And if it's clear, you can watch the sunsets.
The motel is dog-friendly and the beach is right across the street. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The commercial strip in town, with the restaurants and shops, are just a short walk away.
Some of the rooms have kitchens -- plus if you don't want to eat out all the time. Also, there is an outdoor pool that is open during the summer months.
This is not a luxury hotel, but the rates make it a great deal.

Room Tip: Upper floors have balconies. "New" section rooms have private balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepi25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.5 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
260 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,104 reviews
19.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanita
The Inn at Manzanita
#4 of 4 in Manzanita
101 reviews
6.4 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Surf Motel

Address: 248 Ocean Ave, PO Box 458, Manzanita, OR 97130-9155
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range: $76 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Surf Ocean Front Motel,located just 13 miles south of Cannon beach, on one of Oregon's most spectacular beach settings. We have heated outdoor pool and gas fireplace as well as a variety of accommodation to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Surf Hotel Manzanita
Sunset Surf Motel Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing