We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
281
329
74
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
329
74
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudd buildingheated poolgas fireplacedirectly across the streetjunior suiteocean viewgreat viewcan't beat the viewcannon beachperfect locationsliding glass doorfull kitchenoregon coastupstairs roombottom floorwithin walking distancefirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
664 - 669 of 719 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Location is the best feature of this hotel. You are within easy walking distance to downtown and beach access is just across the street. We stayed in the old section in a king bed room. Our room had fantastic ocean front view. Being the old section the room needed updating. The room was noisy as you could easily hear your neighbors, activity in the hall and parking lot. The water in the shower became scalding if someone flushed the toilet. As Manzanita has little to offer in the way of hotels I would definitely stay here again based on the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheviLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was a delightful stay. Very nice staff. Clean room. Not very expensive. Compared with the other super expensive places in Manzanita this place was on the beach. I will definetly be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boopatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Manzanita is a sweet little seaside town with a handful of nice stores and a couple of decent restaurants. It's quiet alternative to the relative bustle of Cannon Beach. As might be expected for a town of this size, there isn't very much of a choice when it comes to lodging. That's why I'm glad I discovered the Sunset Surf Motel.

At first I was skeptical. After all, we were paying about $115 a night for a room facing the beach. At that price, how good could it be. Turns out, pretty darn good, if you set your expectations at a reasonable level.

Our room, a junior suite on the first floor of the Budd Building, did indeed face the beach. Great view! The first floor location was slightly problematic in terms of privacy. And there's a small two-lane road between you and the beach. But, surprisingly, noise was not much of an issue.

The room itself: pretty much just the basics. Small kitchen, comfortable bed, TV with a DVD player. Understand that the room was not luxurious, maybe a little worn around the edges, but certainly clean and well-maintained.

The Sunset Surf is a real find for the budget-minded traveler who wants a great view of the Pacific. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: When you book a room, make sure to ask for one with a view. And a second floor location would be preferable.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our room was in the “original” building, so it was probably the most dated. The price was lower, but you do get what you pay for. We had a one-bedroom unit, but in the bedroom there was literally just a bed (queen). No dresser, no nightstands, not even a folding luggage rack. The tiny closet had two plastic hangers. It was a pretty depressing room.

The “living room” had another queen bed and one nightstand, plus a round table and four chairs. The only place to sit was in the dining chairs. There was a kitchenette along part of one wall, with a counter-top microwave, sink, and small refrigerator. A small TV (old-style) and DVD player sat atop a small dresser. This area had a full wall of windows facing the ocean, which was kind of nice for the view during daylight hours, but the disadvantage was that the windows (including a glass slider door) were along the walkway that other guests used to get to their rooms. So anyone walking by could (and did) look right into the room. We were on the second floor, and between the ocean and us was the road and the motel’s swimming pool, covered for the winter with a blue plastic cover, held down by 5-gallon buckets. Rather an eyesore.

The bathroom was VERY tiny, and the shower door could only be opened half-way, because it hit the toilet. The switch for the only light was outside the door, and it also turned on a very loud fan.

It was an easy walk to the main part of Manzanita, with some restaurants, bars, and shops. It's a very cute town, with a really nice beach. I think if we return to Sunset Surf, I would spend more and stay in one of their newer buildings.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room in one of the newer buildings.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meginoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The room & bed smelled of insecticide. The bathroom had dry rot, dirt was piled up along baseboards & corners. Bathtub/shower very old & showing lots of wear. Lighting was terrible with very low wattage bulbs. Major renovations need to be made. We moved after just one night into a much cleaner motel.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews