We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Madras
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Front desk put us in a quiet part of the complex which has six buildings with some bordering a busy highway. Room was at least as expected for this price. Small notes that were particular to our room and our stay.

In photos you can see that the drapes were missing some hook hangers so drooped, but that was only cosmetic, they still kept the privacy. We did not discover we had only one bath towel until my wife reached for the first and discovered there were no more. Probably a housekeeping mistake and we did not have time to ask for and receive another so I dried on a slightly soggy towel but it did the job.

I don't care for the small round toilet seats found in small bathrooms but it still functioned fine. In another picture you will see that housekeeping had pushed the lamp back on the table until the shade was pushed sideways and tilted. Again, just cosmetic. Carpet seemed fairly new and well cleaned.

Bed comfortable for our preference. Coffee pot with two regular packets, no decaf but we wanted regular anyway. Creamer, sweetener, stir sticks as expected. Much better quality paper coffee cups that you usually get in lower cost motels. Hair drier worked fine. Shower worked fine with hot water holding same temperature throughout two showers.

Refrigerator worked fine. Did not use the microwave.

Free WiFi. Did not use it for anything that would push limits of its speed so don't know how it would work for something like streaming a movie.

Upon checkout I could not find anyone. It was just a few minutes before the free breakfast so front desk was probably preparing that. I just put my key on their keyboard where they would see it.

We had a small cooler so used the ice machine to top off the ice. It is a hopper type so improvised with a paper grocery bag folded short. There was no sign saying not to fill your cooler.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor facing the center of the complex. Rooms to the outside may have road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MountainMan1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Bend was booked, so ended up in Madras. This is a nice place for less than half the price of what Bend offered. nice and clean. Our room had a jacuzzi, microwave and refrigerator. Will stay here again when headed this way.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rwinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Couldn't find a room in Bend, OR so looked to neighboring cities. This property is huge with lots of grassy areas for dogs. Room was spacious with good mattresses. Room was clean, bathroom ample. Nice fridge, microwave, safes, Direct TV. Near stores, gas etc... Nice continental breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Staff very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We booked this room for two nights. After the first night they locked us out of our room & they didn't clean it. The excuse : they thought we'd checked in really early so that counted for one day already. Poor reasoning considering they have our check in time on their computer.We didn't check in until 5:00 on the day we booked for. The bathroom door was hard to open & air conditioner never got the room cold. And the bed was definitely hard. I would never stay here again & the front desk could use a P.R. course. Do yourself a favor & go somewhere else. I've never been treated this badly before !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a good find for us. Our room was nice and clean and roomy enough. We stayed one night and then on our way back up north stayed again in a nice clean room. No frills here but the sheets were clean and our A/C worked well. Breakfast was basic but enough to fill us up.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were lucky to get one of the last rooms in all of central Oregon, it seemed. And we were disappointed to find out it was a smoking room, so we loaded up on air freshener before we got there. Unfortunately, it didn't matter that it was a smoking room (and it wasn't bad at all) because the area was surrounded by wildfires, which infiltrated the room. Our room was near the highway, but we really didn't hear it. It looked like there may have been newer buildings down the hill away from the main road.

This is obviously an older property -- at least the building we were in. The room was large and everything was clean -- the important thing! The linens were soft. It was blistering hot, but the a/c worked fine, although it did bring the smoke into the room. In fact, the only fault I could find was that my bed was incredibly uncomfortable. It felt like it was broken and it made noise every time I moved.

The breakfast was standard; nothing special. But all the employees we encountered were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

These are the problems we had:
• air conditioning never really kept the room cool. We left the ac set on 58* and it really did not keep it cool enough to sleep well through the night (and I prefer warm to cold).
• our ice bucket came with no liner and had someone else's old toothpaste around the rim.
• we tried to use the indoor pool with our 2 year old but it was so disgusting that we didn't last more than 10-15 minutes. It was full of dead bugs, hair balls, and if the sunlight came in just right you could see a nasty film across the top of the water.
• when turning on the shower, it either wasn't tight or wasn't properly screwed on and I couldn't fix it with my bare hands. Water sprayed everywhere, not just from the shower head.

We stayed 2 nights. The room itself was small but comfortable so that was not a problem. The staff also was friendly so no problems there. We previously have stayed across the road at the Inn at Cross Keys Station. This time I chose to save a few pennies and go with the econo lodge but I will be paying the extra for Cross Keys for any future stays.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madras hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Madras
Quality Inn Madras
#2 of 5 in Madras
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
2.1 mi away
Motel 6 Madras OR
Motel 6 Madras OR
#3 of 5 in Madras
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Budget Inn Madras
Budget Inn Madras
#1 of 3 in Madras
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn

Address: 709 NE Highway 26, Madras, OR 97741-9455 (Formerly Madras Chateau Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Madras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Madras
Price Range: $86 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing