We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thirty years later - Surftides is still a great place to vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surftides Lincoln City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surftides Lincoln City
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Orofino, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thirty years later - Surftides is still a great place to vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I first started going to Surftides in Lincoln City over 30 years ago. At that time there were usually signs of much needed paint and minor repairs, but the ocean views and rooms were great. Now it has been updated and I have to admit I liked the old blue and gray colors much better (not an orange person). But the mattresses are even more comfortable and there are real pillows instead of the thin things you find at most motels. The views are still spectacular and so nice to have your private balcony that are walled in on both sides so you have nice privacy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipity797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    193
    79
    41
    55
See reviews for
162
247
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have stayed at several hotels along the coast and this is by far the best one we've stayed at. The staff was friendly and went above and beyond our expectations. We stayed a few nights at a beach house and payed over $175 a night and didn't get half of what we got here being priced at just under $75. I strongly recommend this place to anyone and everyone. We'll definitely be coming here again opposed to the expensive beach house. And our favorite part was the amazing view. We had our own personal deck, fireplace and complete privacy. We definitely got our money's worth out of this one!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

First off I want to say, We Will Definitly Be Back!
I booked this hotel for my husband and I for our Honeymoon before coming to Trip Advisor to take a look at the reviews (not something I normally do!) But when I got here I was a little worried that we were not going to be happy with it, because of all the bad reviews. But the thing is I dont know what everyone is complaining about!
We got there, and everything was fantastic! The front desk staff was very friendly one young man in particular (I didn't catch his name but he had long dark Dreadlocks, he was Very nice and Helpful!) We checked in at 4 when check in is and had no problems. The Room was clean and seemed very nice to us! The view was absolutly amazing, and when the Tide was high the waves were a few dozen feet from the hotel! We loved the balcony and spent a lot of time out there, we were in a room on the 5th floor and it was very nice! The view is also great from inside the room, there is a sliding glass door that is huge, and if you open the blinds you have a great view from inside, we opened the door at night and closed the blinds so we could fall asleep to the sounds of the Ocean! Beach access is very easy with a ramp right down to the beach! The hotel allows pets and that was very important to us, because just before we went we got a little Shih Tzu puppy and they let him stay the room which was fantastic. (it was $20 per night, not refundable and we stayed 7 nights so I thought it was a little high but defiinitly worth it to us for our little Buster!)

The only thing that I found a bit strange was that you had to go exchange your room key for the pool key if you wanted to swim, But that wasn't a huge deal for us. And one more thing I would like to add, Im not certain of the price of Surftides in peak season, we always travel to the Coast in October so it was a reduced rate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 5th floor, the views are amazing and you don't have any foot noise abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda-macdonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here alot of years ago and thought wouldn't it be nice to return for some nostalgia?
Well, it wasn't exactly what I had remembered. The room was clean but very tired looking, and yes the wallpaper had been "stapled" down in order to preserve some sort of continuance of the pattern, lol...The balcony needs pressure washing big time and so did the exterior of the building. The pillows are very thin and need replacing. The pool and gym weren't open until 9 am and well I am a bit of an early riser so I wouldn't have minded going for a early morning swim or workout but the guy wasn't even there until 9 am by then Im ready to have breakfast and leave! The restaurant is very close and the breakfast was good . Service was good as well.
All in all a remodel wouldn't do this motel any harm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrschef14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just got back from there for our anniversey this weekend. My husband made the reservations by calling the hotel. He wanted to make it a nice surprise by having an early check in and requested a bottle of champange be put in the room. We were told that we could check in by noon...so we got there at 1:30 and tried to get our room. We were told it's still being cleaned so it would be another 45 min. No big deal to us so we left and went shopping. We came back at 3:30 and were told again it's not ready, check back in 45 min. I told the employee that we were already told that 3 hours ago. He seemed not very concerened...so we left again. We got back to the hotel at 5pm (remember check in is 4pm) we tried to check in for the 3rd time and were told it's still being cleaned and should be ready in 10 minutes!!! So at 5:15 we finally got into our room and still found no champange!! Luckly we were not charged for the bottle but it is still frustrating!! We have always gone and stayed there but after this weekend and the other reviews I have read lately we will NEVER go back! Sorry to say they lost a loyal customer!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in one of the pre-renovated rooms, 220, after we were first incorrectly placed in one of the non-fireplace rooms.


Positives:
-- Linens were this great really thick cotton, soft and off the *chain* comfortable; good variation in pile of pillows including some down ones that you could actually sleep on, excellent bed, and down duvet was so hot I cooked with the door open in November! Made for a SPECTACULAR nights' sleep.

-- Balcony view is *gorgeous*, lit up surf at night, and gas fireplace (on timer) puts out nice amount of heat. We relaxed in the room a lot and it was terrific.

-- Mist Restaurant staff are terrific and friendly, food was quite good.

-- Maids I met were friendly, did a good job of making up the room each night.

-- Mild foot traffic noise from room upstairs, but not enough to get through standard earplugs (always wear em in a hotel) all mostly well muffled.

-- Front desk clerk was slightly overwhelmed but made sure to make our room right when it turned out he had placed us in the wrong one.



Negatives:

-- First room we were put in, 211 I think, had plastic (faux wood) floors and no carpet! Good for kids tracking sand around, I imagine, but for adults? its cold, loud, and weird. Would have been VERY p*ssed if I'd had to stay there. Be sure to ask if your room has carpet!

-- Double check that your room matches what you reserved. There is confusion here: I strongly reccommend following up a web reservation with a phone call to their central booking to be sure, before you arrive.

-- We were on 2nd, floor, in middle of this big concrete building.. so that the free Wifi was good enough for a laptop with no problems but too weak for smartphones.

-- Non-renovated rooms are very.. 80's. Carpet is stained of course but was clean; decor is very oak-trim everything. TV in an entertainment hutch kind of thing, corian bath counters. Pleasant in a goofy kind of way.

-- Phone was dead in one room, they were working on fixing it when we moved.

-- Bath fan in our room was a deafening clatter and did not really do much.

-- Towels plentiful, clean and thick but not especially soft.. were fine. Minifridge worked great in the sense that it froze all our food, but prefer that to it not cooling enough. Water pressure was OK, not great not awful. Checkout time Sunday the hot water did get a little scant.


Overall:
Obviously, I forgive a lot for a really great bed and night's sleep in a clean quiet room with an oceanfront balcony.

Be aware that piecemeal renovations are underway here -- this is an old place and they are fixing the rooms a few at a time. A friend said that the king suites with fireplace + murphy beds on 5th floor are renovated and *beautiful*.

If you dont get what you want / expect, ask for a change! Its a great old place and they are working to bring it back -- you just cannot beat the price in LC for the beds, view, balconies and fireplace in the rooms.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a fireplace, for a couple dollars more it really, really drives out the damp. Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We got a room in the partial view building and our view was wonderful. We were in room 606. The bed was a king size. The bathroom was very clean and we had a balcony. We will definatley stay here again. It is also just a few minutes from Chinook Winds Casino. The only thing that went badly was we had no hot water for our morning showers:( I told the front desk and the response I got was oh again. No sorry or anything.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bphil59519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
4.1 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#6 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surftides Lincoln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surftides Lincoln City

Property: Surftides Lincoln City
Address: 2945 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4391
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surftides Lincoln City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront multi-acre boutique hotel offering priceless memories for families, weddings, romantic getaways or just being with friends. Design and all the amenities you should expect in your perfect vacation. Indoor pool, on-site restaurant, indoor Jacuzzi, Workout room, Bike rentals, Basket Ball Court, multiple fire pits and the list goes on. All the above on-site amenities also come with crashing waves, cry of seagulls, panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, warm sand squishing between your toes and of course priceless memories with your loved ones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Surftides Lincoln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surftides Lincoln City Hotel Lincoln City
Lincoln City Surftides Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing