We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bet (pun intended) for the rates”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
kellych65
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bet (pun intended) for the rates”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I see a lot of bad reviews on this site for this hotel, but when you look out your window at the view from these rooms who can complain about this place. I have never paid more than $100 a night for a room here, and I have never been bored. They have two of the best places to eat in Lincoln City are on the grounds Rouge River Steakhouse and Chinooks Seafood Grill. For the kids there is a arcade, daycare, a pool and miles of beach. The staff is friendly and helpful, sure some folks at times are having a off day but don't we all? Give this place a shot, and when the room feels a little run down to you look out the window at the gorgous view and then check you wallet for all the money you saved, that is unless you allready spent that at the casino!

Room Tip: Open the curtains and look outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellych65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    139
    118
    78
    81
See reviews for
94
270
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed here a few times. We love staying here with kids since it is close to the beach. My husband and I will never stay in the "older" area, where the rooms need updating. We only stay in the nicer building located on the left side, newer building with suites. The suites are nice and comfortable, the older area is loud, crazy, and apparently, attracted to teenagers who party all night long and I ended up calling the front desk 3 times. It was insane and the noise continued till 5am! It was the worst experience at a hotel so I will only stay in the suites from now on!

Room Tip: Only stay in newer suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisababy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed at Chinook Winds a few months back as a girls weekend trip. This hotel is very close to the casino and they even offer a shuttle to take people back and forth. This is an excellent convience when the weather is cold or you have maybe had 1 too many. The casino is a decent size and the options of food are fairly limited but the town around you will offer other alternatives

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
476 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a great place to just kick back and watch the ocean for a couple of days. The casino has a nice buffet and the restaurant has a great nightly special, especially the "double down" steak. The rooms aren't lavish, but they are nice and the view of the ocean is awesome. Coffee in the lobby, but they go the extra mile and provide popcorn and fruit at all hours as well. The shuttle makes travel between the casino and the hotel a cinch. There is also a nice stretch of beach for walks at low tide. Downtown Lincoln City is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We love coming to Lincoln City, OR a few times a year from Texas and we love this Casino, its the only one we know of that sits on the Ocean, just outstanding.We love playing poker and then having something to eat and going back and playing our favorite slot machines while having a nice beverage and watching the games on their Big Screen TV's that are all around the gaming floors, we really want to come back for a good show or something, but we will see whats going on in the summer time as that's when we will be back. Thanks Chinook Winds!!

Room Tip: Get a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a large hotel which is very inexpensive for families. It is in two sections The other section is a bit more expensive and smaller but features ocean front suites with two rooms and fireplace and a balcony. The staff are all helpful and go out of their way to please guests.It is also one of the last hotels to have smoking rooms available.There is a resturant on site, just a few feet from the hotel. They also feature a bus to the casino if you'df rather not walk We especially like the room service which carries no added charge..The beach is clean and inviting for walks at sunset. Rooms feature the usual reefer, hair dryer , coffee pot and sink in the living area. Beds are clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms have sofas or two chairs with ottoman and lage 42" TV...

Room Tip: We like to stay on the upper floors for the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had a very good experience while at this hotel for our anniversary. We booked a dog friendly ocean front room. I enjoy the lower rooms for access to the beach with our large Black Lab Jake, they have good accesss to pee your dog, the facility has a good hot tub and pool with cleansing showers in each bathroom(if you can get people to use them...Sheesh). Ther rooms are somewhat basic oceanfront but the bed was comfy, had a fridge, coffee maker and micro. I thought the staff was helpful, they let me check in early so I could ready for an appointment which was nice.Their wireless is a little weak on the lower floors and they should better that someday. All in all it was a great 3 day stay and my wife and I were very pleased not to say our dog LOVED IT. Oh and the RAVENS WON...This coming from a die hard Buffalo Bills fan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#18 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinook Winds Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Winds Casino Resort

Property: Chinook Winds Casino Resort
Address: 1501 NW 40th Pl, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4811 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinook Winds Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chinook Winds Casino Resort Hotel is an outstanding option for beachfront accommodations in Lincoln City. Our warm and friendly staff is ready to welcome you to our resort with multiple restaurants, arcade, child care facility, casino, 18-hole golf course, fitness center and complimentary on-site shuttle service. Hunt for glass floats on the beach, curl up with a cup of coffee and watch the waves, hit a bucket of balls in our indoor driving range, take in a show or enjoy the 24-hour gaming action. It is all available to you at Chinook Winds Casino Resort, where it is better at the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chinook Winds Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing