We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask about bathroom before you book!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We paid lots extra to get the fireplace room with king bed and ocean view with balcony (or deck). The room was very nice and spacious after you get in it but getting in with the luggage is very tight. As much as we liked the room the bathroom was IMPOSSIBLE. My husband and I are both on the small size (definately smaller than average Americans) and neither of us could move in the shower and the john will accomodate only your body but not your elbows - know what I mean? Because we wanted the king bed and fireplace we paid the price for a two bedroom suite. You should be aware that there are not enough chairs to accomodate 4 people if that is what you are expecting. There is a bistro table for 2 and one over stuffed chair. Also be carefull when you book if you have heavy luggage. There are no elevators. The Coho allows dogs, we were on the ground level with walk out to the grass but we were very reluctant to walk around as there were tons of dogs on the premises. We concentrated on the beautiful view, the fireplace and nice TV but overall I couldn't recommend it. The view is a 5, the bathroom is a 0, cleanliness 5, bed comfort 3, parking with a normal car 2, accessability 2. The staff was effecient but we thought slightly crisp with a sassy attitude and never asked how our stay was at checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnptogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

We would like to thank you for your review of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge. We regret that your stay was not everything you had hoped for. However, to address a few of your concerns, the designated pet area is not the grassy area you spoke of, but rather a grassy hillside to the North of the building, not favored for a casual stroll. We are certain to give pet owners everything they need to make The Coho a great place to stay for everyone. They are told about the pet friendly areas, they are also given a “pet bag” with treats, toys, and plastic bags. Of the 65 rooms, only 16 are pet friendly. We also have a 25# pet limit, and a 2-pet maximum per room. If we are able to make the reservation, our guest services representatives try to match the guests priorities, such as a larger bathroom, with the rooms we have available. In the case of the reservation which is booked online, such as yours was, we try to accommodate changes to the reservation if the guest is unhappy with the room when they arrive. The room you occupied is 500 square feet, with a bathroom of 50 square feet. Only one third of our total rooms have the shower only. The remaining two thirds of our rooms have a larger bathroom with a tub/shower. Your room was in the original building which was just renovated. To offset the size of the original smaller bath in some of the rooms, high-end fixtures, and finishes, such as the lovely Italian tile were used. Additional furniture, such as the chairs you mentioned, are always available to our guests if there are more than two guests occupying the room. We welcome your input as we will always want to improve on our customer service. We strive to provide efficient and courteous service for the entire stay, from check in, to check out. Thank you again for your review, we will use your suggestions to improve The Coho experience for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,715 - 1,721 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

We wanted to have a room with a balcony, so they put us on the first floor patio, where all the people with dogs stay. The advertised $99 on weekends, in a local flyer, but the only balcony rooms were $150 plus.. We ended up having to pay $181, for the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. The toilet was so close to the wall and shower you had to back up to it! The shower was soo small you couldn't shave your legs or bend over. AWFUL!!! WE should have checked out after the 10 minutes they allow you to decide, but we were tired and just wanted to relax. As soon as we went out to the veranda a worker was spraying down our chairs and window and the grass in front of our room, absolutely rude and no privacy with people parading back and forth. The following morning it was like being in a dog kennel. Never again!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkellydunn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We went to the Coho it was on our wedding night and it was wonderful! We bought the romance package which include rose pedals scattered about the room. The only complaint is that the champagne was cheap and didnt taste very good. Bring your own. Very clean and we will go back

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandigrl0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2010

The staff is delighted that you chose to start your married life with a Honeymoon at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed the Romance Package, and we appreciate your input concerning our choice of sparkling wine for that package. Within the next two weeks, we will begin offering Domaine Ste Michelle sparkling wine. Made by Chateau Ste Michelle, a well known and respected Pacific NW winery, we believe that this choice will allow us to offer guests a better package. Our congratulations and very best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We have stayed at the Coho Inn many times over the past 30 years. The recent facility upgrade was long over due and is first class. Not sure about the French presse coffee, but that is a personal view.
Front desk staff are helpful and very friendly. Thank you to Jeremy for his welcoming phone call. Our only disappointment is out of control of the staff or Managment. What happened to the sand ?
The strip of beach in front of the hotel has gone. Such a shame. Erosion ? or what ?
I remember my children playing on the beach below in a very safe location. Now it is gone. Mother nature is at work.
Forget any negative reviews, this is the finest place to stay in Lincoln City.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominicBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2010

Thank you for your review and subsequent recommendation of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge. It is always a pleasure to have many of our favorite guests return each year. We are very pleased with the new renovation, and we are happy to hear that you like it ,too. The French press, though popular with some guests, is not for everyone. We will be glad to provide a standard coffee maker to any of our guests who would like to make their coffee in a more traditional manner. On the subject of beach evolution, we understand that sometimes the loss of the sandy beach is a temporary redistribution, and sometimes, it is more long term. We will hope to see more sand on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed in one of the new Sunset Suite rooms (#70) and were generally pleased. The biggest issue we had is the huge spotlight mounted over the balcony which is meant to light the fire pit area below, but also is like a searchlight on your balcony all evening. We mentioned it during checkout and they assured us they are working on moving them, but I would request a different room location next time if it hasn't been taken care of. Enjoyed the jetted tub (one person) and tub caddy provided for reading. Thank you Coho!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Management at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2010

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our new Sunset Suites, and that you have offered suggestions as well as your recommendation. With the input of helpful guests, we realized that our lights above the second floor balcony were providing too much light, and have subsequently removed them. Thank you for choosing The Coho for your coastal getaway, please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Coho, the staff was very nice James at the front desk was very helpfull and friendly. The room was clean and not too cold when we got there. The room was very nice looking and comfrotable as well. We liked that the towles were soft and not scratchy. A few tips, have a better place to put the coffee grounds when emptying the frebch press, if the hotel wants to go green and conserve enegry they should put weather stripping on the doors, we could see about an inch of light at the bottom of ours and it let in a lot of cold air. The TV and dvd player were nice!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessrwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Management at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Thank you for your review of The Coho, and your subsequent recommendation. We truly appreciate both. As always, we value input from our guests as it enables us to improve on the level of service that we can offer. Thank you for choosing The Coho for your coastal getaway, we hope that you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The views were stunning! Newly renovated does not mean "new" but they are trying. still some issues to note. room 217 where we were the first night was extremely hot, little did we know that the tower fan in the room was there for a reason. slept poorly due to the 72-74 F. Also the new King bed which had been new last July wasn't overly comfortable. spoke to Linda (mgr) in the morning and were moved to a much newer comfortable room. Thank you Linda. However the next morning we went for a walk on the beach before checking out and returned to find the clean towels had been removed from our room??? requested fresh towels so we could shower and continue on our journey. No special rates as this was "spring break" however with more than 50% of the rooms being empty you would think *deals* would be available. However overall a great place to stay. Continental breakfast was very good spa was closed for maintenance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YD73, Management at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

The Coho does indeed offer spectacular views, and we strive to provide the best possible customer service as well. We would like to thank you for your input, as it suggests additional amenities that we could offer to our guests. The new Sealy Plush mattresses are very popular with most of our guests, but for guests who prefer a softer mattress, we will soon be offering a pillow top mattress pad upon request. Thank you for your recommendation, and please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
872 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,181 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
753 reviews
3.4 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32" LCD HDTV's, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast/gluten free items with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing