We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

2 Queen fireplace room (suite) includes 1 bedroom w/own tv, kitchenette, 1 queen in liv room, gas fireplace, ocean view, patio, one closet, stall shower, separated bathroom sink, soaps, in room coffee, buyable snacks, huge color tv (LG), Parking lot is a wee too small. Lawn to cliff in front of patio, screen door for summer air. Firm good beds, adequate bedding, many pillows, low slung chair, desk and high chair, table, heating, 1 regular and 1 recycle trash cans, slide screen small closet w hangers. Fridge has Pepsi size can holders, sink, microwave, some dishes and utensils, two desk lamps and desks, one drawer in liv room, 1 in bedroom, reading materials, dvd player (free rentals). Fireplace is ez operate. Lobby very nice, desk people very nice, small continental brkfst (mini bagel, dry croissant, butter, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled egg, and belgian waffle maker, 2 juices. Very nice room, almost perfect except: toilet is crammed into a cubby, you can barely move. Shower stall, jammed next to toilet, no room to bend over, so very tight, space between shower and wall is tight. Bathroom is bad news for anyone of any size, or disabled, or whatever, very small, painfully small. The rooms are large and comfy, so they could have spared more space in the loo and less romp room, but made the decision to cut the bathroom short. I'd not do that. Sometimes you need to change clothes in there and if you try, you bump your elbows on the walls. Everything else is so nice, its really a shame. CLEAN. Ramp for wheelchairs on 1st floor. No elevators. Pool and spa (not used) indoors. We had real door to bathroom. Art work is beach theme. Room was tans and brown. To improve, to fix size of bathroom, and put a hanging lamp over the table- not for reading, and dining after dark. Why don't hotels have reading lights? We bring our own bulbs now, we read, and don't watch tv, so its squint time. Maybe that should be an "option" when you check in? Good job Coho on the remodel- well, mostly.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean. All double queen rooms are suites. Upstairs has fenced in patios, there are di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Cindy,

Thank you for writing such a thorough review of your recent stay at The Coho! I am glad that you enjoyed the remodel and we are constantly striving for the "perfect" score. We are actually starting renovations in our Fireplace Suite bathrooms on 3/3/14! We have worked on a way to better improve the limited space in the bathrooms. We have added extra lighting, added a glass wall to the shower, removed the need for a shower curtain, and much much more! I hope that you will come back and see the added improvements! Thank you for the suggestion on lighting options, I will look into ways to improve this for our guests.

Once again, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our room was a partial view & was very comfortable. We reserved the room with a very reasonable rate and thought it was a great value. The staff was very friendly & helpful in all areas of service. The cleanliness of the entire property was excellent. Would recommend this property and maybe upgrade to a balcony room for a special occasion. One draw back would be no beach access.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying the price.....room with a balcony would be rice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaBaWaWa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Coho! I agree that our partial view rooms are a great value! The rooms were built brand new during a multi million dollar development in 2009, which makes them some of the newest rooms in Lincoln City! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff has provided you with excellent customer service and a clean room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The pictures, and descriptions on the website doesn't exactly reflect what we experienced. The front desk staff where nice, but when we saw our room we where surprised to see a sliding closet door instead of a real door to the bathroom. It didn't have a lock, and there was a 2 inch gap on each side of the door, so there wasn't any privacy. The rooms have old baseboard heat that we cranked up to 90 degrees, but it only warmed the room up to 67 degrees.
Parking space is limited, we had to park on a side street. There are no elevators, so it can be difficult for some people to walk up three floors with luggage. The only ice machine is located on the bottom floor. The ocean view was nice, but for the money we will keep looking for an ocean hotel that is more of a resort facility. It just wasn't worth the $200 a night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Lisa,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit with The Coho. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable time while visiting us. I sincerely apologize that we were anything less than exceptional. Thank you for bringing some of these issues to my attention. I will be sure to send maintenance to the room to look at the heating system. I will also be looking into other solutions to fix the privacy issue you mentioned with the bathroom door. I apologize that you had troubles finding parking. We have built an additional parking lot across the street for busy nights.

We have a variety of rooms to choose from, should you give us another chance to impress you. I would suggest our Sunset Suites, which are located in our newest part of the building by the elevator. The Sunset Suite has a fireplace, jetted tub, glass shower stall, and balcony with a full ocean view. There is also covered parking in that section of the hotel as well as another ice machine. Once again, I truly apologize and hope to welcome you back to The Coho in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I only didn't give 5 stars because its not a new beautifully appointed room. But it is very nice for a motel, the best part being the view, the extremely friendly staff and the 3 fire-pits overlooking the ocean bluff. They are not wood burning so you don't end up smoky and they are really warm. We lucked out with dry although freezing weather and we were able to be outside for hours in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabreeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Sabree,

We appreciate you writing about your stay with us! I apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the hotel and the services we offer. Last year, we remodeled kitchens and changed out a few mattresses. This year, we will be remodeling some of our bathrooms. Next time you visit, I recommend trying one of our Sunset Suites in the adults only section. That wing of the hotel was built brand new in 2009 and are some of the newest rooms available in Lincoln City!

I am glad that you and your friends were able to enjoy the fire pits and create some lasting memories! Thank you again for sharing your experience with the world. We hope to welcome you back to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

While recovering from knee replacement surgery, we decided to go to the coast for a change of scenery and winter storm watching. The view from our 2nd floor room was amazing! We opted for the sofa sleeper studio room to better stretch out my leg and watch the surf roll in. Although the room is designated for 2 people, there was only one chair!

The king bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Unfortunately, with only a sheet and a heavy quilted bedspread but no light blanket between, options for moderating overnight temperature was difficult without opening a window. Rain blew in, soaking the sill and running down the wall.

The property has no beach access.

There was no coffee in the room the first morning and housekeeping didn’t show up until after 4 PM. The rest of the week was fine

Overall, our stay was comfortable and a good value, especially off-season mid-week.

The property bills itself as “Pet Friendly” with ground floor pet dedicated patio rooms. We did not bring a dog this trip. Unfortunately, they have an arbitrary 25 pound weight limit which means that unless you travel with a cat or chihuahua, the average well behaved, beach-loving companion is not welcome here. This fact alone will impact our future decision whether or not to return. There is something cruel and unusual about leaving your dog home from a beach trip!

Did I mention the view? Breath-taking on a stormy afternoon, especially when followed by a dramatic sunset!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. Some have patios or balconies, but not all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB3913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you so much for writing such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. We grind our coffee fresh in the lobby for the French press coffee makers in the rooms. I apologize that the front desk agent forgot to offer that to you at checkin. We do not put it in the rooms since we want to have it fresh for our guests. Thank you for your input on the bedding. We are now looking at another option to replace our duvet covers to help guests moderate the temperature.

As you mentioned we are pet friendly, but we do only accept dogs 25lbs and under. If your dog is over the weight limit, there is another option in town if you still wanted to bring your dog! There is a wonderful place called The Salty Dog Hound Lounge which offers doggy daycare and boarding at a very reasonable price. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Coho in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We've been going to the Coho for nearly ten years now and have consistently had an awesome time. Rooms are clean, well appointed, and stylish. The staff is wonderful and go way beyond the norm in ensuring we have a great time. As long as they keep up the good work, we will keep coming.

Room Tip: They allow dogs, so if you dont like dogs let them know and they will put you in a different locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Rob,

We appreciate you taking time to write about The Coho! Thank you for continuing to make us your hotel of choice when visiting Lincoln City! We do pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and a comfortable, clean room. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coho in the years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our rooms are always clean, and comfortable. We stayed with the 2+1 special offer and the stormy weather made it feel like a real coastal experience. We asked to upgrade to their superior suite and it was like living in a condo ! Mariah and her staff go all out to make your experience fabulous. The fire pits at dusk, overlooking the ocean is terrific. Great coffee too !

Room Tip: Coho web site has rich details about room options and specials. Keep in mind that only one half of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonCruzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write about The Coho! We do take great pride in providing excellent customer service. We want all of our guests to feel welcome and appreciated when staying with us! Thank you so much for the compliment to myself and my team, it is always wonderful to hear positive feedback.

I'm glad you were able to experience one of our storms! Although they can be dangerous to be out in, our views provide a great show of the waves crashing. We are planning an exciting "cupping" or coffee tasting soon! At the end of February, we will be having Portland Roasting Coffee come out and do a tasting of our Guatemalan blend brewed in different ways. We would love to have you back to The Coho to take part in this event! Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
880 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#16 of 35 in Lincoln City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Address: 1635 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $96 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32" LCD HDTV's, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast/gluten free items with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing