We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Coho has become our favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Coho has become our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spend a wonderful weekend here celebrating our 45th Anniversary. The Lee family and their staff made us feel welcome on our previous visit and this time was no exception. Not only are the Sunset Suite rooms warmly and nicely appointed with sweeping views of the beach and ocean, the Coho offers a short drive to Newport and all the other wonderful places along the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must! The Sunset Suites are the best in our view with the Fireplace Suites coming i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again! We have to agree that the Sunset Suites are absolutely stunning; a great escape for couples! I'm thrilled you were able to treat yourselves to the romance package! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    422
    113
    23
    10
See reviews for
341
782
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is an OK hotel, just not for $180/night for a small fireplace suite. We stayed there one night and we were both disappointed with the size and appearance of the room. It looks nothing like the pictures they show on their web page. The carpets looked old and the room just looked like nothing had changed since the 80's. The bathroom was particularly disappointing. It was no bigger than the bathroom in a low cost cruise ship cabin. The shower was about the same size as a phone booth and the toilet was crammed into a very small space. Also, there is no air conditioning only heat. We went down to select a DVD from the front office only to find a sign that said, "Be back in a minute. Delivering amenities to guests. ONE HOUR later the clerk finally returned! I don't know what he was delivering but it must have been quite a load. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The best thing about this place was a very friendly helpful staff (other than the male clerk we had.) We will look for a better deal someplace else next time we come to the coast.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellarRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
It breaks my heart to hear that you had such a unsatisfactory experience at our hotel. Many times the rooms that we help pair a guest with makes the biggest difference in how our property is perceived. It is quite apparent to me that we could have done a much better job helping you select a room that you would enjoy and I would like to personally apologize that we fell short. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to make up to you, in the areas where our facilities and staff fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaan, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful hotel/motel. If you can spare the extra 20 dollars makes sure to go for a room with an ocean view. The view from our 3rd floor room was amazing! Everything was top-notch – bed, bathroom, general interior, … really nice!
The woman at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and made several calls to find out about eateries in town! We went for Kyllo’s at the Beach which was a great choice. We could walk from the hotel along the beach to the restaurant and back! Wonderful!
To be fair, I have to say that breakfast was average but it’s more than what most other motels/hotels offer.
So, thumbs up – I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else in Lincoln City…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatschii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
A lot of our staff are very familiar with the restaurants here in town and have wonderful suggestions. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I went for a get-away down the Oregon coastline. I reviewed many places on line and found the Coho Lodge to be the most inviting, warm and friendly.. even their web-site. We booked a two night stay, two 90-minute massages (which were off the charts), romantic package all wrapped up in the Sunset Suite, overlooking the ocean and miles of beaches. The coffee press coffee, luxury robes, comfy bed, beautiful room with fireplace all made for an awesome get-away. Staff were all extremely pleasant and welcoming. Definitely would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: They do have breakfast in the AM, but don't go expecting a feast. It's adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This was my third stay at The Coho in the past three years. I was not disappointed. The service the room, and location was excellent! The only items of mention would be to serve better juices with the continental breakfast, the taste was like drinking rotted fermented fruit. Also, missed having a second waffle maker in the breakfast room; the line had a long wait. Other than minor inconveniences I'd stay her again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caaske68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are always welcoming ideas and suggestions and want to thank you. We used to have two waffles makers, but one of them bit the dust! We are working on replacing that shortly. Thank you for continually visiting us and we look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is our second visit at the Coho. The first in 2006 was terrific and our latest visit even better. The accommodations are "top drawer" exceptional. The staff are warm, extremely helpful and professional. They were right on the money with eating suggestions. The ocean views are wonderful. We stayed in the Sunset Suite with a fireplace and jetted tub -- super. Their special touch with ground gourmet coffee using a French press was especially nice. I travel in business and never have seen coffee like this. We hope to be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Any room is very good. Oceanfront is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
So happy you were able to come back and enjoy the new section! The Sunset Suites are a nice treat for couples. When you come back, let us show you the renovations we have done in the older section, I think you will be amazed! We do have to agree with you on the coffee…the Sister’s Coffee Co. make some fabulous coffee. The French press just makes it perfect! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in a 'fireplace' suite during off season. Huge view overlooking beach and ocean. Amazing. Really enjoyed the gas fire pits even during a cold and blowing evening. Just enough to fight the evening chill. Retro (60's) rooms, convenience fridge/hotplate/sink combo unit (with freezer section), microwave, pots and pans, cutlery, french coffee press, gas fireplace, flatscreen TV. Toilet/shower a bit cramped. Very pleasant staff. Continental breakfast, large DVD selection to borrow from, DVD players in rooms. A great place to stay in Lincoln City!

Room Tip: Main floor - other guests may walk past and see in room. Second floor - only 1/2 flight of stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obfuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CohoManager, Manager at The Coho Oceanfront Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
LOVE the pictures, thank you for sharing! When you come again, we will be more than happy to accommodate you with an upper floor. Just let our staff know and we can make sure you’re on an upper floor if it is available. We will be changing our kitchenettes here shortly and would love for you to come back and check them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln City
3.4 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#17 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#6 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coho Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coho Oceanfront Lodge

Property: The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 1635 NW Harbor Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coho Oceanfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge in Lincoln City, OR, recently unveiled completion of a multimillion-dollar guestrooms renovation (2009). The Coho offers the warm comforts of a home away from home, and the understated luxuries of a distinguished boutique hotel along the beautiful Oregon Coast. Renovated and repositioned as a fresh, modern retro boutique hotel that captures the beach palette, The Coho bringing alive the coastal flavors. The Coho offers eight different room categories, including studios, family suites, and fireplace suites all with breath taking panoramic ocean front views. All rooms at The Coho include 32" LCD HDTV's, HD DVD players, iHome iPod docking station, Sealy Posturpedic Plush Supreme Beds, 300-thread count linens, Eco-friendly bath amenities by Archive, and free WIFI Internet access. The Coho also features a heated indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, a fitness center, in-room massages, and free continental breakfast/gluten free items with waffle bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Coho Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coho Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Coho Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing