We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It really is a great place for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Dog Cafe - CLOSED

Beach Dog Cafe
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: The Beach Dog Cafe is a Family Owned and Operated Breakfast and Lunch Cafe ~ The Beach Dog Cafe is not able to Accommodate Large Groups. Also No Reservations Accepted. And No Take Out Menu ~ The Beach Dog Cafe Welcomes Families ~ We do "Ask Kindly" when Dining with little ones that you are Respectful of others while Dining. Sometimes wait times of meals can be longer than normal and may be too much for a little one to wait that amount of time. Please plan accordingly. We take Pride and are Proud of the food we Serve. The Beach Dog Cafe is not the place for a person on a tight schedule or In a Hurry. No Credit Cards OR Debit Cards Accepted No ATM
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It really is a great place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I came to this restaurant in that it was ranked #1 on Trip Advisor. I'll give it that rating for breakfast, but, in comparison to other restaurants available for lunch and dinner, there are other choices that offer more of the Lincoln City beach atmosphere. The pictures of beach dogs all over the restaurant are cute. The service is slow as each breakfast is cooked individually. It was surprising in that there was a waiting line, yet our food was long in coming. My wife's biscuits and gravy was superb and recommended. However, beware that even the 1/2 order is huge, so, if this fits your fancy you have to have a huge appetite or split the order with someone. I had the french toast special and it was also excellent. This is a cash only restaurant, and credit or debit cards are not accepted so be sure to have adequate cash for a bill of around $11.00 per person.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    88
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Big Dawg Breakfast!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We did have a wait but soooooo worth it. We went back 2nd day and was not disappointed. It's like they say, "it's all good'. SERVICE was amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PELICANJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netarts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Same old story...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is great. I always order the same old thing. Stuffed french toast. Why? Because it is awesome! A little messy sometimes but always fresh bananas and berries. My husband gets the gourmet hotdogs. He loves the louisiana dog! Coffee is good too. My only complaint is they need more servers or more kitchen help. We had to wait 35 min. for our food. Thats bad if your starving and know that all that goodness will be in your tummy soon. They are in a bigger place so that means more people. That is why I only gave 4 rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You HAVE to see this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

They make great breakfasts and an amazing array of hot dogs and sausages at Beach Dog Cafe. I'm not a hotdog or sausage kinda gal, but even I loved their chili dog :-). And the decor?!? My favorite thing about the entire establishment! Dog pictures/photos/memoriabilia EVERYWHERE. On the walls are hundreds of photos of customers' dogs. The counters are filled with figurines, more photos, and any other dog-related item you're likely to think of. I'd come here just to lounge around, if I could. But since I can't just "Sit. Stay.", next time we visit, I'm trying one of their breakfast menu items, because a lady can't live on hot dogs and chili, alone :-). Just keep in mind that they only serve breakfast and lunch, so they close early. Oh, and if you have a dog photo--frame it up, and they'll put it on their wall. Fido's 15 minutes of fame will last as long as this fun restaurant does :-).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dropped in on a local recommendation. Everything is hand made, and coffee is locally roasted. Staff is super friendly and welcoming. The place is small with 7 or 8 tables, so expect a wait. Again, hand made food, and not much seating, but totally worth the wait. If you want fast, and not-so-good food, go elsewhere. Want delicious home-made food.....GO HERE!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank supremechannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Dog Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing