We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whistling Winds Motel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Pixie kitchen. Very spacious and clean. Great location, very nice looking. Good value for the money. Staff was very helpful and friendly.Would definitely recommend.We would stay here again. Close to beach, casino and shops and reataurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am in love with this place! We had six people stay in ‘The Gathering’ room. When we first walked in it was like stepping in our own private cottage. There were so many beautiful details. It’s not very often when you go on vacation and think, “I should do this to my own home”. The room was covered in cedar and it smelled wonderful. The main room was large and comfortable. We had a full size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a very nice bar area. There was one room with a queen bed and another room with two beds with plenty of space. Perfect for three adult couples or a large family. The beach is super close and we had a blast and came back to a warm cozy room.

Room Tip: Bring some DVDs, this room has a very nice flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very nice place with very cute and tidy rooms. Our room was a bit small and did not have any furniture with drawers to put things away. But the place is extremely clean and very charming. You have to walk about half a block to get to the beach access.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I got one of the smaller rooms. Each unit has something a little different from the next, so if you stay here multiple times, you'll get unique experiences. Some do have indoor spas. Ours didn't but we didn't mind. I have had one of the larger rooms and it was excellent. The one was got this time was small but space well used, it had beautiful wood plank walls and stain glass windows that in the day and the night looked amazing. It was very quiet, day or night. The only slight downfalls was the TV was way up high and it was a 19" or so TV, so from the bed it was quite far away, and since it was a TV with a built in DVD, the DVD was a stretch to get to. Also, the shower, though really nice, was quite compact and being tall, required a bit of maneuvering to get under the shower head. It would take a real "nothing is ever right" complainer to hold anything against these accomidations. And one room is only a fraction of the whole place. Still, excellent all around room and motel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask about all the different amenities before deciding on a room. Each room is a little different. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at this motel last month while on a road trip along the Oregon coast. I was hesitant to book it at first because I wanted to make sure it was a nice, safe, clean place. After reading the reviews, I decided to give it a try. I am so glad I did!!

First of all, the price was great. Hotels in Lincoln City were so expensive. And, hard to find for a family of six. We booked the Gathering Place at a great price. The motel itself is so cute. When we were there, the owners were actually setting up for a family reunion so half the parking lot was blocked off and set up with tents, chairs, heaters, etc, including the entrance to our room. Even though everyone was friendly, it felt a bit strange walking through their party area to get to our room which was in the back, but other than that, we had a great stay.

The Gathering Place has one large bathroom, a kitchen area with full size fridge, and a microwave. There is a living room, and two bedrooms. One bedroom has two beds, the other just one bed. Perfect for our family of two adults and four kids.

The location was nice. Not far from the casino, and only about a block away from beach access. Easily walkable if the weather is nice. Unfortunately, when we were there it was windy, very cold and raining.
Check in was easy. There isn't a pool, but for one night, it didn't matter. Also, I do wish there was more than one t.v. in the Gathering Place. I realize that while you are in Lincoln City you should be out and about enjoying the area, but since the weather was so bad while we were there, we were cooped up in our room, and with only one t.v. for a large group, it wasn't the best. A second tv in one of the bedrooms would have been nice. Just a thought.

I'm not sure if I'll ever make it back to the Lincoln City area, but if I do, I have no doubt this is where I'll be staying. And, I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanneU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Strongly Reccomend Whistling Winds! Seriously, what's not to like?
It's private. It's quiet. Every room is somewhat different.
We've stayed here just the two of us and and with another couple in one of the bigger rooms.
The decor is nice and the rooms are always CLEAN & TIDY.
The smokers area outside is very accomodating for those that indulge. There are lots of chairs and and a big awning cover....and a heater....and a bbq. Jeeze, even the smoking area is NEAT & TIDY.
These folks are serious about keeping their place lookin GOOD!

The staff has always been very pleasant and nice, and we've always been made to feel very welcome.
Whistling winds is with in walking distance, (a nice jaunt) of the casino and really close to "MIST restaurant/lounge".

The prices are very reasonable....especially in off season.

Give Whistling Winds a try.....you'll be glad you did. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Rented the "Gamblers Cottage" for 2 nights during the week of the 4th of July. Very cute! Knotty pine wood everywhere! Fully equipped kitchen and separate living room. It's a small apartment with lots of charm. Two people could be comfortable here for any length of stay. We really appreciated all the shelves in both the bathroom and bedroom. And the hooks! Most of the time when you stay in a hotel there are no hooks for towels and clothing. There were hooks in every room in this cute place. It is right across the street from the beach. You can walk one block in either direction for beach access. It's also very quiet. Comfy beds too! We will be staying here on future trips to Lincoln City.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseNancy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.2 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#18 of 35 in Lincoln City
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Winds Motel

Address: 3264 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $78 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Winds is a restored 1930's Motor Coach Motel. This sixteen unit motel is nestled quietly in Lincoln City's residential neighborhood across street and 1/2 block to low beach access. Only 6 blocks to casino. On casino shuttle route. Prices Subject To Change Enjoy the sound of the ocean waves in our fireplace suite. Vaulted ceilings, warm rich wood and walls, hand built river rock fireplace and fully equipped kitchen adorn this beautifully restored cottage. Other units and cottages include: 3 Jacuzzi rooms, 5 full kitchen rooms, 3 family units, 3 studios, 2 vintage studios and 3 vintage cottages. We are now No Smoking. For our Friends who Smoke there are Covered Porches and a Covered Tent Area. No Pets Please. We now have WIFI available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whistling Winds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Winds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing