We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Over rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgecliff Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Edgecliff Motel
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Solid fail in my book. When we called we were told it was a good room, double queen, with partial views. After checking in and entering the room even my two year old daughter could tell it was a bad room. It was outdated, musty smelling, and had exposed plumbing in one corner; the balcony slider had a piece of wood as a lock, the view was of a telephone pole, and the heater put out a stench that led one to think it was a fire hazard. My wife and I felt duped and even with no refund, we checked out immediately.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rcw425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centraloregoncoast, Manager at The Edgecliff Motel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
According to our record of your check-in and conversations with the desk clerk, you were accompanied to your room for the initial inspection, and you accepted the unit unconditionally; however, after having spent 30 minutes in the unit and having used the bathroom, you informed the desk clerk that you would rather leave, whereby the clerk encouraged you to phone the manager on duty to present your case and receive a full refund. Our staff pride themselves is being very responsive to customer comments and we utilize such feedback for future improvements of our property and policies. Regrettably, you elected to leave without speaking with management, when such dialog may have resulted in a full refund. Instead of resolving this issue while on property, you chose to leave negative feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    29
    23
    51
See reviews for
57
118
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed over Valentine's/President's weekend with another couple. Service desk (Larisa, Jessica) were top notch. Very helpfull and accomidating to special requests. Great view-as good as any in Linciln City. Clean room, comfortable beds. Room rate (2 room suite with kitchen) was an exceptional value especially for Holiday weekend. Continental breakfast included fresh fruit and yogart.

Have stayed here before and will stay again. This is our place to stay in Lincoln City.

Mikke and Vicky
Ron and Barbara

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before you book it in any place you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Expedia booked via phone due to and error on their end. Showed up at hotel and front desk was not very professional or nice. He took us to our room (which was on the newer portion of motel). The room upon entering smelled stale, the decor was extremely outdated, the bed looked like a brick, the carpet was stained and had a yellowish line around some areas of the wall. I was unable to stay there as it looked like a dirty run down old motel. It did have a small flat screen tv and gas fireplace. We went straight to the office and requested to cancel as I didn't want to sleep there. I was given a hard time and was told it was the new part of the motel. I was able to cancel the reservation and paid the same price for a much nicer hotel down the way closer to town. Overall I would never stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlenet1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centraloregoncoast, Manager at The Edgecliff Motel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
This Expedia customer’s frustration had been firmly formed long before we entered the picture: A communication error between Expedia and ANOTHER motel had resulted in 20+ overbooked units, and thus Expedia called us, among other motels in town, searching for options to relocate the customers stranded during the busy weekend. Such a call by Expedia sought to secure a room for this unfortunate customer, at a time when we were approaching full occupancy. Thus, we described our very limited availability to the Expedia representative, and this customer opted to immediately book THROUGH Expedia, and he arrived shortly thereafter for check in.

These circumstances may explain why the guest was irritated upon arrival, and inconsolable despite every effort on our part to accommodate him. Finally, we offered a full refund upon his calling Expedia to cancel; this procedure appeared to particularly annoy the already distressed guest, as he did not understand that we cannot cancel a reservation he has made through Expedia. The guest left our property shortly after cancelling with Expedia, and receiving a full refund. We made every effort to help the stranded customer, and we regret that we did not succeed in this particular case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lincoln City hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lied, dishonest, single handedly ruined our vacation. This hotel lost our reservation on a sold out weekend in Lincoln City. They claimed that the matinence man must of taken our reservation and did not write it down. Yay! They then raised the price for the room and tried to put us in a room other than what was promised. The room they put us in was only availible for one night when our original reservation was for two nights. The acomidations were filthy, we found a bug in our bed. Gross. I am not an entomologist so I am not about to claim its origion but it left us uncomfortable ans itchy all night. The bathroom had mold throughout and the paint was lifting away from the wall. This hotel does have a decent view but it is a good hike to get to the water on broken stairs. Needles to.say we chose not to got to the beach from this hotel thus making our beach trip pointless. Chose to stay at this hotel if you would like to spend the weekend frustrated and uncomfortable. It will take an act of god for me and my family to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cswattravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centraloregoncoast, Manager at The Edgecliff Motel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
At check-in, this customer asserted having made a telephone reservation for a 2-room unit with a King-size bed plus a hide-a-bed in the living room. This description does NOT fit any unit on our property! The closest unit fitting that description was our kitchen unit, which the customer did not desire. We had no record of his reservation on file; thus we concluded that his reservation must have been with a motel other than ours. Indeed, it is not uncommon that customers making several comparison-shopping calls get confused about the details of various conversations and their true origin.

Recognizing the customer and children were in a bind during a sold-out Valentine’s Day weekend, the desk clerk offered and showed them the ONLY room available that night. Although we empathize with the customer's position on a sold-out night, we do not feel responsible for the mishaps. Having been compassionate, and having tried to be helpful, unfortunately, makes us now the lightning rod for the customer’s frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Edgecliff Motel during the MLK holiday in 2013. I found the rooms clean, updated and very comfortable. The gas fireplace was definitely a plus! Better views are found on the upper level, however, I found the lower just fine. If I wanted to get a better view of the beach I simply drove the five minutes it took to get there :) The staff was very friendly and answered all my questions.

This is not a high dollar motel, but I certainly felt as if I'd spent a bit more. Nice places can be had, but probably not at this price point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNWLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay recently at this property. The desk person "Gee" showed us to our room, opened the curtains which revealed a fabulous ocean view, and welcomed us to Lincoln City. We stayed on a weeknight which gave us the lowest rate but the view was worth a million dollars. The room was spotless and had been remodeled to include a gas fireplace, a flat screen tv and pillowtop queen bed. I would recommend this motel for anyone looking for tremendous value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you are looking for an affordable, yet quality place to enjoy the seaside in Lincoln City, keep on driving past the congested, touristy heart of town to the southern outskirts where a couple of quaint motels sit perched on the cliff overlooking a lovely and spacious beach.

The office staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and apt to give you special deals during the off-season.

My tidy little one-person, upper-level room couldn't have been cozier with a gas fireplace and a view of the ocean. The windows could open to let in the fresh sea breeze and the sound of waves pounding on the shore below. Just down the steps from the room was a common deck and picnic table where people could enjoy the ocean view and a picnic...or simply relax with a good book.

This motel has a brief downhill walk to the beachfront, so you never have to get in your car to enjoy the ocean.

My only criticism of the room is that it was not well insulated and I could feel air streaming in through the bottom of the door. (But the fireplace took care of that)

As a writer, The Edgecliff was the perfect weekend getaway. I will most definitely return to this best-kept secret that you miss if you stop too soon in the middle of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.4 mi away
Westshore Oceanfront Motel
Westshore Oceanfront Motel
#13 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palace Inn & Suites
Palace Inn & Suites
#30 of 36 in Lincoln City
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.4 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites Lincoln City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Lincoln City
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Inn
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgecliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgecliff Motel

Property: The Edgecliff Motel
Address: 3733 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1639
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgecliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgecliff Motel is located in the South end of Lincoln City on the Beautiful Central Oregon Coast. We are approximately one mile south of the 63 store Tanger Outlet Mall. Our refurbished 54 unit property sits on a bluff that overlooks the Majestic Pacific Ocean. WE LOVE DOGS and are also perfect for that romantic getaway or family reunion. We have an assortment of smoke-free rooms to choose from including in-room jacuzzis, whirlpool tubs, kitchen units and balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgecliff Hotel Lincoln City
Edgecliff Motel Lincoln City
Edgecliff Hotel Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing