We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay House provides the very best in service and food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay House

The Bay House
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $72
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Southwest Jetty
Description: Since 1978, The Bay House has endeavored to be the best restaurant possible, providing first-class service and creative, fresh, honest food and drink in a gorgeous coastal setting. Recently designated as one of only two AAA 4-Diamond Award restaurants in Oregon, the focus remains on world-class hospitality.
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bay House provides the very best in service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

It has been about 20 years since we have eaten at this wonderful restaurant on the central Oregon Coast. It has been recently completely renovated and it is a very nice place to visit for any dinner or special occasion. Our special visit was for my wife's birthday. After a tasty pre-dinner cocktail we ordered their filet steak menu item. We also ordered their beet salad and it as wonderful...very tasty and beautifully presented. During our cocktail period, they presented us with a special appetizer which was a very nice touch.
From the very beginning, the staff were very courteous and presented themselves like you expect in a 5 star restaurant. (To me, this IS a 5-star location) They were attentive to every detail, but we never felt intruded upon. They are masters at knowing when they can assist and when to acknowledge your privacy. We had a wonderful bay view table and watched the sun go down while we were there.
Don't expect to get out of there without a two hundred dollar bill if you have a cocktail and a bottle of their fine wine and order a full dinner. BUT, it is worth every penny to visit this lovely coastal restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbaird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    52
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

It is enjoyable to go to a restaurant that cares about your experience, exceptional service and exquisite food. This is one of our favorite places to go and get spoiled.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing ! Don't miss it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

What's not to like ? The food was absolutely delicious, the presentation of the dishes very pretty and they had an outstanding wine selection. The table decoration was very nice (fresh rose, candle) and the view on the water wonderful with a terrific sunset. And the staff could not have been friendlier. This restaurant made our night !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Audrey Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gourmet dining experience in Lincoln City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were recently in Lincoln City for my wife's birthday and wanted to have a special dinner. We read the reviews on Bay House, and frankly doubted that it could be as good as some of the reviews suggested - we were wrong. We phoned the day before to get a reservation and the host was charming. We actually arrived a bit early for our reservation, and were seated in the bar while our table was made ready. Very nice bar with a live guitarist and excellent drinks. Our table was ready (on time) and was oceanfront as requested. We opted for the fixed price menu for the evening so that we could try the many things on the menu. With it was a suggested wine flight, and when I inquired about it with our server, he assured me that he could surpass the published wine flight for the same price or less. We took him up on it, and were very pleasantly surprised. His suggestions included glasses of wine thru the appetizers with a bottle of French red for the entrée. The food was excellent - smoked duck ravioli, sliced duck, beef medallions to name a few.

The restaurant reminded me of the old Aqua restaurant in SFO - exciting mixes of flavors, excellent service, and a beautiful location.

Not inexpensive, but by far the best dining experience in Lincoln City. We look forward to our return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug and Robert... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to celebrate important occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

The only thing I dislike is the pricetag. Service, food and atmosphere are top notch. Like the title says, save some money and splurge on a nice anniversary dinner. Grab dinner and propose later on the beach. Have a happy birthday meal to remember. Great place for such a small community.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay House also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing