We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best I've been too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackfish Cafe

Blackfish Cafe
Ranked #3 of 105 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best I've been too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

On a recommendation from a bartender in Taft, we tried this place for lunch one day, and it did not disappoint. We had the clam chowder and seriously I can still taste it. It was done to perfection. People that rave about Mo's need to seriously try this to see what they are missing.

The oysters are to die for. I mean, I live in BC where we have oysters, but for some silly reason it's hard to find them this big or tasting. Simply amazing. The fish tacos are great too - fresh snapper.

I would certainly come here again, if I was in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freestylecruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    253
    104
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is one of the best restaurants.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Lincoln City. The price is a little spendy but well worth it! I will always choose to eat here over other places.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had dinner in July 2013 and ordered the small plate of seafood pizza and a seafood platter. They were both excellent. We also had a crab cocktail and a wonderful bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir that the waitress recommended which was excellent. A wonderful experience, great service and food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank connies26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average fare at a steep price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Seven adults descended on the Blackfish cafe in Lincoln City, Oregon last week. Our reservation was honored and our table awaited. The menu and wine selection was varied. A restaurant needs to make a profit, we all get that. But there is no need to make a killing. The wines, many from local area vineyards, were marked up over twice (and more) what a bottle would cost in a store. OK, none of us would have minded so much of the meals had been at the quality the prices reflected. They were not.

Of the seven meals ordered, two were the swordfish served over polenta. The presentation was very nice and the sides were good. The fish was totally overcooked. One had Cioppino and while it was a very generous serving, it was just a bit bit better than average quality. The duck -why a person would order duck on the Oregon coast is a mystery to me and he got what he deserved - an overcooked, bland duck. Another had the seafood pizza. Again, she got what she deserved, which was a fishy tasting pizza. If you want pizza, eat pizza. If you want seafood, eat seafood. Mixing the two, in my opinion, is a disaster. There was one plate not recalled, that makes six. My wife raved about her dish. And it was very good and a good value. Oddly enough it was not a seafood dish. It was potato gnocchi served with butternut squash. It was, nevertheless, truly, divine.

All in all, the whole experience was just average but given the price, I'd have to say it was disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had an excellent meal - mid-week lunch. Interior of the restaurant is clean and bright - a stark contrast to some of the "stuck in the 80's" décor you encounter in the area's other spots. Waitress was excellent and had no complaints about the food. Fresh, well-seasoned and perfectly cooked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BLV430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfish Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blackfish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing