We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadviser ratings confirmed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfish Cafe

Blackfish Cafe
2733 NW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4429
+1 541-996-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tripadviser ratings confirmed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We ate dinner there recently based on tripadvisor ratings. We were not disappointed, the food was all excellent. The only reason we did not give it five stars is that the service was slow in getting our dessert request and bill. Since we also had a 4 year old with us, we felt that they should have been much better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    223
    89
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stayton
Level Contributor
208 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We both started with the homemade clam chowder, it was excellent with fresh tender clams. My wife had fish tacos and loved them, including the black beans and homemade salsa.
I enjoyed fried local oysters. with the best slaw I've eaten (keep in mind I've never had bad slaw. We also enjoyed a bottle of King Estate Chardonnay that was reasonably priced.
The service was excellent without being pretentious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayflos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Swordfish Rarity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have not been to this restaurant for over a year. Kept hearing off and on reviews for a variety of friends. But, this visit with friends was exceptional.
Rarely seen on menus I found swordfish, a favorite. It was served perfectly, moist on a creamy bed of potenta and ringed with a fresh tomato cilantro sauce. Everyone raved about their entrees and our bottle of wine was so good, that one member of the party added the name to his to buy list. Desserts were very nice and certainly topped off the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Demarbieax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food--especially if you like Italian :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Unfortunately, though, I don't. But, luckily, I was able to find Rockfish on the menu, and it wasn't prepared in the Italian style--whatever that brings to mind. For me, it brings marinara sauce, pasta, and too much garlic to mind. So it was lucky for us that I didn't realize in advance that the cuisine was mostly Italian, or we would have missed out on some really outstanding food, because I would have insisted on passing it by.

As it was, the fish I ate was cooked to perfection! The service was exemplary, the prices were acceptable, and I was happy to see that my husband and parents really enjoyed their meals, from my husband's pasta dish to my mother's homemade hamburger :-). And not only was the food and service fantastic, so was the setting! The last time we were there was mid summer, and the Lucifer Crocosmia surrounding their patio was in full and glorious bloom. Although this restaurant sits right on Hwy. 101, it was easy to just tune out the traffic, when the food and flowers were so nice :-). Yes, I'd definitely recommend Blackfish Cafe' to anyone--even people like me, who don't necessarily care for Italian cuisine.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Remarkable clam chowder....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I took a day trip to Lincoln City in October and decided to give The Blackfish Cafe a try for lunch. I asked the waitress what sets apart their clam chowder from other area restaurants' offerings. She smiled and replied, "No sand!" I gave the chowder a try and found the tenderest clams in a creamy white broth and was struck by the soup's flavor and texture. The waitress was right - no speck of grit on my tongue. We rounded out our meal with ling cod fish & chips and ling cod tacos. Both dishes were well seasoned and made with fresh ingredients. Exceptional food and service at this restaurant will keep us coming back to Lincoln City.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RussianDoll50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfish Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blackfish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing