We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and uncomfortable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of D Sands Condominium Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
D Sands Condominium Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Gresham, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy and uncomfortable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Started off great. Got chocolate chip cookies at check in but went down hill from there. Routine maintenance on the hotel limited parking. Room was clean and had large rooms and ample bed space for our family of six. Have 4 kids ranging in age from 4 to 17. It was really windy the first day of our trip so we decided to relax a little in the room. Had the windows open. Room started filling with cigarette smoke. This non-smoking motel has balconies that are not private and our next door neighbor was puffing away. Asked Angela at the front desk if there was another room available since our young son has asthma and second-hand smoke is a trigger for attacks. She assured us everything would be fine and she apparently called the room to tell them to stop. Made them mad so they took every opportunity to slam doors, beat on walls, etc. Funny the neighbors put so much effort into making noise because the walls are so thin it didn't matter. Mirrors, pictures, etc. shook everytime they closed a door. Pool and spa were nice nothing special but clean. Was really awkward walking down to the beach because we had to walk in front of other patios on the property. Less than 10 feet from room doors. Certainly wouldn't want to stay in one of those rooms-no privacy. At 11:00 p.m. we were awakened by the office because someone had called the front desk to complain that we were walking too heavily and making too much noise. Didn't have the energy to argue so just hung up the phone. Slept terribly because the beds are super hard. Motel is right off highway 101 so lots of traffic noise. Heard every semi and emergency vehicle. Awoke to garbage truck right outside our window at 8 a.m. Shower water temp varied. Mostly cold. Motel has lots of rules and has no problem enforcing them even if you aren't breaking them. Way overpaid for this room!! Stay somewhere else and avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CAredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    58
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
85
67
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

The 'D' Sands is hands down thee best hotel in Lincoln City, Oregon. The service is top notch, the views are breathtaking and the staff treats you like a welcomed member of their own family. They will go out of their way to make sure your ever need is promptly accommodated and they do so with a warm smile. They are very professional and give great advice on various attractions in the area. Angela has always helped us with our reservations and personally calls once we are checked in to make sure our room is in top shape and every time we talked to her, it was like talking to a friend rather than a member of a hotel staff. They have a large, spacious pool and lovely hot tub. Hands down, simply the best! Kudos to you Angela & 'D' Sands!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, OR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Angela gave 110% when we called to make reservations to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Check in was easy. Check out was easy. She worked really hard to get us the perfect room. She even put our special occasion on the hotel's welcome sign. She is very knowledgeable about local attractions and restaurants, etc. We trust her completely and can't wait til we can make the trip again. We'll be sure to ask for Angela by name since she went out of her way to make our trip so enjoyable.
Jon & Cindy
Troutdale, OR

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcminnville, oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

i have stayed here a few times in the past, and it just keeps getting better. most of the staff is excellent, and in the lead of that excellence is the night time receptionist angie. not only does she remember repeat customers, but she calls you by name and she treats you like a lifelong friend. i went to lincoln city to relax and regain my balance, so to speak, after some personal strains, and instead of cuddling up with a good book i was more tempted to hang out in the lobby every evening of my stay to hang out with her!

unfortunately, i can not say the same for the woman who checked me out, she was rather rude and crass. i did not feel welcomed by her whatsoever, and almost felt insulted by the looks she was tossing my way when i brought her my key.

it's a good thing they employ someone as wonderful as angie, as my experience with her completely made up for the less than welcome feeling from that other woman.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimec0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

I recently took my son on a trip to the coast and stayed at the D Sands and we had an awesome time the rooms were very well kept up and the staff was abolutely fantastic I would stay there again in an instant!!!!

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jnoelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We've stayed at a few places in Lincoln City so I'll compare D Sands to the others to maybe help you decide. The wall bed is definitely a bonus of the D Sands, especially compared to the very uncomfortable pullouts at Dock of The Bay Condos in LC. That said, we do prefer the location of Dock of the Bay (nice to be by the sea lions and in a quieter area) and Pelican Shores Motel (quieter location) as well. Our room at D Sands wasn't noisy at all but the complex is right on the highway so you feel the noise when you go to your car. We treated our daughters to a couple of nights of TV and movies and D Sands was great for this with hundreds of DVDs to rent and lots of channels to choose from including Disney (not sure about Dock and Pelican definitely has lots of DVDs to rent). A bonus of D Sands is that they offer free wi-fi and internet access from a lobby PC. The kitchen dishes didn't seem very clean and it would've been nice to have a dishwasher (available at Pelican Shores). On our next trip to LC we'd definitely choose either D Sands or Pel Shores. Great view of the rolling surf!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

Everytime we go to the Lincoln city, we stay at dsands. It has been awhile since we our last trip so I wasnt sure if things would be as great as before.
Well some things have changed, their lobby for instance. They have recently remodeled it. And it is beautiful! You walk in and you are looking right at the ocean into their swiming pool.They have also switched to key cards which is better than the old regular keys.
I think their kitchens have also been remodeled, they looked brand new anyways. And as always the rooms were clean. That is one thing you always get from them.
I love going somewhere and feeling like family. Even after a few years of not coming in. They seem to always have the same people at the front desk, smiling, laughing and always going out of their way to help their guest.

  • Liked — the cookies at check in, staff, and the rooms
  • Disliked — slight road noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripperx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
2.6 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Sands Condominium Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Sands Condominium Motel

Property: D Sands Condominium Motel
Address: 171 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-2757
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'D' Sands Condominium Motel is an Oceanfront motel with Suites and Studio Suites, located in the heart of Lincoln City. All rooms are Oceanfront and have full-sized equipped kitchens. Some rooms also come with gas-lit fireplaces. We also have an indoor heated pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your D Sands Condominium Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
`d` Sands Condominium Hotel Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing