We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Indian casino.”

Chinook Winds Casino & Convention Center
Attraction details
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Above average Indian casino.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten and played at Chinook Winds several times. The buffet is very good with a broad selection of food. The gaming is normal Indian casino gaming. The gaming floor is a little crowded. If they get large crowds at the casino, the floor becomes very crowded with not a lot of maneuvering room. The slots seem a bit tight. We can't really say we have hit anything substantial compared to other casinos. Overall, a decent experience for food and an expected experience for gaming.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimmieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    274
    264
    86
    56
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Its better at the beach”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ok, that's there slogan. But they are right, you cant beat the view. the casino is decorated in Indian culture and its very beautiful. the games are fun and there's just no end in the excitement they bring. There's more gambling upstairs and great food. The recent remodel of the buffet was worth it, more room and easier to get around. The selection is great and the prices are reasonable. I've never had to wait long to get a seat. the whole family can go, there's a ply center for the kids as well. It's in a separate building but they have a shuttle. The view is fantastic and the beach is a walk away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbiethetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
“Great buffet”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good dinner and breakfast buffet. The gambling we did in the casino paid for all our meals. The only bad thing is everything smells smoky

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“D-U-M-P”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The only thing that saved this place from a "Poor" rating was that I walked out of there with more money than I had walking in. We arrived on a Friday night and lined up early for the buffet. Despite being there before 5:30, we weren't actually seated until almost 7:00. $20 for the seafood "buffet" and it was just awful. The one vegetable was a pan full of rubbery baby carrots just floating in butter. Unless you can personally eat five pounds of crab legs, there was nothing on the buffet to justify the pricing. The entire facility smells like the bottom of a well-used ashtray. So smokey the air was almost unbreathable. I won't be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Vancouver427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EEEHHH>>>>>”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We're from Washington, and the heavy odor of tobacco going inside hits you in the face. There was a "smoke free" section, but smoke travels all over the place. The restaurant upstairs was fairly good, but all things considered, we had a better meal at Maxwell's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GatosGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinook Winds Casino & Convention Center also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chinook Winds Casino & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing