We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertisement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nordic Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“False advertisement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at around 4pm and I have an unexpected one guest with me. The person in the front told me that they can not accomodate us with one room so I have to get another room and that is understable. I got two rooms for us. a total of six people. When I check the rooms it was a big disappoinment. It was so small, that even 2 people would be crowded in that room. The full kitchen that they said was a big 'CHEAT" It was so small the size of the countertop was enough to put the dishtray and thats it... The 4 burner stove was a big lie... there was only one burner that was working properly. The oven was not working properly too. There was no dishwasher. The cupboard was full with dishes but the drinking glasses were an old plastic glass and there was no wine glass either.
When we are about to sleep I can't sleep because I can hear every footstep from the people above us and when they use the restroom I can hear the water in between the wall flushing,... I have a high expectation for the price that I paid a big disappointment.
The only good thing about is the front office staff and the housekeeper was really great.
Stayed in rooms #101 and 110

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marites62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I am sorry this guest was unhappy. This guest made her reservations online and had pictures to view showing the kitchen and interior of the hotel unit she booked. When she made reservations online she booked in for 4 guests. She called and added one more guest. The maximum capacity for the unit she reserved is 5 guests. Upon this guests arrival there were 6 guests. The front desk clerk advised we would have to put her in 2 units. We put her in a 2 room suite with a full kitchen and a unit with a queen, compact kitchen and fireplace. To offset the cost of the second room the owner was gracious enough to give a $20 discount on each room per night (which is a substantial discount considering the error was not ours) .The full kitchens do have a 4 burner stove. We did check this unit and all burners were working. The units do have plastic drinking glasses in the kitchen, but there are also glass
Drinking glasses in the bathroom. The kitchens are large enough to cook in, but they are not gourmet kitchens. The rooms she had were a 2 room suite with a separate Queen bedroom, living room area, full kitchen, gas fireplace and patio and a room with a Queen Bed, compact kitchen and gas fireplace. Both of these units have the square footage expected in a hotel facility. I am sorry if she felt the guests above her were heavy footed .In the summer on the weekends we are extremely busy this can account for the unit being a little noisy. The unit is located on the ground floor. This guest may want to consider requesting the top floor next time she makes reservations at a hotel especially in the summer and on the weekend. I do apologize but we did try to accommodate this guest to the best of our ability considering the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    96
    28
    13
    26
See reviews for
70
162
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

excellent view,clean, friendly, good value....we enjoy staying here...have stayed many times....AAAA++++ everybody has different tastes....but we like this hotel and will stay here again and again....thanks nordic inn!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate that you are a tried and true member of our growing "Nordians" (Nordic Oceanfront Inn Frequent Guests) .The reviews are very helpful in letting us know what we are doing right and what we might need to improve upon. Thank you again for taking the time to put in a review .We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely, Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Tried to book a hotel room online. When I looked online it said the room type we wanted was available for nights we wanted. I answered the questions about name, address, etc....when I entered the Credit Card number it said, "Can't Find a Room to assign to this Reservation" or something to that effect. I called the number and talked to a lady who was pretty abrupt on the phone, like I was wasting her time. She said the reason it said the room was unavailable online was because they did have that room type available, but it would be one room for the first night, then we would have to check out and recheck in another room for the second night. No late check out, early check in either. She said we would have to wait a couple/few hours...that we could just leave and eat or something and then check back in! We travel to Lincoln City every year and were looking for something more budget friendly and with breakfast, but with the chilly reception on the phone and the hassle of booking online, we will stick with our old favorites, The Sandcastle and D'Sands....their customer service rocks!

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I am sorry you did not like our online reservation system. We did have the room you requested as the system stated. I did advise you that we would need to move you to accommodate your request. I also tried to make the move as easy as possible by telling you we could move your belongings if you wanted to go out . We offer this service so you can enjoy your self and not have to wait for the room you are moving to to be cleaned.This service also helps us to get the room you are moving from ready for our next guest. You can stay in your room until noon to see if the unit you are moving to is available.You stated you did not want to move rooms.I did try to see if I could move a room so you would not have to move and I am sorry I was unable to accomplish this for you. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the way the situation was handled .I did try to the best of my abilities to accommodate your wishes.
Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in one of their bedroom suites, which was very small. When the wall bed is down you can hardly get around it to the door. Our room was on the ground floor, barely see the water from the room. No cell service in our room. The pool was ok, the hot tub was not hot. The walls thin, we heard the people next to us and the guests upstairs, and every time they flushed all night long. We left for another hotel after one night. Even cost us the night we didn't stay. It was worth it, don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echomule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachinn, General Manager at Nordic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I am sorry this guest was dissatisfied with his accommodations. This unit is a large suite with a separate Queen bedroom, Queen Wall bed in the living room, full kitchen, gas fireplace and patio overlooking the ocean. The unit is ground floor so if you were sensitive to noise you might be affected. This is a hotel in the summer when it is busy and possibly noisy. We do have staff on duty for noise complaints, but water in the pipe and flushing toilets seriously! I am surprised at his statement about the pool and spa area. The pool area was recently remodeled. We keep the pool at a comfortable 88 degrees and the spa is kept at 102 degrees which is what is acceptable for public use. This guest did not mention any of his grievances on check out. The only statement from this guest was that his wife did not like the hotel. The guest did sign the registration advising we have a 48 hour cancellation and early check outs are charged. We charge for early check outs to try to avoid having rooms that other guests would have accommodated had the unit been available, I also notified him when he requested to check out early in case he wished to change his mind. We do appreciate all of our guests. I do apologize for his discomfort.
Sincerely, Yvonne Darr
Nordic Oceanfront Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Clean, friendly, not fancy...but compare price with other it is a value. Breakfast is fruit,cereal waffles etc..0ne warning the beach access is steep with many stairs and uneven pavers but accessible.if you have little kids ask for the 1stfloor as windows do not have screens.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCP12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here one night during a trip down the coast. We checked in and asked for recommendations for dinner, we were given good advice for the local pizza place. The room looked right out onto the ocean, and as others have stated there are no screens on the windows, but with the breeze, no bugs were around. The room is basic, the beds and pillows might bed due for replacement, our backs were not without complaint in the morning. The continental breakfast was nice with waffles, yogurt, fruit, muffins and cereal. On check out, our bill was accurate and courteous service. We would return on our next trip down the coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The view from our balcony was amazing and each balcony was mostly blocked from the neighboring rooms, which was a big plus for me. The room was as clean as can be expected and the amenities were nice for the price of the room. I would not rate this hotel as a five star venue, but it was definitely nice, and I will stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#15 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
Sailor Jack Ocean Front Motel
#22 of 36 in Lincoln City
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#7 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Oceanfront Inn

Property: Nordic Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2133 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4011
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordic Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 53, newly renovated oceanfront view rooms have free in room Wi-Fi, 32" flat screen TV, DVD Player, microwave, hair dryer and refrigerator. Some room choices include king or Queen Bed, in room Jacuzzi, Kitchen, gas Fireplace and balcony or patio. Our site amenities include double saunas and heated salt water pool and spa. An expanded hot continental breakfast is served daily including self serve Belgian waffles. Enjoy our large sundeck with private beach access for the ultimate beach experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Nordic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Oceanfront Hotel Lincoln City
Nordic Oceanfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing