We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small”
Review of Pelican Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Shores Inn
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We spent one night here. I had planned for the week-end but after seeing the size of the room, made other plans for the second night. We checked in late in the evening.

The room was located on the ground level, down a flight of stairs to access, so it felt like a basement room. It was extremely small! It was exceptionally clean. It looked freshly painted, tile in the bath was spotless. There was no view being a ground level. We were located adjacent to the beach trail so we were unable to have the curtains open unless we were ready to have visitors. The room may have been a good fit for people intending to hike on the beach and that type of activity. We were just looking for a great view.

Very, very clean. Good continental breakfast was complementary.

Just not what we were looking for on this trip.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelermarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2007

I really loved this place. I had tried to get into a B&B further down the coast (at a much more exhorbitant price) but they were booked and I really wanted ocean front. Found this place on-line and the pictures on their website are completely true. The place was clean, the staff was very friendly, and a short flight of steps and you're on the beach.

The only downsize for me was the very small bathroom sink area. A sink with little counter space, but that one small negative was not enough to mar my trip. I'm actually planning a return trip next year.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We had a nice patio suite. The ocean view was fantastic. The front room with the ocean view appeared to be newer. The back room did not have a window. One felt like it was a basement room. One of the doors to the hall from the back room had about a 1 1/2 inch gap and quite a draft come through.The bathrooms were not that clean upon arrival. If staying on the patio level, it was not very secure from the outside as one is able to walk down the stairs from the outside parking lot. The pool was not very inviting, it is in the middle of the parking lot and very dark inside. We did not feel safe enough to swim there early evening. Breakfast was continental style that could be taken back to your room, this was very nice if in a rush in the morning. Can not say enough how wonderful it was to sit on the patio in the evening and watch the surf. Lights along the walkway to the walkway to the ocean was a good safety feature.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank transcona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We just recently returned from a 9 day stay at Pelican Shores. This was our first time staying there. For the past 8 years, we have stayed at a nearby hotel that recently remodeled and tripled their room rates. Am I glad they did or we would have never found Pelican Shores! Room is a little smaller but perfect for us. We had one of the rooms on the bottom floor with doors that open onto the patio and grass. Couldn't ask for more. Everyone......desk clerks, maids,
repairman, etc. were so pleasant and helpful. Going back next week.....can hardly wait! Highly recommended!!!

5  Thank ggarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Hotel is located on a cliff right above the beach -- really easy access to beach and to Hwy 101. Great windows looking at ocean, but no deck. Beds were clean (triple sheets) and very comfy; kitchen was adequately furnished. No A/C; however, ocean breezes and the provided box fan more than adequately cooled the room in the evening after a hot day. Bedroom overlooks parking lot, which was a problem our first night's stay when noisy guests were out and about, and the next morning when garbage man came at 6:30 am. Bathroom sink did not drain adequately; I did not report till our last morning in the hotel, but the gal at the desk didn't seem to care much anyway. Carpet had holes and was FILTHY... after 1.5 hours of inside play, my kids' feet were BLACK, top and bottom. Front desk response was to say that's what we get at the end of the season and that now that things are slowing down some, they would start getting around to cleaning rugs again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveler_404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We just booked our 2nd trip to Pelican Shores. We are counting the days.
This place is modest, clean and friendly. We fell in love during our stay last year. The sound of the surf all night, and the incredible beach is amazing.
We've stayed in the King Studio, and had everything we needed.
Complementary breakfast is not huge, but enough to start the day with. The staff has always been down to earth and very friendly. That means alot to us.

We haven't been able to secure a patio room yet - but maybe for our 3rd trip....

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I loved this hotel and felt so happy coming back to it whenever we went out.

The fireplace suite that we stayed in was very clean. The kitchen items were clean too. And I'm pretty picky in hotels.

My son loved the pool and it seemed to be well used but not overcrowded.

The best part was the ocean which we enjoyed from within our suite (left the window open and could hear surf all night) and out on the beach. The Pelican Shores has direct private access to the beach and while there are some stairs to climb, I saw some hotels that were a lot higher up and had a lot more stairs.

Oh, the view from our window.

I really liked Lincoln City too and found it extremely family-friendly and enjoyable.

Glad we stayed there. Not at all easy to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,781 reviews
3.9 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,081 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Shores Inn

Address: 2645 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $120 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Shores Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy spectacular oceanfront views, decks, suites with gas fireplaces and kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast, direct beach access, free Wi-Fi and heated indoor pool. Ideal location at the North end of Lincoln City. Discover why our guests love it here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pelican Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Shores Hotel Lincoln City
Pelican Shores Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing