We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than thrilled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn At Spanish Head
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2006

Our room was small and I would agree with others that I was expecting much more. We had a very bright light on the balcony that illuminated the beach area at night. This meant we had to close all doors and drapes in an attempt to sleep. With only a double bed, sleeping was not comfortable. This was billed as a "deluxe" room. I would rate it as average at best. The restaurant on top has wonderful views but again the quality was not commensurate with the prices. I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank awayonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 433 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2006

After all the good things we had read and heard about the Inn at Spanish Head, we were disappointed with our stay. The ocean view was beautiful and we loved the balcony. However, because of security reasons we had to keep the sliding door and window locked at night. Sleeping with the sound of the waves and feeling the ocean breeze was lost. Instead of carpeting our room had tile floors. Its was evident that it had not been vacuumed since the last guest as there was sand on the floor and we had not even been to the beach yet. Glasses and the coffee pot were not cleaned after we used them. The front desk, bellman and valet were very nice. However we probably will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fourpurrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
British Columbia, Canada
17
Reviewed June 10, 2006

My husband and I had not planned on staying at the Inn at Spanish Head, but instead at another hotel in the area. However, the place we had booked was terrible, and my husband's desire was to make this a special "second honeymoon" for us. So, when we arrived at the Inn he explained the situation to the woman at the lobby desk. They bent over backwards to accomodate our needs, and even though they were pretty booked, we managed to stay three wonderful nights at a discounted rated. The rooms (we stayed in two) were beautiful and the view... you can't be the view! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We have just returned from another great stay at the Inn. We have stayed there many many times over the past 25 years. We have only been mildly disappointed a couple of times. Over the years, it seems to have gotten better and better. It's one of the few properties that has been kept up to look as good or better than when it was new. Many of the units have been recently renovated. It is higher priced than many other motels in the area, however, they do have great discounts off peak and mid week with the exception of July and August. They're one night packages are also a good deal as they include restaurant credits and champagne. The view is unsurpassed in all rooms, restaurant and lounge. They have a daily happy hour in the lounge with discounted appetizers and a free coupon for one of them. There is an elevator down to the first level, where you walk down a couple steps and right out onto the beach. Many of the suites are absolutely fabulous. The one we just stayed in was newly done with a fireplace tile floors (heated in the bathroom), a jacuzzi, floor to ceiling windows and a deck off the seperate bedroom. I have not seen other unitits of this caliber at the Oregon Coast. When ever my daughter and son in law come from out of state, this is the first place they want to go. It is so relaxing, it is difficult to think about anything stressful. We have tried other places on the coast in attempt to save money, and usually ended up being disappointed. It can be expensive, but well worth it if you can swing it for a special occasion. In our oppinion, you do get what you pay for here. The front desk can be a bit formal but it feels secure and they have always attempted to accomadate us. We leave with great memories.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank harborWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Keller, TX
435
Reviewed May 31, 2006

The hotel has a very quaint, small town feel. This is a welcome change from staying in San Francisco. The hotel staff is very warm and personable. The views from the room were absolutely amazing. We were upgraded to a fully furnished suite with a full kitchen, den, dining area, and master suite that was unreal. It was bigger than our first apartment! If you are planning for a long stay with great beach access, consider an upgraded room. It's worth it! The surrounding area has lots of shops and good places to eat (be sure to check out the Wildflower). The entire hotel was very clean and fresh looking. The decor was a slight bit dated.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2005

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights in September, 2005. Our room was large with comfortable beds, a small kitchen, and a huge deck with a sweeping view of the coast and ocean. The decor of our room had a pleasing nautical theme. The place was spotless, and the staff was professional and helpful.

The food in the dining room was average, the atmosphere was dull, and the service was neglectful. We enjoyed much more a meal we ate at Kyllo's Seafood and Grill.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2005

We are regular visitors to the Inn at Spanish Head and have had several opportunities to experience its plusses and minuses. It is unlike other oceanfront resorts in several ways, mainly because it is smack-dab planted on the beach and bolted into a rock cliff: it makes a striking profile viewed from the beach. But better still is the unparalleled up-close views from the rooms: dramatic and beautiful.

When you approach the Inn, you are at the top of a 100-ft cliff at the beach, and when you drive in you get a super view of the Inn's red tile roof overlooking the surrounding ocean -- it really is beathtaking.

Beach access beats any other ocean-side facility we have stayed in. You walk out the building and you are on the beach.

As regular guests we have noted some of the same issues pointed out in previous reviews such as shortcomings in congeniality with some of the front desk staff. We agree with the reviewer who remarked about lack of eye contact. On our trip this week, the clerks seemed more attentive and friendly.

Reviewers have noted with alarm their discovery that the rooms are privately-owned condos run as a hotel. We feel this is definitely a positive. In our experience the units have a personal touch, not plain-looking, are inviting, have a better feel, and are more relaxing. The large hotel staff does a good job at making our stay a good one. The housekeeping is very thorough in our opinion, and have always been nice. The bellmen and courtesy drivers are also attentive and friendly.

Many have commented about the Fathoms restaurant. It is a bit on the higher-end of cost (maybe $15-20 for dinner entrees). But we like the overall value when you factor the fine quality and taste, good service (always has been friendly for us), and super view.

Regarding value: some reviewers have mentioned that the Inn is overpriced. There are a variety of rooms and suites, spanning the 10-floor facility. We recomend you don't hesitate to request seeing another room if you think what you have won't meet your needs. As to price, it is definitely on the high-end for Lincoln City. But we return because we see it as an overall good value.

In our view the Inn is a first-rate relaxation and get away resort. What we mean is that when you get there and settle down, you are set. It is just a great, peaceful setting without compare. In fact, you don't have the usual distractions: loud TV, or neighbor noises, etc. due to the 8-inch thick walls! Finally, being literally oceanfront, it is so soothing to wake up with the ocean greeting you, see unobstructed sunsets, and go to sleep with the ocean sounds. Storms are amazing too!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank gbofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.5 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
889 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,190 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.6 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,415 reviews
3.4 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#11 of 35 in Lincoln City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Spanish Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Spanish Head

Address: 4009 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#12 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $276 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn At Spanish Head, Lincoln City, is Oregon's only resort hotel built right on the beach. All guest and meeting rooms are oceanfront with floor-to-ceiling windows for spectacular views. Our 10th floor oceanfront restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a seasonal Sunday champagne brunch. Room service is also available. While visiting, enjoy our outdoor heated pool, indoor Jacuzzi spa and recreation room. There is easy access to miles of Oregon's beautiful, public beaches and fascinating tide pools are close by. We are located on the central Oregon coast where you will find a world-class aquarium, numerous golf course, hiking, deep-sea fishing, whale watching, birding, galleries, museums, shopping, surfing, live theatre and many more attractions and activities. Come stay in the middle of it all at the Inn At Spanish Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Inn At Spanish Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Spanish Head Hotel Lincoln City
Hotel At Spanish Head
The Inn At Spanish Head
Spanish Head Inn
At Spanish Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing