We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely FANTASTIC!”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A group of us were traveling across the US recently and happened upon the Lincoln City area by day's end. Being that it was the high tourism period, and this area was obviously bustling with tourists, we were skeptical about finding a room on the beach as we had hoped. We decided to check the price/availability at this hotel, and WOW! am I glad we did!

There were 4 of us, and we were offered quite literally the last room available. The desk clerk almost seemed apologetic when she said the last room had 2 separate bedrooms with a common area for which she offered at a substantially lower price than normal. It was located within about 30 steps to the beach sand, so we accepted without hesitation. We were then offered complimentary glasses of wine as they do wine tasting each evening (nice touch).

Upon walking in the room we were just blown away! This wasn't a hotel room, it was more like a 2 bedroom condo! The rooms were split at opposite ends with a FULL kitchen and a living room w/fireplace in the middle. Each room had a king bed and there was a separate full bathroom at one end. The master room had its own bathroom and stand-a-lone jacuzzi bathtub as well as a private balcony. There was a second balcony attached to the living room which provided an outstanding ocean view.

Everything was immaculately clean and there were even complimentary bath robes. There were gas stations and a grocery store within 2 miles, and there was a very nice restaurant literally next door to the hotel. The parking was mostly covered beneath the hotel's entrance which made for good wind/ocean spray protection overnight.

During our 15 days of travel, this was perhaps the nicest hotel stay we experienced! If your budget allows and your travel group calls for it, request one of the 2 bedroom rooms at the end of each floor- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony&Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    177
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
137
521
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2014

After my wife's successful bone marrow transplant, we wanted to celebrate her challenging recovery, as well as our 26th year anniversary and her 60th birthday at our favorite hotel in Lincoln City. Our great stay began with making the reservation with Cindy who was determined to make our stay special, which she did. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and a basket of treats with a Happy Anniversary note in our room. Room was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was delivered on time and delightful. We are looking forward to or next stay at the Shearwater Inn. Thank you, Cindy, for remembering us and taking care of us and making our stay special, again!

Room Tip: Top floor, south end has best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Shearwater Inn is one of our favorite places to get away from it all. We've been coming here since it was the Odyssius. Lovely continental breakfast delivered to your door, fun wine social, and a really comfortable king bed!! Staff is great -- we enjoy seeing Danny whenever we are staying there.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean. We love the two bedroom, two bath units when we have the whole f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Nice place to stay, right on the ocean plenty of ammenitys abound. The grill next door to the hotel had excellent food and was really close. The beach was really close by too, just a very short walk and there's the ocean.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
Green Features: Pretty standard in that approach, like most inn's and hotels we visited on this trip.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA_KA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at a King Deluxe studio (5th floor) here for 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was great. Free internet, TV, cue tips, cotton balls, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, etc. Made the stay quite comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast delivered to our room as well as the free movie rentals. It was all very affordable too. There was a great ocean view, but it wasn't *too* close to the beach. The beach was a very short walk away.

The only things I could mention against the stay are that the cable TV wasn't perfect (the set was great, but the beach's reception is imperfect but still good), and I'm used to staying at Worldmark resorts and was a little surprised there was no silverware (except disposable silverware delivered with breakfast), but that's to be expected since there was no kitchen or anything; just a studio.

All in all, the hotel was wonderful. Great staff, great accommodations.

Room Tip: Top floor was great and had magnificent ocean view. Lower floors might have a blocked ocean view; I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexio_Xela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary weekend and it was lovely! We usually don't make it to the lobby for other hotels' continental breakfasts, but having it delivered to the room was fun and luxurious feeling. Very nice, clean room. Keep in mind "ocean view" doesn't mean "ocean front;" you have to look past/over another hotel, but there was easy beach access right across the parking lot. We left the door to the balcony open and slept to the sound of the waves. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Shearwater to celebrate wife's Birthday. Second time we have stayed there. Staff is very polite and attentive. They have a free wine social every night from 5:30 to 6:30
and bring a continental style breakfast to your room every morning. We also brought our small and received a doggie basket for her containing treats, food and water bowl with towels to dry her off from our beach walks. Will remain our place of choice in Lincoln City.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a better ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Ask that you reuse towels if possible. Had plenty on hand.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawilhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing