We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place if price is right”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington State
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place if price is right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Got a great rate $130 midweek for a $225 room. Family owned so they can deal. Children under 12 not allowed. No pool or work out room.

Hotel very nice and very clean. Room was a bit small - only a queen bed. No refrigerator or microwave. Good ocean view from upper floors (3 to 5). Turn down service, robes, and slippers. Nightly wine reception in lobby. I think they are trying to be upscale and are succeeding somewhat. Bed was very noisy - creaked whenever you turned over - made sleeping difficult. TV was not good as some channels (HBO for example) were very snowy - desk clerk said that's just the way they are in the hotel. I would think this was unacceptable for a hotel. Breakfast is delivered to your room but is pretty sparse and only three options. Room was quiet but the hotel was very empty so can't say how it will be when busy. No air conditioning in rooms so mid summer could be a problem.

I would probably stay there again if I got a good rate. The staff was exceptionally courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upperlimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    170
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
135
512
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

Odysius Hotel, Lincoln City

We loved our stay at the Odysius in Lincoln City!!! They pamper you with ocean view rooms (although you do see a parking lot, the run down hotel next door, and the roof of a restaurant) and several other special amenities for a small boutique hotel. We got a room w/ balcony for $195. They have an early evening social hour with complimentary wine and hor'd'euvres, and they bring you breakfast in bed (also included in the room price). The staff were so nice to us (and not snobby), and really made it a relaxing stay.

We met some guests at the social hour that normally stay at other places across the street, and they said the prices had gone up plenty at the other places to be comparable to the Odysius...yet Odysius has so many more niceties. This hotel was definitely a worthwhile treat! Highly recommend

  • Liked — the wine hour :)
  • Disliked — the city it's in wasn't charming
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwestcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

After a long drive from Portland we pulled our car up the driveway at The O'dysius Hotel in Lincoln City my wife and I were immediately impressed with how clean everything seemed at this hotel. The coast was just hammered by one of the largest storms in Oregon's history but we saw no sign of any mess or damage around here. Checking in at the front desk " George" was very personable and treated us respectfully. In the elevator we both agreed how George made us feel so special without going overboard. The room was very clean and we felt like the maid had spent extra attention cleaning the room and the bed and linens were very clean and comfortable. They provided us with terrycloth robes and slippers for us to use in the room. We have stayed in many hotels across the country and have traveled abroad and this was a very nice start of our three day stay. Complementary wine tasting each nite and breakfast and newspaper delivered to our door each morning. The location was across from the beach and we could easily see and hear the ocean from our balcony. They are within walking distance from a great thai restaurant and the casino is down the street. The general manager was on site and she was also very pleasant. We even hit a small jackpot at the casino. Thank you O'dysius for a first class experience.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyStay_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

We stayed at the Odysius for three nights for a weekend getaway and had a fabulous time!!! The suite was gorgeous and the jetted tub was amazing after a long days walk on the beach!
The staff makes you feel like family and every accomodation was made to ensure our stay was perfect!
The fresh fruit breakfast was light and refreshing but perhaps best of all was how dog friendly everyone was!
There is great beach access and miles and miles of it! We will certainly be back!

  • Liked — Great staff`and very pet friendly!
  • Disliked — Nothing to report!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

WE LOVED IT!!! This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway. We spent two nights and three days for the celebration of our anniversary and we could not help it but to fall under a romantic ocean spell of love, and everything there is between a couple who is in LOVE.
The bed was soft as well as the comforter and pillows. The bathroom was perfect for us. I would recomend a microwave at least to help out in the reheating of foods. The fire place was so romantic with the sounds of the ocean waves breaking in shore =). I have to say that it was so romantic, we probably keep some neighbors awake =}.
The hotel was so cozy and the people in there were so nice. The breakfast was just purely heavenly, and it consisted of Coffee, fresh fruits, fresh pastries and a juice from your choice including a news paper and kindness as they deliver straight to your room at the hour of preference as you chose when.
We loved the ocean view and we didn't mind the sea gypsy nor the restaurant that were in the front, the hotel sits higher than both so you overlook the ocean and the buildings. At night it is noisy, if is not the cars and ambulances driving by (early evening), it was either us or the neighbors doing what romance brings out of every couple...once more, we didn't mind.
Thank you so much for a lovely and kind, romantic, sincere and helpful, greeting and cozzy place. We will be deligthed to come back as soon as we can-and we will.

The Owens's
October-26-29, 2007.

  • Liked — The view,fire place, the BED!!
  • Disliked — there was no microwave-but it was ok
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Romanticandinluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

After reading the delightful reviews about this "boutique" hotel, we thought the O'dysius would be a nice place to spend our romantic getaway; we were wrong. The hotel sits back from the beach behind other buildings and parking lots so forget about seeing and hearing the ocean. Instead you get a sneak peak of the ocean and listen to the sounds of building fans, numerous customers, cars, and delivery trucks. We had to keep our slider to the mini balcony closed. The couch was dirty but the rest of the furnishing were pleasant. The evening wine downstairs was a nice touch. As for the hot tub, it was very small, up against a very busy Hwy 101, and though it was "open" between 4pm and 10pm only, at 6:00pm the cover was still on. We went to a restaurant recommended to us by the owner, it was awful! So much for our romantic dinner! When we returned to the hotel the bragged about turn down service had not been provided but we thought, oh well, we could shut out the world and make our own romance; not to be. The bed was hard and had a terrible squeak, and the sheets were hospital type sheets (I know because I'm a nurse) which did not cover the end of the mattress. By morning our backs were hurting when our continental "breakfast" arrived. We decided to check out. When asked what was wrong, the gal at the desk told us we should have asked for another room. Did she really think that at 11;00 pm, we would get out of bed, dressed, and move all our things to another room in hopes that the next room would have a more comfortable bed with soft sheets? No, we moved alright, to another hotel and had a wonderful remaining time. Don't waste your money and certainly don't stay at the O'dysius if you are looking for a comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Easy to find, right off the highway.
  • Disliked — Not as advertised.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindicooks, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2007
The staff and I are saddened that this couple had such a horrific experience! We are here to pamper our guests and do all that we can to ensure they have a lovely experience. When this guest initially made the reservation they requested a king bed. All we had left at that time was a queen bed. When they checked in, they again, asked for a king bed. Still, all we had available was a queen.
We get numerous compliments on our pressed sheets and top of the line mattresses. How this bed was made with short sheets baffles me.
As for the spa. We keep the cover on, unless in use, because the wind blows all kinds of debris around. The local health inspectator has even commented that we have one of the cleanest spas in town. All the guest had to do was to mention that they were going to use the spa and it would have been our pleasure to remove the cover for them.
The restaurant experience! My staff and I ate at the restaurant in question just two nights prior to this guests experience! We went there in fact to do quality assurance. The rib-eye steak was melt in your mouth. The three of us commented on how clean the windows were and how nice that you could see the surf that they had illuminated, and the prices were decent.
It has been said that "you can't please all the people..." but it still is upsetting when you want to and yet fall short. My heartfelt apologies to this guest.
Sincerely,
Cindi Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in August on a pleasure trip and this hotel was a real pleasure. Service was excellent, very nice room with a good ocean view, although it is set back from the ocean with several other buildings between the hotel and the beach. Very nice bed with superior linens, nice balcony for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. Short walk to Kyllos - good food and nice atmosphere.

All in all a very nice upscale beach hotel. We will definately return if our travels bring us this way again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank 2nevadatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing