We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burley, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nice rooms, wine reception is great. Hot Tub is a little hard to get to.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojocpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    176
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
136
521
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The O'dysius is a small hotel with a great view on the Ocean at the "D" river (Shortest river in the world). It has an aire of European influence with lots of dark wood paneling and comfy chairs, books and gifts in the sitting area and lobby. It is 5 stories with interior halls. It also accepts dogs. We found hard to find a nice facility in Lincoln City that accepts dogs. Select a superior room with a Pacific Ocean facing balcony and enjoy the compliementary evening wine tasting from your room to enjoy a sunset or visit with fellow travelers in the lobby.The breakfast is a room service arrangement that has several nice continental style selections.
During our stay in Early May the hotel was undergoing an exterior painting and we were one of only a hanful of guests. The building locked at about 9PM and we had to use a side door for entry to the lobby, which could have been a problem if the office person didn't see us coming in late and return to the hotel to show us access. Office staff is exceptional! The streets and restaurants in Lincoln City virtually "rolled up" at 8PM and finding food any time after 8 became next to impossible with the exceptinns of the fast food take-outs. A pricey hotel, but guests are treated like royalty, including our dog.

Room Tip: Get a superior room with Ocean facing deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Very different from previous stays. Front desk not very personable. Also told we could not participate in the wine social hour. Our room rate was $79 and we assumed this was a special winter rate. We were told that since we paid a lower rate, we could not join the social, which we had always enjoyed so much in the past. We e-mailed them about this but no response.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odysiusgm, Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
I’m sorry I didn’t receive your email to respond to you personally. In these days of a national recession, we’ve tried to respond to some of our customer needs by offering “price concessions” to provide a nice, clean room in an intimate hotel overlooking the beach in Lincoln City. The rate you acquired is a 50% Off Bare Bones Special and excludes our popular wine social and breakfast. Conflict is the “last” thing we want in the hospitality business, so we try diligently to communicate clearly so there’s no misunderstanding. I’m sorry our “deal” left you disappointed.

On a personal note to everyone: How apropos…I’m listening to the news right now about how “inflation” is driving prices up across the board. Please understand that here at the O’dysius Hotel, we’re trying really hard to be a hold out for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The view is a joke, certainly not what is protrayed on the net. Even from the $200+ 5th floor room. Once you can see through the filthly sliding glass door and ignore the paint peeling off the ocean side of the hotel...80% of what you see is the parking lot and the three story cheaper motel between you and the ocean.
Oh the matress was wonderful, and the wine served between 5:30 and 6:30pm was delicious. But the room interior is past it's prime....chipped bathroom counters, wallpaper and floor trim loose or missing, very dated and stained furnishings. Maybe it was a "five star" in it's day, but it has been "eclipsed" by it's competition in this price range.
And back to the opening comment. This is not beachfront and who wants to look at the cleaning ladies pushing their carts for the true beachfront neighboring motel and the restaurants garbage!
Pass!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_and_Brad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindiTaylor, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Lisa and Bradley,

Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and I’m sincerely sorry that the O’dysius Hotel did not meet your expectations! I must say in our defense that we never profess to be “Five Star” and although we are “not” ocean front, we do offer fabulous views! With currently 37 reviews, all it takes is a few minutes to find “glowing” testimonial from guests who have been thrilled with our service and facilities!

We try very hard to maintain the property in top notch condition! I honestly have not heard similar complaints to yours! And for windows…March is typical winter weather and its tough to keep all windows washed daily, but we do make it a standard housekeeping procedure, (weather permitting), to clean all sliding glass doors to afford our guest the most pleasurable views possible!

As for the hotel exterior, you’re spot on! Its high time for painting, which is coincidentally slated to begin this next week! Mark my words you’ll see the entire hotel painted in the next month! (Fingers crossed for some good weather!)

Again, I’m sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We are not everything to all guests, but for those that are familiar with us I’m confident we meet and exceed all of their expectations. And in closing, I must say in defense of our guests that our wine social is one of the nicest amenities that we offer and it’s a great opportunity to turn, (as you call them, “strangers”, into new friends! Let’s hear it for our guests!!!

Sincerely,
Gary Oliver
General Manager – O’dysius Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was a gift from our son who saw this Hotel online and online it looks pretty nice. However, if you are looking for 5 star luxury & romantic ~ No Way! Yes, there is an ocean view when you look over the ugly brown restaurant and the run down motel in between the ocean & The Odysius. Inside the room, yes the bed was very comfortable however, stark white walls, dirty sliding glass door and chipped door rims in need of repair. We normally stay in our room when paying that much for a room and enjoy a romantic dinner by candlelight. No way did we want to eat there. The complimentary wine hour was nice if you want to sit with strangers and look out dirty windows! For over $200.00 a night this was just plain WRONG! and our poor son paid for this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaandbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindiTaylor, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Lisa and Bradley,
Is it really necessary to create a "second account" for you to post and express the same elements of your frustration?
Best of luck!
Gary Oliver - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We cancelled our reservations at the Coho to stay at the O'dysius. Never having stayed at the Coho, I'm not sure if it was a good decision. I can say that the O'dysius was not quite what I had expected. I was aware that the room was not modern decor, but more romantically themed but I was disappointed. The sofa was worn and faded. The ottoman was wobbly and too small for comfort. The wood bed was glamorous but the comforter had a pattern that at first glance appeared to be blood splatters, which was actually threads upon closer inspection-thank god! The bed was too hard and we like firm mattresses usually. The robes were a nice touch but a bit too scratchy to wear. The fireplace and tv were nice. The flooring in the room was luxurious. The covered parking exceeded expectations. The jetted tub was great. The camel lamp was confusing (wtf?). The in-room breakfast was a bagel with hardboiled egg OR yogurt and fruit (don't get excited, the fruit was simply defrosted). Don't try and eat your breakfast from the mini-balcony in your rode unless you're ok with being greeted by fellow neighbors face to face on the balcony 2 feet next to you. They may have been the couple we heard having sexual relations through the paper thin walls earlier. ;) Lastly and absolutely least impressive, is regarding the "full ocean view." We requested a 4th room floor, but they tried to downgrade us into a 3rd, until pressed for a 4th. We would have been dramatically less impressed with a 3rd floor or lower view. The 4th ocean view was accurate I guess, but it's important to note that it's also a full view of the trash from Kyllos Restaurant and the hotel in front of the O'dysius which actually IS oceanfront. O'dysius Hotel is not ocean front, meaning nothing sits in front of it, you will be looking over obstructed views of a hotel (not a fancy one either) and restaurant in order to see any of the ocean. It's good to know this in advance. The staff interaction were brief, not memorable. While this certainly was not a bad experience, or a bad value at $130 we would not likely stay here again because there's too much competition out there that we'd like to give a shot next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Great place for adults. It was a wonderful getaway for my husband and I. We never go anywhere without our children, so in a guilty pleasure sort of way, I was delighted that children are not allowed!
Loved the robes, jacuzzi, fireplace, oceanview, kitchen, and wine tasting. Ahhhh! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonphotomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 Inlet Court, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing