We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find at the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great find at the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in August on a pleasure trip and this hotel was a real pleasure. Service was excellent, very nice room with a good ocean view, although it is set back from the ocean with several other buildings between the hotel and the beach. Very nice bed with superior linens, nice balcony for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. Short walk to Kyllos - good food and nice atmosphere.

All in all a very nice upscale beach hotel. We will definately return if our travels bring us this way again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank 2nevadatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    170
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
135
512
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque new mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

From the moment we walked in the door we were treated well. Our ocean view (every room has one) was beautiful. The room itself was great - it had a fireplace! Never got down to the hot tub, but it looked welcoming too. We were to busy drinking wine and getting to know the other guests and Joy our wonderful hostess. Joy even let one of the guests choose a bottle of wine to open from the library of wines. The breakfast tray delivered to our room was beautiful and delicious too. I should have taken a picture as it was worthy. Walked up and down the beach, just loved it. Hope we can return some day!

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — had to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iflybestdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

We just spent two nights at the O'dysius after spending one night there two weeks ago. (This time we planned to stay one night and just couldn't leave - we were glad our room was available for a second night.) On both occasions, absolutely everything was wonderful! The staff were professional, warm, and hospitable. The entire establishment is impeccably maintained.

We stayed in a deluxe guest room with a balcony facing the ocean. The room was spotless and incredibly inviting. With high-quality mattress, down comforter, and feather pillows, the bed was ultra-comfortable. The room arrangement is well thought out, with a direct ocean view as you recline on the bed or enjoy the sitting area. The jetted tub and fireplace were wonderful perks as well.

Early evening we were treated to wine tasting in the lounge. The staff were cordial and helpful and were generous with multiple complimentary glasses of wine. Cheeses, meats, crackers and other snacks paired perfectly with the wines.

In the morning a continental breakfast was delivered to our room with fresh fruit, hot and cold beverages, muffins and coffee cake. It was excellent and a great start to the day.

The only thing we could improve upon was the WIFI, which was available in the lounge/library. On the first stay it functioned perfectly with a great connection. On our second visit, we were not able to connect to internet through wireless because of a problem with the system. Even in this area, the staff was very responsive, offering to let us use their computer to check our email, etc. until the problem could be corrected.

Our stay at the O'dysius was exceptional. We can hardly wait to go back and would highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ctomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

My wife and I opted to try something different from our usual when we visit the Oregon coast which is to visit Seaside. Hunting around we found The O'dysius and were pleased to find such a little treasure amid all the hotels in Lincoln City.

The hotel is cozy, rooms exceptionally clean and stylishly unique and the staff very welcoming and friendly but not to the point of hovering. They do their best to make you feel welcome.

Within the rooms, the beds and coverings are great. Very comfortable. There are also one-person jetted tubs and enough furniture that you can enjoy the room without feeling like you have to sit on the bed or a broken down chair. Gas fireplaces help with the slight chill that is frequent on the Oregon coast. The rooms are capped off with balconies that have good ocean views, although a small road that has occasional traffic does separate you from the beach. It isn't a big deal and beach access for strolling is a snap. Finally, the hotel includes a continental breakfast that's delivered at the time of your choosing in the morning.

All in all we'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ocean_Loving_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryandColleen, General Manager at Shearwater Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2007
Thank you for your kind words. It is knowing that we have served best people such as yourselves and helped to create a wonderful getaway for the two of you that makes are job so rewarding.
Sincerely,
Cindi Taylor - General Manager
Jana, Joy, and George - Guest Services
Todd and Charli Taylor - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truthlove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

Just an amazing Hotel with fabulous service. People are so sweet, breakfast was fabulous and the room was clean and view was great!

  • Liked — The Breakfast
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

We recently spent one very nice evening at the O'dysius. The room was lovely and all rooms face the ocean! It's the first time a Contintental Breakfast has ever been delivered to our room!! (It is delivered to every room at a time chosen by the occupants). It was very nicely presented and included fresh fruit, pastries and our choices of beverages. The staff was very friendly and courteous and gave excellent recommendations about places to eat. We will go back to this hotel the next time we travel to Lincoln City!

Helpful?
1 Thank dwilhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2005

My wife and I spent 9 days up and down the coast from Canada to San Fran.
I booked what would be considered in most cases 4-5 star places to stay.
We were really looking forward to staying at the O'dysisus as we nearing our
half way point. Although it was not rated quite as high as some other places we stayed, it looked like and costs the same as the others.

Websites can be misleading and well, everyone has an opinion. But I decided to take a chance with the hype and the website description.

As mentioned in other comments, this is an older hotel. It is well kept up, but it older in statue and its obvious when you check in. The staff are amazing. We had a room on the top floor. Our room was very comfortable and clean although the bathroom is older and not quite as modern as others during our trip. The bedroom, was wonderful. However, the view out the window was a bit disappointing. The impression was that we would be overlooking the pacific, and you do......except there is another hotel in front of you as well as a restaurant. As high as we were, you Almost look over them, but the floors below most get a birds eye view of their parking lot.

And, like the comment that was noted on Sept 13? It was noisy. I was looking forward to at least falling asleep with the sliding door ajar and listening to waves lap onto shore during the night in the distance. I was awaked at about midnight to the sounds of a carpet cleaning truck that was below us at the restaurant until 3 or 4am. Along with it came delivery trucks and some sirens in the "other" hotel down below. Just so you don't think I am stupid, I did shut the door, but you could hear through the door although not as loud. But it got hot in our room and it was the only way to cool it down.

Would I stay here again? I can't fairly say. I loved the room, and the staff, but hated the parking, the noise and the fact that I thought we would be on the ocean front. Most likely I would try another place for amount of money this stay cost.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
2.8 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Property: Shearwater Inn
Address: 120 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-3131 (Formerly O'dysius Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shearwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful ocean-view hotel in the heart of Lincoln City. Enjoy beautiful views, spacious rooms, gas fireplaces, free Wi-fi, decks, suites with full kitchens, complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room, daily wine social, and many dog friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing