We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feast for the eyes and the heart”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Anchor Inn
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the first time I stepped into the lobby, I knew I was somewhere special. Each room I've had was filled with personality, history, and no small amount of whimsy and oddity. The folks at the Anchor made me feel so at home that after only three stays, they felt like family. On my first stay someone took an extra moment when cleaning my room to prop a stuffed animal I'd bought in a cute pose on my bed. On my second, someone remembered what kind of creamer I like and brought it out to me before I even asked. By my third, checking in felt like coming home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cindie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Anchor Inn twice, and both times were wonderful. The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are KILLER good, and the rooms are charming and a little old-school, with great touches and very interesting decor.

If you're looking for a basic, bland hotel experience, I'd recommend you stay elsewhere. Instead of generic soap, the Anchor has fabulous little handmade soap bars. Instead of boring decor, you might get lucky enough to find a secret galaxy painted on your bedroom ceiling. :) The Anchor is a place for artists, free spirits, and those who like things with character and charm.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have tubs, but some do. Request one if large quantities of warm water are importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Anthea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reading the reviews I thought this might be a fun place to stay. I booked us for 2 nights in a "two bedroom cabin" . One of the beds is in the front room with the TV, there is no chair so if you want to watch television you will all have to pile on the bed. The other bed is in a room barely bigger than the bed. The beds are uncomfortable, the pillows are flat, the sheets are old. The shower is dark and don't drop the soap because there is not enough room to bend over and pick it up. After being in the room for a half an hour my husband went and cancelled the reservation for our second night. Breakfast was greasy potatoes and eggs. The decor crosses the line from vintage to just plain junky. My advice is to skip the Historic Anchor Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I come from New Zealand and stayed at the inn three years ago with my girlfriend. We loved it so much we brought our husbands this time and they loved it straight away too. I think it is the best kept secret on the coast! You could stay here even in the winter and never have to leave the building - there is so much to look at, there is a place to play cards, a small bar to chill out in with friends - with background music but still allows you to chat!, somewhere for a quiet read, a deck to sit out on with a book and a good wine, a garden to sit in, freshly baked cookies on the mantlepiece, it's close to the beach, handy to a restaurant with good music. The food and the staff are excellent and laid back. If we lived in Oregon we'd be regularly going to the Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank onepu131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a funky place. All the antiques or junk, as you whish to call them. Great place. The breakfast cooked by the owner was superb.
There is a restaurant next door, The Red Barn 101. Great happy hour appetizers and drinks.
No need to drink and drive.
Great experience. I'll stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed at the main building. I loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We love the Anchor Inn! Cute rooms, dog friendly and the staff is warm and friendly. The owners Kip and Candi have put a lot of work in to the place. They now have a great back yard, chickens and a fire pit - it just keeps getting better.

Room Tip: Biggest rooms (1 & 12) are spacious but closer to 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PF_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

2nd time here. Dog friendly. Lots of space and charm. Whole bean coffee in room. Tasty breakfast included. Outstanding collection of nautical artifacts. Short walk to beach. Make sure you check out the back garden. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MtErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.7 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
727 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchor Inn

Address: 4417 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1552
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Anchor Inn is a small inn nestled in Lincoln City's historic Taft District. Steeped in romance, history, and 1940's nostalgia, the inn is being renovated with utmost care to evoke the Oregon Coast experience of a bygone era. We serve complimentary, hot, homemade breakfast every morning. And pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing