We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, and Interesting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Anchor Inn
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Historic Anchor Inn is clean and queit. It is an older facility, and thus is free of the superficial, where-it's-at-now-baby feel of a lot of places. It is close to shopping and the beach. The Anchor is also something of a nautical museum, with displays ranging from photographs and paintings to an entire cabin cruiser. The breakfasts alone are worth spending the night. And to top it off, the staff is freindly without being instrusive or pushy. All in all, staying at the Anchor is like being invited into your favorite relative's home for a few days.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Charming. Beautiful antiques. Cozy, themed rooms. I've stayed here many times and love the quiet ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

if I ever go back to the Oregon coast, The Anchor will be the place to stay!

Room Tip: the room with the piano (can't remember its name or number - see pics) - first floor of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbwire65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is one of those rare and wonderful old-fashioned inns. The owners chat with you. The rooms and public areas are filled with collectibles and antiques, curiosities and just plain fun stuff. My cabin was the Cowgirl cabin, identified by the paintings - all cowgirls in 1950s style paintings. Somehow that set the stage for me as I then wandered up to the main building and indulged -- usually I have a hard-boiled egg and juice -- in the hotel breakfast, a substantial and enticing meal. Don't miss this chance to go back a bit in time to what motels used to be, before they all became "6's", Super 8's and Expresses.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judith-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've stayed at the Anchor Inn several times and have always liked it. The staff is friendly, the food is good and filling (that's why they're always packed come breakfast time) and the Inn itself is quaint and homey. And speaking of the food, if you're there when Kip makes his famous clam chowder, do yourself and favor and be there for dinner. It's so good people come from all the surrounding towns to have some. So, if you're in the area and would like to stay in a cool old historic inn and love good food, stay at the Anchor.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the cabins from personal experience because I've never stayed in one, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Careful not to overlook this 1940s style motor court!

The exterior cabins harken back to an easier, more relaxed time. Travel to Lincoln City for the beaches and amazing views, but stay with Kip at the Anchor!

Each cabin is uniquely and thematically decorated with hand-picked "finds" from estate sales and antique shops in the area or "gifts" from the residents if this picturesque seaside town. The result is breath-taking.

While the plumbing can be cantankerous, the water gets nice and hot on those chilly mornings. They have updated the heating, so you can warm the cabin to your liking.

Step inside the main building for your breakfast and be treated to more ecclectic decor. Kip feeds his guests VERY well.

If you prefer a more modern hotel, there are rooms in the main building. I prefer the cabins myself.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

After reading the reviews we thought how cute, why not. It turned to a do not.Do not stay here. Yes the Inn may be o.k. ( although the room we checked out had a sway back bed) but the cabin was dismal. I really wanted to find this place charming but just couldnt. The old quilt over the thrift store sofa made the whole cabin smell musty , not good if you have allergies or just cant abide icky smells. The shower had no way of getting light to it so one had to shower as if blind. Dangerous.There was no hot water at the kitchen sink and I mean no hot water supply even, only cold. Huh? Pillows are from 10 years ago easy. This wasnt too bad as my husband and I always bring our own but if you have to use them......do not look under the case.Too gross. Kitchen sponge which I wouldnt use on a bet was I can only guess teeming with bacteria. Now yes I am a finicky person but we have stayed in 5 star places and dumps when no choice...........this was on the bottom due to lack of cleanliness and Please update the pillows at least.Price was only $10. less then the very nice room night before at best western across the street.Breakfast is only served 9 am to 10 am and that is way too late.Makes one feel they know that and dont want to have to feed you if possible. Most people that are traveling are long gone by 8 am. We didnt even bother with it.On the up side, people running it were very friendly. Probably great in its hey day but I would skip it now.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.8 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
860 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,813 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
905 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
0.3 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchor Inn

Address: 4417 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1552
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Anchor Inn is a small inn nestled in Lincoln City's historic Taft District. Steeped in romance, history, and 1940's nostalgia, the inn is being renovated with utmost care to evoke the Oregon Coast experience of a bygone era. We serve complimentary, hot, homemade breakfast every morning. And pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing