We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfy, and nicely priced!”
Review of Captain Cook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Cook Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Lincoln City B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfy, and nicely priced!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband, two children (ages 13 and 6), and I stayed here from Aug 12th-18th. The Inn is right off the highway so if traffic noise is bothersome I wouldn't recommend staying here; however, my husband and I require a bit of "white noise" or sound to fall asleep so we actually found it quite lovely.

We stayed in room 7 (King size bed with an annex room/double size bed). The room was very tidy and well organized. The linens were comfortable, the beds had memory foam toppers which was really awesome; although the feather pillows on the king bed would go flat rather fast and made it hard for me to sleep on them.

Our room was equipped with a microwave (saved us money not having to eat out all the time), flat screen t.v. and DVD player (which was really nice to have since there is a Blockbuster video down the street to rent movies from), small fridge, dressers, and small closet.

The location of the inn was incredibly convenient and close to food (grocery and restaurants), the beach, laundromat, antiques, shops, etc. The grounds were well taken care of and the staff was friendly and attentive.

The room did get a bit muggy/warm and we wished we'd brought a fan so I suggest that to anyone who may stay during the summer.

Also, anyone staying in the summer (I heard from a local that August is the busiest month) may consider that the highway is VERY busy and we had to sometimes go kind of out of our way to "turn around" since we could only make right turns out onto the highway between the hours of about 11-8. This wasn't a huge deal considering how much we liked the inn but it may inconvenience others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeMustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
24
29
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

clean linens and bed spreads . nice staff . operated by a live in couple who run things . . the central location is great for seeing just about everything lincoln city and area has to offer . i would recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a safe and quiet nights sleep .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tristin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stayed here for a weekend and chose it based on the price. The economy room has all the basics and is right next to the yard, which is nice. Downside was the room was near the boiler and there was a constant hum, but we managed to sleep through it. Hotel is a short walk to the beach, near a supermarket and the Blackfish Grill, a great place to eat. All in all a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James9145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stopped here by chance @ 9:30 last night with my friend and grand daughter. Only room available had king sized bed and pull out sofa, with full kitchen. Price was dropped because we arrived so late! Nice, unexpected perk. Room was delightful, homey, had very clean, but non sterile feel to it.
The pillow top bed and pillows were the most comfortable that we have encountered on our many travels! We had a very quiet unit in the back where the view outside was of lovely green lawn, beautifully blooming hydrangeas. Friend went for run on the beach, just a couple of blocks away and returned just so happy. Toiletry products and coffee were brand were high quality. Hate to leave but must proceed north ward on our travels! Would come come beck, without a doubt!
I hope those who had negative experience during stated remodel will come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramblinroze_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was half the price of most of the other hotels in town and had a really nice little room. The bed, linens and pillows were all soft and comfy. My only complaint would be that the windows don't open and on a warm day it was very stuffy and hot. I would definitely stay here again though, just bring a fan.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Randi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was such a suprise we were just sight seeing up the coast so didn't really plan on staying any one place. This was the nicest ,cleanest and most friendly place we stayed on our whole trip I reccomend it to anyone wh will listen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmejustme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved the room...It had been refurbished. The tile work in the bathroom was beautiful. Just a short walk to the beach. The room was clean and the staff was very accomidating and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a nice room on a cheaper budget. We stayed in the end room near the road and had no problem sleeping. Ammenities(food and stores) could have been closer....but all in all a nice stay.

Room Tip: End room near the road was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
993 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashley Inn and Suites
Ashley Inn and Suites
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#17 of 36 in Lincoln City
352 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Inn

Property: Captain Cook Inn
Address: 2626 NE Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4423
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 1940s motor court that captures a kinder and more gracious era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Cook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing