We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”

Dory Cove Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 106 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
US
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We popped in for a steak special and a cod plate after seeing the menu in our hotel lobby. The drive was a very short one and we were hungry after a long swim and soak. This little spot is casual but has a nice, cozy feel inside. The service was friendly and prompt and our food was better than expected. Large servings at a bargain price. Fit our needs nicely, we left full and happy. Steak was well prepared for a budget plate special and the cod was grilled nicely. Both had many sides from which to choose. A good choice for an inexpensive, family style, casual meal.
There are other places for a couple looking for a quiet or romantic meal, this one is for casual convenience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oregonbasedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    162
    91
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't recommend this place for crab.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Had sautéed crab that had to have been previously frozen, lacked flavor and was rubbery. Such a shame for the OR coast. Was a very expensive dish and was terrible. Waitress was very friendly but food, not very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expected better.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had the fish-n-chips special. I had clam chowder and wife had salad. The fries were very good and plenty of them. The fish was done right, but we both experienced a moldy taste in them. Although they were edible, it did not give me a feeling that they were washed or refrigerated properly. Clam chowder tasted good but lacked substance...mostly soup with hardly any potato or clams in it. Salad was good. I was disappointed overall as I had heard good things about this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST CLAM CHOWDER”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Actually went to Dory Cove as a second choice. We were specifically looking for a good bowl of clam chowder, and they did not disappoint! Service was excellent and quick. Bowl of chowder was large and delicious with cheese bread on the side. All the food that came out of the kitchen looked and smelled wonderful. We will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Casual and Delish!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Everything was Delish!! I had the grilled halibut with house salad. Both were fantastic! The halibut was done to PERFECTION! And the salad was equally as good. If you want a meal that won't break the bank but tastes like it should, try the Dory. And a kudo to the staff. They were attentive, but not overbearing. The hostess was terrific (and it was her first weekend). I look forward to having another meal here in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank highndryinNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dory Cove Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dory Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing