We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our new favorite restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dory Cove Restaurant

Dory Cove Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved this little diner! The food was incredibly good. The best fish and chips and clam chowder we ever ate!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    129
    74
    48
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sad but True...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I previously reviewed this restaurant when times were economically better but now Dory Cove has seem to have fallen on hard times. The prices were always more than what they should be for this area, especially with all the fresh fish and crab available. In a community where everyone knows each other, they should be doing much better pricewize with the local fishing community. Now it seems that they charge for everything, even the bread, and the food has fallen down in quality. Something is amiss here with the owners and I'm thinking something personal may be getting in the way. Unfortunately the poor quality, high prices and lack of good customer service has gone on for some time. Where is Gordon Ramsay when you need him?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cyndyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Lunch with another couple, each had different plate and it was great. Good flavor,not overlooked, and plenty to eat. We had good service and water was good. Some places have poor water but here was good and constantly filled. One minor problem is getting out of parking lot due to heavy traffic. This didn't affect the quality of the place.

Helpful?
Thank cgbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This use to be an affordable and very good restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I realize the time are tough, however market price all over your menu, in a small hole in the wall dive like restaurant is no good. We stopped in for lunch and decided to just have chowder because the sandwiches were between $10-12 dollars each. That would be a club sandwich for 11.95!! WOW!! Not a good value. Before the old restaurant burned down, Dory's Cove had the best halibut fish and chips around at an extremely reasonable price. I suppose times change. I wouldn't recommend it if your on a budget, which lets face it, who isn't these days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonflygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“from service food and management this was worse than any place I have eaten at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After being seated we waited while 3groups were seated and their order taken before ours. Our chowder was brought hot but with a dry skin on top from sitting out. The cod was so greasy one piece totally saturated 2 napkins with grease . Unable to eat such greasy food.the waiter never took a drink order so we were stuck with water. Which was the highlight of the meal. Not once did the waiter so back up until he brought the check. Upon paying we were at first short changed when brought to her attention she attempted to give me the $4 while attempting to take back a twenty oh righty then can we say learn to count. I asked to speak to a mgr but was told he was busy and she walked off. I called and asked for mgr only to be told he was busy but would return my call. I called back. 2 hrs later same answer. Called back at apx 6:30 only to be told mgr left but someone would call me right.back. well its now 9 and guess what no call. Please do not eat here unless you want disrespectful rude service and horrible food

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank milpoml1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dory Cove Restaurant also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Dory Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing