We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant should be in the city's top10!”
Review of MIST at Surftides

MIST at Surftides
Ranked #25 of 106 Restaurants in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This restaurant should be in the city's top10!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were referred by the Owner's of Put 'n Bat to enjoy at meal at The Mist and we are so glad we did. Great modern atmosphere, fantastic service and every thing we ordered was DELISH! Fabulous value for a fabulous dining experience. Our family of 7 will be back! The Mist should be listed as one of the top 10 restaurants in Lincoln City.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    122
    61
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food but short staffed”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Surftides shows lot of promise but the staff shortage is cause for concern. You enter the restaurant and wait to be seated but no one is there to greet you. A server doubles as hostess and they are spread too thin. Although your wait for the food is extra long, it is all made from scratch and expertly done. For dinner I had the bacon wrapped prawns and my wife, the lobster mac and cheese. Both entres were delicious. My only fault with the servers was that they couldn't provide attentive service because they had too big an area to cover. And there was lipstick on my coffee cup one morning at breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tbierdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quick Sunday Breaky!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I went into MIST because we wanted something yummy for breakfast with an oceanview. We went in not expecting a lot, but were very happy. I reviewed this restaurant on here before we went. I was optimistic. There was a full breakfast menu as well as a buffet. We usually are not into buffets, but opted for that option,as they seemed to continually refill and tend to it. Plus, we wanted to eat and get on! Great choice! For a buffet, it was very good, not dry and servers were very attentive. Would and will go again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food Poison”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

After a long travel day we thought we would take advantage of the onsite restaurant. We should have known better based on the cleanliness of our room.

From the outside it is nice looking from afar. When you get up close there is garbage, empty beer cans and cigarette butts lining the entryway. When we entered the waiting area was clean and nice. It took about 5 minutes for someone to acknowledge us even though we were passed by probably every employee working. When they did say something, it was "it's going to be like 15 minutes cause we're slammed" and then they ran off. We caught the next employee that was running by and asked if we could sit and wait. He said go ahead and ran off. We grabbed some menus and sat ourselves at a table that was cleared off. There was probably 6 people working but only 6 tables including ours. Most of the tables were dirty and there was food all over the floor. At this point we considered going elsewhere but we had traveled several hours, had never been to Lincoln City before and since it was a weekend figured that they had just gotten busy so we stayed. Unfortunately it was the wrong choice.

When our waiter finally came out of the kitchen, he said "have you had enough time to decide?" We chuckled and ordered. It was the oddest experience with a waiter we have ever had. We had to ask for water. When the food came we had to ask for silverware and napkins. The food was presented very nicely but the burger was not fresh ground like the menu says, it was way undercooked with a chunk of ice in the middle and the fries were raw in the middle. The oysters were deep fried and not pan fried and came with this strange pink sauce that soaked into the breeding and made them so soggy that we had to remove it. Yuck!

As if the food and service weren't bad enough, halfway through our meal the house musician started playing. There was music playing from a speaker above us from some radio station and he cranked it up and started pounding some compilation out. It was entertaining, but it was so loud that we could not speak to each other. As if that wasn't bad enough, he then started calling people up to sing. It was live karaoke. Unfortunately, they were terrible. We actually began looking around for hidden cameras thinking we might be on one of those shows where they fool people and record their reactions. At that point we just wanted to leave and go to a fast food place or something. But had to wait for our waiter to appear. I think in an hour we heard every person in the place sing which was a shame because the guy behind the keyboard was actually quite entertaining for the one song he did sing even though it was way too loud.

After asking to talk to the manager, supervisor, lead server, chef, lead cook, etc. and told that there was none working, we gave up, paid and left.

About 30 min after leaving we both became very ill. Undoubtedly it was from our under & strange cooked food.

If I had to sum it all up into one phrase I would say this: Avoid this place like the plague!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank BoccaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food, friendly service, come when they're not busy”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

During a vacation in Lincoln City, we came here on two different nights. I was very impressed with the atmosphere. The lights were a little dimmed, candles were on every table, there was a beautiful view of the ocean through huge windows, and the layout was very conducive to feeling like there was plenty of space between tables. I had the ginger chicken noodle soup and green salad. The soup was very good, and they gave me a sample first to make sure I'd like it. My husband had some sort of chicken dish that had lemon sauce with capers. He really enjoyed it. The second night, we both had salmon bow-tie pasta, which was also very good! They also give a free kids' meal for each regular meal. The first night, I was very happy with the service. We got all of our main course meals about the same time. The second however, the kids were done with there meals before any of the adults got there food, and we were almost done eating before we got our beverages. It was much busier the second night, so maybe shoot for going when they aren't very busy. There a lounge area as well, and it looked very nice, very relaxing lighting, comfortable looking seating, and a piano.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MIST at Surftides also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to MIST at Surftides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing