We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small motel in Lincoln City”
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great small motel in Lincoln City”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beach access across the street where the Siletz River meets the Pacific. Mo's is directly across the street. Despite the "busy" area, our room was quiet. We enjoyed the whirlpool in our room, but the jets are very noisy, and we used them sparingly so as not to disturb other guests. Otherwise, the room was great, with all the amenities we needed plus a private deck with a view of the ocean. Continental breakfast is mostly packaged food items, but we found it convenient. Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, we recommend the Looking Glass for couples seeking a comfortable place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    257
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
386
628
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Looking Glass Inn offers reasonably appointed rooms for a fair price in a great location. The staff were friendly and professional upon check-in and check-out. Being able to walk across the street to Mo's, the pier over the bay, or down the beach to the ocean, makes for a great location, in the Historic Taft District portion of Lincoln City.

The room was very clean and spacious, though the decor seemed slightly dated (90s). The beds were very comfortable, which is a plus considering so many hotels struggle in this key area.

Only caveat to share would be the particular room we stayed in (#117) was not the best, as you could hear noises from the on-demand hot water heather system units on the outside wall of this room. While it didn't keep us awake at night, it did disrupt some of the charm and ambiance. Nonetheless, we plan to return to the Looking Glass to try a different room next time.

Room Tip: Shy away from room #117, as it doesn't have much a of a view and you can hear noises from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed with my dog for 3 nights in 201. There is no ocean view but there is a nice view of Siletz Bay and you can see the harbor seals sleeping on the beach in the distance. The hotel was very clean, the maid service was perfect and the room was light and bright. The bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was nice, bagels, pastry, cereal, coffee/tea/juice. They really cater to dog people with a nice basket with bowls, sheets and towels. There was a very nice bbq area and also a great potty area for the dogs. Tiki's is a burger place a short walk up the street and Mo's is also close.

Room Tip: 201 gives you a view of the bay but the stairs to the room are steep if that is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a get away. Wonderful place for pets, and the staff was exceptional. Will definitely stay again. Being a pet friendly motel you would have never known, the room was light and airy and did not smell of pet odor. Thank you LGI☆☆☆☆☆

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Looking Glass Inn for a weekend. Service was great. The complimentary breakfast was great. Nice area for walking the dogs. Room was clean. There is no restaurant directly linked to the hotel. There is a Mo's Restaurant across the street, which is a super short walk. The view is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen facing the bay, it is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndiPinoy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visit Lincoln City pretty often and stay at various hotels that allow dogs. This was the nicest dog friendly hotel that we have stayed in in Lincoln City. The rooms are nice, they allow dogs of all sizes ( a huge plus when you have a big dog), and the rooms were clean and spacious. The only complaint that I had was that there were no ocean views. But the beach access was great and it is located in a great part of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Lincoln City and 4 nights in Cannon Beach during spring break. We had not traveled with our dog prior to this trip. The inn was very welcoming. The other guests were also friendly. We felt comfortable being there with our pet, more so than our place in Cannon Beach which advertised as being pet-friendly. The room set-up was ideal. We like eating in for some of our meals so having a full kitchen was a nice bonus. It was clean and looked to be recently remodeled. We like being right on the ocean and our room overlooked Mo's and the bay, which is why I stated satisfactory views. Overall, great place and would definitely stay there again when traveling with our dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,660 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
830 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 36 in Lincoln City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Property: Looking Glass Inn
Address: 861 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing