We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Paradise, ohh Owners as well!”
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have been going to the Looking Glass Inn for years and they have never been anything less then amazing. From the dog oriented amenities, to the doggie basket, this hotel makes any dog and owner welcome. The rates can't be beat, the location is key, on the beach, let me repeat on the beach. The room showed no evidence of past guests or past pets. The suites have full kitchen with all amenities. We made breakfast and dinner, and enjoyed the relaxation of having breakfast in bed. Excellent hotel. We make our reservations whenever we go to Lincoln City. No other hotel compares.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Looking Glass Inn. We love to come every couple of months and last year had our family reunion here. We're always treated like family rather than customers. The units are always "white glove" clean and every effort is made by the staff to insure we have a wonderful and relaxing time. They even have beach blankets to borrow if you just want to relax on the beach! Our dog is welcome here and many of the other guests bring their dogs, but the room never smells "doggy". That says a lot about the cleaning crew!

I've been coming to this hotel since I was a kid and I'm now retired. It has changed names and owners several times, but it has never been as well run as it is with this management! Thanks!

Room Tip: Our favorite room is 209. Great view of the bay, cozy fireplace. Perfect for the two of us and our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Everyone at this beautiful bay front hotel are kind, friendly, helpful, caring, and very welcoming. They love dogs! My boyfriend and I don't bring any of our 6 dogs when we go though because we like to stay in the hot tub rooms with a fireplace and balcony. They have the cleanest, fluffiest bath robes and towels and the bed is like sleeping on a cloud and they have the absolute most comfortable pillows we have ever slept on! They have a furnished kitchen and a market two small blocks away where we get our fresh fish and exotic fruits. The restaurant "Moe's" right across the street from the hotel is awful- don't eat there. Their "clam chowder" is watery and plain; Campbell's clam chowder is 50 times better than Moe's. Utilize the convenient kitchen and cook a quick fresh seafood meal! We've been going to this wonderful hotel since our first anniversary, this is our 6th year! It's so romantic to be able to walk to the beach and find heart-shaped agates, go back to the room for a warm soak and a bubbly toast and be able to watch the sun set from the balcony. All in all, we love this place!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The perfect place to watch the winter storms. We stayed in room 301 and sat next to the cozy fire and watched the wind and wave show in the bay and ocean. The room was spotless, the small bathroom had a nice rain shower head and the whirlpool in the main room was a nice luxury. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were helpful and looking out for our every comfort. We are not dog people but if I had a dog, it would also love this place. It looked like at least half of the guests who stayed here had dogs but there was less barking than I hear in my own neighborhood. I brought a few things to prepare in our kitchenette but the breakfast of instant oatmeal, assorted cereals, pre-packaged breakfast breads, coffee, tea, cocoa and fresh fruit was more than adequate. We stayed an extra day and didn't break the bank! We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenjolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at several hotels in Lincoln City and wanted to stay somewhere we had not been before. We have always stayed at hotels located on the beach and this was our first time being a little farther inland. We didn't like not having a close up, full view of the ocean. This of course would be our fault, we knew where the hotel was located when we booked it! The hotel itself was really nice. The front desk staff were really friendly when we checked in and when we rented movies. The free breakfast was nice as well. We stayed in room 217 and the view of the Bay and Ocean was nice from our deck, but just not close enough to the ocean for our taste. The rooms were super clean and the lighting was good. The fireplace was nice and so was the jacuzzi tub! The walk to the Bay or Ocean is super close. All in all, this is a really great hotel, but we won't stay there again because of the view.

Room Tip: Pick a Whirlpool room, they have decks that face the Ocean and Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Looking glass inn is a quaint hotel off the beaten path. This hotel is 30 rooms tucked behind busy 101 on the beach side so it is incredibly quiet and you cannot hear traffic. Looking glass has easy access to the beach (just across the parking lot) and the two queen room was incredibally clean and modern. For stormy days a fireplaces, flat screen TV, and DVD player are all available in the rooms. They do rent current DVDs but be prepared to pay $4.00 and upscale services like spas or restaurants are not on site but you can find many close by.

Our stay was during a major snow and wind storm but we never lost power and just enjoyed the fury of the unpredictable weather. I hardly have high recommendations for a hotel but Looking glass was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammin077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have stayed at many hotels over the years and my only regret is not finding this place years sooner. By far the nicest place in Lincoln City I have stayed in. Very reasonable for how nice it is. I have already referred this place to everybody I have talked to and already know one group that is going over tomorrow. Very friendly staff and awesome continental breakfast. thanks for the the enjoyable stay, I will be back!

Room Tip: We looked at a few rooms there and the rooms with the balconies were my favorite, not to say the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
826 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,781 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,081 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Address: 861 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing