We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hideaway during a stormy day!”
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Beautiful hideaway during a stormy day!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Looking glass inn is a quaint hotel off the beaten path. This hotel is 30 rooms tucked behind busy 101 on the beach side so it is incredibly quiet and you cannot hear traffic. Looking glass has easy access to the beach (just across the parking lot) and the two queen room was incredibally clean and modern. For stormy days a fireplaces, flat screen TV, and DVD player are all available in the rooms. They do rent current DVDs but be prepared to pay $4.00 and upscale services like spas or restaurants are not on site but you can find many close by.

Our stay was during a major snow and wind storm but we never lost power and just enjoyed the fury of the unpredictable weather. I hardly have high recommendations for a hotel but Looking glass was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammin077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    260
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
393
640
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have stayed at many hotels over the years and my only regret is not finding this place years sooner. By far the nicest place in Lincoln City I have stayed in. Very reasonable for how nice it is. I have already referred this place to everybody I have talked to and already know one group that is going over tomorrow. Very friendly staff and awesome continental breakfast. thanks for the the enjoyable stay, I will be back!

Room Tip: We looked at a few rooms there and the rooms with the balconies were my favorite, not to say the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I loved this place. Seals in the bay, ocean a few steps over, nice staff and very clean rooms. Not only that, they upgraded me for no extra charge, to a fabulous, best view, whirltub room! It was off season, my birthday. So I got a second night, and she still didn't charge me more. So awesome.

I don't have a dog, but it's very, very dog friendly, too. I see they get baskets with treats and blankets, bowl and other stuff for your furry pal. It made me wish I HAD a dog. I will definitely come back. And you can't even tell it's a dog friendly place, because the room was spotless with NO doggie smell.

Room Tip: 304 was awesome. The three story building. Balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our whirlpool room was clean and updated, fireplace was awesome and perfect view of the bay. Friendly staff and overall excellent experience!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a great time staying at The Looking Glass! My wife and I brought our less than year old puppy to stay in one of the dog approved rooms. We somewhat feared those rooms would be less than clean and have a funny odor, but it was nothing of the sort! The room was cleaner and much nicer than most hotel rooms that I been in! The staff was very helpful and considerate. Everything was great, and the location is unmatched. Everything you want in for a nice family stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed in room 201, probably best in the house. One bedroom and huge living room plus kitchenette. Perfect ocean view with seals out front. Loved this place and will come back. Not fancy but clean and comfy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I came to Lincoln City to just get away for a couple days. We found the Looking Glass Inn both affordable and pleasant. We booked a "Jacuzzi Room" that had a fireplace and an ocean view as well! The room was very well kept and the staff was helpful and friendly. We will stay here in the future as well as spreading the word to our friends and family about this jewel on the coast!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,688 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
839 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#11 of 35 in Lincoln City
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Property: Looking Glass Inn
Address: 861 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing