We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place that is extremely dog friendly”
Review of Looking Glass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Looking Glass Inn
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 2, 2011

They emphasize the dog-friendly aspect, offering a doggie welcome basket when we checked in. They just asked that we put the special sheets they provided on furniture and bed if the dog would be on it. My wife is actually allergic to a lot of dogs, but there wasn't much of a lingering scent of past dogs that we've encountered elsewhere.

We had a second floor 1 bedroom with a view of the bay. It was very clean and nearly new. Decently equipped kitchenette. We enjoyed people-watching the folks parking and going to the beach, as well as walking on the beach ourselves.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was easy to walk to nearby shops, restaurants and grocery store.

The continental breakfast was basic. The muffins and danish were prepackaged from Sara Lee; fresh, local products would have been nice.

We'll be back the next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Beware of jacuzzis next door. see the three-star ratings. We didn't have to deal with that, as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

Cannot recommend this wonderful property enough. Celebrated two birthdays. Mine and our dog Lucy. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests. Friendly check-in assistance and welcome gifts for me and Lucy in the room. Stayed in room #203 overlooking Siletz Bay and never got tired of the view from the fishermen (and women) in the morning hours, to the everchanging tide level, to the sea lions, birds and constant parade of dogs along the beach and street and the beautiful sunsets. All this being right across the street from Mo's, one of the most famous restaurants on the Oregon coast. Truly relaxing, inspiring, entertaining and filling, The perfect weekend. Even the weather cooperated. Thanks to the entire team at Looking Glass Inn that helped to make our stay memorable....for all the right reasons. My wife and I say "thank you" and Lucy says "Woof!"
David & Marlene Simpson
Bend, Oregon

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The hotel is great and the staff was outstanding. Great location and view. Very pet friendly and just a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sterag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel, which was particularly attractive because they allowed pets - we were missing our dog, and we got to spend time with many visiting four legged guests. The room was spacious, had a huge king sized bed, kitchenette, and a whirlpool tub - the bed was very comfortable - place was quiet - absolutely the best value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicPEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My family of 4 stayed here in August of 2010 and had a wonderful time. The room was huge with 2 queen beds a large living area, small frig and a microwave. We enjoyed their breakfast every morning which we took back to our room. The view of the ocean out our window was great. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and sites to see. We walked on the beach every moring and talked with the local fishermen, which was very relaxing. Our kids, ages 13 and 15, thought the place was great even though it did not have a pool! Our youngest daughter thinks every hotel should have a pool or it is just not cool. We planned to stay 3 nights and ended up staying 4. Just a wonderful experience even for a family without a pet. We really didn't hear dogs barking, which we were worried about this being a very pet friendly hotel. All in all a great place to hang your hat for a few days and enjoy the staff and the coast. We would stay here again in a heart beat. Thank you so much for the wonderful time we had.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I and our little dog stayed one night at the Looking Glass Inn and really enjoyed everything about it. The hot tub was wonderful and the king size bed was the best I've ever slept on. I cant wait for our next time to get away. I highly recommend it to anyone. Very nice people too and they treat your dog like part of the family. Thank you again.

Room Tip: 118 is the room we stayed very large and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westoverinns, Manager at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

At the Looking Glass we all adore this review and appreciate it very much! We must state that our Whirlpool Suites are not pet friendly rooms but we have made exceptions under certain circumstances, for a 1st floor suite for folks traveling with a pet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband, 3 month old son and 50lb husky stayed there. The staff was very friendly, professional and welcoming of each one of our family members! The inn was very clean and even though it was dog friendly, our room didn't smell or appear to have dogs in it at all! Conveniently right across from the beach and had a great view. The continental breakfast was good. The only complaints I have would be that there was no balcony, which our dog would have loved to sit on. Not sure if that was just that particular room or all the dog friendly rooms, but it would have been nice since he likes to sit outside a lot!

Room Tip: The one bedroom on the second floor closest to the ocean was our room, and was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeepgirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.9 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
896 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,802 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looking Glass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Address: 861 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln City
#3 Green Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $108 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Cape Cod style inn with beautiful ocean and bay views at the South end of Lincoln City. Relax a variety of rooms and suites some with Whirlpool tubs and decks, and others with separate bedrooms and kitchens. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi, and easy beach access. Many dog friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looking Glass Hotel Lincoln City
Looking Glass Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing