We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time with a great view and wonderful staff!”
Review of Ester Lee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ester Lee Motel
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have stayed at the Ester Lee numerous times, and when our beloved black labrador was still alive, she could accompany us to one of the pet friendly cottages and always received a special treat. The Ester Lee has both cottages and motel rooms, I believe the latter were built in the 70s, and they all have a very vintage feel that is like a step back in time. The views are amazing. If you are seeking granite countertops in the kitchens, updated whirlpool tubs, or luxury amenities, go elsewhere, but if you want an affordable true sense and appreciation of the coast, go no further. And huge kudos to the caring, customer friendly staff. They have all gone the extra mile to accommodate, whether it was temporarily malfunctioning satellite tv reception, the cell phone charger we accidentally left behind, or a special occasion they recognized-- they have always gone above and beyond, always cheerful even when super busy. Going to the Ester Lee feels like going home. And they have also improved the comfort factor with new beds--way to go!

Room Tip: Motel rooms to the north have better wi fi reception if that is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originaloregongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 856 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

The view is unsurpassed, and the beach walks are phenomenal if you don't mind a very short, steep hike back to the motel. This was our third stay at the Ester Lee, and as always, it was impeccably clean. The front desk staff are warm and welcoming, and the pet-friendly rooms are greatly appreciated. A few minor concerns keep us from rating this as excellent. The bed needs to be retired! We love the convenience and experience of cooking in the facility, and the kitchen is very well-stocked with everything we need - except for dish soap. As we were cleaning up AFTER eating, we realized that the dish soap had been extremely diluted with water (our family had two units and the same situation existed in both units)...made us wonder how well any dishes could have been washed by previous guests. The staff aims to please, so we do believe these issues will be resolved before our next stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Older motel with fairly large rooms. The Ester Lee also has cottages to rent. Beautiful view of the ocean for watching the waves or the sunset from your room. Room has 2 lounge chairs that are soft, a working table with 2 chairs. a short credenza, and a microwave and refrigerator. The heat is from the fireplace, so I don't think you can watch the fireplace unless the thermostat is set high. The bed was firm and comfortable. Front office is very helpful and has several menus for local restaurants. The motel is on the south end of Lincoln City so it is 2-3 miles to most of the restaurants. The Blackfish Cafe is a more expensive restaurant, but has excellent fresh seafood. Dinners range from $20-$25. The Wildflower Cafe on the north end of town is very good for a relaxing breakfast. If you sit in the back room, you might see ducks on the pond or a deer in the trees.
If you want a good affordable place to stay, the Ester Lee Motel would be a good choice. For larger families or extended stays, the cottages might meet your needs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in a pet friendly studio, room 116. The room in nicer than the pictures show. The bathroom is updated and VERY clean. The carpets were freshly shampooed and everything was just very clean. The view is awesome. We got there just in time to watch the sunset over the ocean from comfort of the room. The beach is just a short walk down the hill and there are tidepools just below the hotel to look at. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room had had everything we needed, including lots of extra bedding and kitchen wares. The only downside is the bed was very firm and we prefer a softer mattress. The dog area is clean and humerous. Clean up supplies are stocked and ready to use. We will definitly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was 5 years old the first time my family stayed here. Now 60 years later, those of us still able to travel spend at least one long weekend a year. We invite friends when it is just my husband and me and share the apartment and cost. Beautiful views overlooking the ocean. Clean accommodations. Well stocked kitchen. Friendly staff always willing to help. An ongoing plan for updating as needed.

Room Tip: If you prefer the more modern, familiar style of room, get a room in the newer section. If you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My partner and I loved our stay here. Of course the view was excellent and the wood burning fireplace with lots of chopped wood provided made for a very romantic getaway. The full kitchen was great to have too. It was like a little home away from home. And the evening staff was so friendly and helpful. My only regret is that to get to the beach it was a very steep hard walk. Unfortunately we couldn't do it from the Esther Lee.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I've been taking mini-vacations at Ester Lee in Lincoln City for the last 25 years, and my parents stayed there before I started. Get a room in the cottages. Not your luxury, modern sort of place, but homey, good kitchenettes, great views and beach at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: 200-level cottages are most private, quiet. The newer hotel portion also has less highway noise but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
3.4 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
876 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,183 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ester Lee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ester Lee Motel

Address: 3803 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1640
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $95 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ester Lee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ester Lee Motel, a Lincoln City landmark, has been a vacation destination on the Central Oregon Coast for families for generations. Each room has a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. We have cottages and Suites that sleep up to seven people. Many of these units have a full kitchen and a fireplace in the living area. We are pet friendly and allow pets in most of our cottages. “Ahh… What You Can See From The Ester Lee” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ester Lee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Lee Hotel Lincoln City
Ester Lee Lincoln City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing