We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time to family owned place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eleanor's Undertow Takeout

Eleanor's Undertow Takeout
Ranked #3 of 9 Dessert in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“First time to family owned place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We fairly often go to Taft, cause we spend 3 or 4 weeks per year in Depoe Bay, but normally if we eat out we go to Mos, which is across the street. As we parked to go into Mos wife saw a "halibut fish and chips" sign in window. She said let's check it out. We did. We split an order, it was excellent. we will be going back

We had not known it was a family operation, going for many years. we were there about 2PM so had good chance to visit with family member. She said her mother still works. I'll bet it is a good place to get a milk shake. though we did not.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for ice cream and sometimes frsh cobbler.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is right around the corner from our fav orite place to stay, "Looking Glass Inn." Those nights when you don't feel like driving or getting into a car, this fitts the bill. Basic food, burgers, etc. But they have grat ice cream, and sometimes, if Eleanor is up to it, she makes a fantastic fruit cobbler. Try it ith ice cream.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
232 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Much more than just ice cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed next door at the Looking Glass Inn and found this delightful little restaurant right next door. They have ice cream, burgers, chicken sandwiches etc, they sell souvenirs and also have some video games for the kids. It was fun to look around the store then settle at the window seat and people watch while enjoying some delicious ice cream! After visiting here my husband and I seriously thought of asking if they would like to sale the place. What a wonderful location!
You can also rent crab cages and stuff there also and go crabbing right across the street!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrvlJunkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small, unassuming and easy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was right next door to our motel. We wanted a quick lunch--nothing too heavy. There were plenty of options and the price was right. I just wish I could have gone back for a chocolate malt later, but they close early.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank grcCamanoIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“A family attraction in its own right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

A find for a family looking for a quick bite and ice cream in Lincoln City! Located on the slightly ramshackle side on SW 51st in the Taft beachfront (the definitely non-Mo's side), it's a corner cafe with burgers, fish and chips, and ice cream. Half of the space is seating at small tables. The other half, behind gift shelves, has pool tables and arcade games. You order at the counter. No alcohol served,very welcoming to kids.

The clam chowder is outstanding - light and imbued with garlic and bacon. The fish and chips looked great but I was in the mood for a cheeseburger which was perfectly good and a bargain at about $5. You dress the burger yourself at the counter - be sure to add the sweet pickles!

The same family has run it for over 30 years. They're extremely friendly and proud of their business.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleanor's Undertow Takeout also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Eleanor's Undertow Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing