We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this little motel”
Review of Interstate 8 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Interstate 8 Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lakeview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is always clean and well stocked. And the people are always nice. It is just a warm, comfortable place to stay when we are traveling north to Oregon in the spring and south to Arizona in the winter.
Thanks Motel 8 See u in the fall!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

While travelling home from our vacation we were travelling through Lakeview, OR when we were involved in an accident (yes, it was my error!!). This motel was recommended by a local gentleman who had heard that most folks were happy with it and that it was clean! We knew we would need a place for several nights as the repairs would at least take a week and this motel seemed to satisfy our needs. No in-room coffee, but coffee was available in the office every morning with donuts. Wi-Fi was offered, although it was rather hard to receive when we were in an upstairs room. When we needed wi-fi, we would go to the top of the stairwell (inside and covered) and the wi-fi would work quite well. The rooms were clean, and all items inside the room worked fine. There was plenty of hot water, and we used the small refrigerator nearly each day. The beds were comfortable and the outside noise was nearly non-existent. We arrived at this town (nearly 100 miles from any other town in Oregon) during their annual fair so the room price nearly doubled to $96.00 for the few days that it was in town. Although we did not want to pay that much for the room, we could understand it as it is one of the main events that occur in this small town of about 2,000. The remainder of our stay was at a much lower rate ($56.00). We found Pam, the resident manager one of the BEST we have ever encountered at a small hotel. She was an amazing help to us as she possessed so much knowledge about "attractions" in the area. At a glance, it looks like there is nothing to do, but after speaking to her, we were kept busy each moment we were there. Thank you, PAM!!! Although the town is small, there are many options for eating. The bakery/restaurant across the street had just reopened.During the 8 days we were in the town, we did find that the patrons were really visiting in larger numbers so maybe they had things going better. One unique meal we had was at a local meat market which sells meats, micro brewed beers (if you are into those things), etc., and during the weekend does a great "outdoor" meal that is much like a chuckwagon meal with brisket, bbq chicken, and ribs with wonderful baked beans, great and wonderful salads and to top it off they make home made ice cream sandwiches. This was within walking distance of our motel and once again, we have Pam to thank for this wonderful meal!! The best meal we had probably was at the nearby Deli/Antique, the Happy Horse, I believe. The day we were there we had their wonderful Creamy Potato Sausage Soup (yummy), a sandwich and a drink -- for a very reasonable price. Another great place on the edge of town is the Dinner Bell....great food at reasonable prices...frequented by locals and the restaurant also sells its own bread....looked great!!
This motel was our home for eight nights (the other nights we took off and visited other areas of Oregon) and although not the fanciest of places, served our needs in a wonderful way. The laundry was just across the street and we used it at least on two occasions....not a fancy place, and a little expensive but it served our needs just fine. The town has a few shopping experiences to enjoy, and there are quail that seem to take over the streets at night....and while we were there we saw deer in quite large numbers within the city limits. If you have to be stranded in a small town, get stranded here....we cannot overstate the friendliness of the folks here ---- Thanks to everyone in Lakeview, Oregon....a nice small town that lies literally at the bottom of a mountain......

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floor close to the office. The upstairs room we initially had didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thayertravelingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

On our trip across country we carry most of what we need, including breakfast. We appreciated the refrigerator with decent sized freezer to refreeze our ice packs. Plugs are in somewhat short supply for our recharging needs. There is no clock. Clean, but carpeting worn in places. Air conditioner a bit difficult to regulate. Either too cold or too hot. Finally opted for too cold with covers on. A/C turns on and off all night and can disturb sleep. An interesting town with a Safeway and Radio shack.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Treehugger14625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A good deal of deferred maintenance, but the entire place is clean and well kept, quiet and safe. Much better than the noisy, crowded, bikers drinking in the parking lot, Best Western down the street. 1/2 price the Best Western as well.
Not a huge chain either, privately owned by Lakeview locals. I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First of all and most importantly this place is clean and when it comes to motel/hotel rooms that's by far the number one consideration. That said, I usually wake up somewhat early when I travel and like to have coffee and read my home paper online. Coffee is available in the office at 7:00 AM but I was up a bit after 5:00 so had to go "caffiene-less" for nearly 2 hours. Because of that, it's not likely I'd stay here again. If coffee isn't important to you, it's a good value as well (I paid $65 for the night).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The good: good soundproofing, free wifi, friendly welcome
The not-so-good: OLD, strong disinfectant smell, only two pillows

Because it hasn't been renovated in who knows how long, it just felt like it wasn't really clean. I'm sure it was, but it just felt a little icky.

A little expensive for what it was ($75), but it was available.

Room Tip: We ended up right next to the ice machine on the first floor, but didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were glad to find this motel in Lakeview. It is reasonably priced and very clean and comfortable. The ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful in telling us what eating places were available, etc. Lakeview is a very pretty town on the edge of the Oregon Outback. I would recommend this motel over the others that are in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikingoilpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeview hotels
0.3 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Lakeview
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Skyline Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Lodge Motel
Lakeview Lodge Motel
#6 of 6 in Lakeview
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fremont Inn
Fremont Inn
#2 of 6 in Lakeview
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hunter's Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interstate 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interstate 8 Motel

Address: 354 N K St, Lakeview, OR 97630-1343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lakeview
Price Range: $72 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Interstate 8 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Interstate 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interstate 8 Motel Lakeview, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing