We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For consitently good sushi go to Sinju Sushi -- any location.”

Ranked #78 of 151 Restaurants in Lake Oswego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
510 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
“For consitently good sushi go to Sinju Sushi -- any location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Sinju Sushi is a great Japanese restaurant with several locations in the Greater Portland Area. It is my favorite place to go when I need a sushi fix.

The restaurant is always clean with lots of natural lighting and the staff is friendly and well informed. If the restaurant has outdoor seating, and it's warm enough, that's the way to go!

Here are my favorites.

A must have is their Ahi Tuna Tower. It is made up of layers of wonderful delightful items and then the tower is ‘smashed’ at your table to mix all the ingredients and sauce into a dish that should be eaten slowly so you can relish every bit. Enough for two or three.

Their Hawaiian poke salad is the perfect blend of seaweed, kaiware, cucumber, masago, fresh tuna, and their special spicy poke dressing. I love good poke and they do it well here.

Another salad favorite is their seaweed salad with special sa and sesame seeds. Consistently good and a nice option for a light salad.

Besides sashimi (yellow tail is a must for me), there have three other dishes that I always order: Creamy Scallops, Spider Softshell Crab roll, and Salmon Skin Roll. I also like the texture from the crunch in the flying fish roe with silkiness of the raw quail egg.

I’ve never had a bad meal here and there is enough on the menu to explore to bring you back time after time without getting bored.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Sinju is our go to sushi place however, things have only been average the last few times. Love the ahi tuna tower-very filling and should be split between at least 3. I'm always cold in this restaurant so bring a sweater if you chill easily.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant with stunningly good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We love this restaurant. Last night we went with 4 adults and 1 two year old. They accommodated all of us very well. They welcome families. This is surprising because this is a very elegantly designed with a sophisticated atmosphere. The staff is friendly and responsive.

Of course the real draw is the food. The sushi and the rolls are perfectly prepared with just the right rice and the freshest fish. It is served beautifully and promptly. The only problem we had is that we just could not stop eating:)

This is our fourth visit to this restaurant and the results are always the same. Don't be put off because it is in a shopping mall. It is worth going there just for dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CleoIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Great Japanese food. We especially like sitting in one of the small secluded rooms for peace and quiet. Food excellent and presentation well done. Prices are somewhat high but it is a great place to have a drink and appetizers before going to the Cinema next door. Valet parking is available if you don't want to drive around the parking garage or the additional parking lot around the corner.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank travellerPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“boring sushi in a nice outdoor mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you find yourself in Bridgeport Village and you really want sushi, then this is the place for you. However, don't expect anything special. The fish is medium quality and the menu is aimed at people who don't really enjoy sushi. The focus is on crazy roll combinations with lots of sauce and some cooked/seared fish.

If the weather is half way decent, sit outside. Inside lacks warmth - figuratively and literally. And the stools at the sushi bar are incredibly uncomfortable - they practially tip you onto the floor (without the aide of any sake.)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RailroadCrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinju @Bridgeport Village also viewed

Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 

Been to Sinju @Bridgeport Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing