We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Okay”

Hunan Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 151 Restaurants in Lake Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We're not sure where all these five-star reviews are coming from. We've eaten here quite a few times over the years and while it is average Chinese food, it seems like the prices keep rising and the portions keep shrinking. Honestly, you could do a little better at Jin Wah restaurant in Beaverton. Needless to say, we haven't been back for quite a while now, and we were not impressed at the last visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificNWUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Chinese food in Lake Oswego!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a gem! My daughter & I tired from a day of shopping, did take out from this amazing find! The food was fresh & authentic! It was spicy just like it should be! Prices were very reasonable and food was plentiful. Definitely worth getting to for good Chinese food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millars_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beijings most famous dish right here in the Portland area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

When we are in the Portland area we love to have lunch or dinner at Hunan Pearl. Several weeks ago we were having dinner at Hunan Pearl and asked about their Beijing Duck, this dish requires 24 hour prep time and you need to call the day before and so excited to find a restaurant in Oregon that still took the time to make this dsh. We were presented with this beautiful golden/brown duck, I wanted to take a picture so bad but I contained myself for respect to our server and the duck. The duck was served with mandarin pancakes (their pancakes were a little different than other restaurants) green onions (cut to form little curls at each end) and the hoisin sauce. The server made each of use a Beijing duck wrap and then left us to make more wraps for our selves. The skin was very crispy and the duck moist, no flavors to hide the taste of the duck. The green onion and hoisin sauce complement the duck. We had Beijing duck for lunch the next day, served cold with a salad, yummy. We have been visiting the Hunan Pearl for years and have enjoyed every meal, always a warm greeting and helpful when ordering. We have calendar our next visit to the Hunam Pearl Restaurant in Lake Oswego, Oregon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Habit Forming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I am thoroughly spoiled by the always great food at Hunan Pearl. The restaurant is always clean, staff always friendly, and they remember what I prefer and make good recommendations. The soup is fresh, not a product of Sysco, and the entrees always made to order. I have tried other menu items but keep coming back to my special favorite of Shrimp in ginger chili sauce. I don't ever get tired of it. I highly recommend this restaurant - but with a word of caution about the parking - go early or go late since parking is always an adventure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Asian Crusine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Hunan Pearl is my favorite "Chinese" restaurant. They have many speciality dishes and all of their food is delicious. The food comes to the table very hot so you never get cold food. They will cook "non gluten" if requested and have non-gluten soy sauce upon request. My favorite dish is the "honey ribs". A close second if their cashew chicken. The menu has a wide selection of varied asian dishes. You won't go away unsatisfied or hungary. Their staff provides great service and many have been there for years and years and remember you when you return. Me, being celiac, have to have everything "gluten free" and they do their best to provide that service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbaird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Pearl Restaurant also viewed

Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 

Been to Hunan Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing