We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Nice motel. We stayed in a King room, which was nice and roomy. Room was clean, and believe me, that is something I check right away! The area appears to be pretty safe, upscale, and well kept.

Downside: extremely small pool, and the breakfast was not fantastic. Having a dairy allergy, I expected a soy milk option with so many lactose intolerant people not to mention those who chose to not drink dairy, but they did not have any dairy free options. The potatoes and omelets left a lot to be desired, as well.

Other than a less than appealing breakfast, the motel overall was great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPDX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
We would like to thank for the nice review. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    237
    84
    28
    14
See reviews for
175
172
49
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
277 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

As we are in the process of relocating to the Portland area, we've spent more than a couple of weeks at this hotel and can recommend it quite highly.

The property is convenient to I-5, several restaurants (though most are chains), a FedEx Office, and other amenities. The staff is great as well. They remembered our names and used them just a few days into our first stay, and have made us feel welcome each time we returned.

The property has a pool, hot tub, workout room, and guest laundry. They serve breakfast (included if you're a Hilton HHonors gold or diamond member; at a cost otherwise), dinner, evening beer and wine, and limited room service. There is also a convenient pantry selling beer and wine, snacks and sundries. Free underground parking is also available.

There are a few drawbacks including in-wall air conditioners that could be quieter, no suites on site (only standard rooms) and the small, limited size of the business center (easily offset by the convenience of the FedEx office).

All in all, a good place to hang your hat, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPDX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
I would like to thank you for your review and hope you come back and stay with us soon.

Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Arrived early and the very courteous hotel staff was able to clean out some rooms to get my colleague and I into a room. After a long flight, it was very appreciated. The rooms are nice, clean and quiet and include free internet. It's located off I-5, close to a very nice restaurant (Oswego Grill) and near shopping. Nicely done.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceair614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPDX, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
We would like to thank you for a great review and look forward to seeing you again.

Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

If you use the discount auction site, they have a policy of only allowing you to have a room with 1 bed. They have 2 bed rooms (which are actually the same price on their website) but they will not give them to you. So you are forced to change out your reservation for the same price you would have gotten it for on any site. They act like they are doing you a big favor.

So do not use the name your price in this area unless you want just one bed. I have never had this experience with any other hotel. It created such ill will that I will not return to a Hilton hotel. It seems like switch and bait to me.

The hotel is fine enough. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful about resturants. In a business park. 3 resturants near by. We had a good dinner at the Oswego grill. The $10 per person breakfast is not really worth it - there is a starbucks in the minimall across the street.

The hotel resturant and room service are very minimal. The pool is the smallest I have ever seen. Not good even for kids.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

A relative who lives in Lake Oswego encouraged me to stay at this hotel, and I did not regret it.

The hotel is located within sight of a freeway, and in an office park, but the rooms are still very quiet. Our room appeared to have been recently redecorated, and although it was a little on the small side, it was still adequate for our needs. Other people have commented that TV reception at this property is poor, but I didn't notice any problems. The staff were always very friendly. I particularly appreciated the free cookies every afternoon!

The hotel restaurant is a little on the pricey side, so we went to Biscuits Cafe (about two minutes from the hotel), for breakfast. For dinner, we went to El Ranchito in downtown Lake Oswego (about ten minutes away - ask the front desk for directions). El Ranchito is an old family run Mexican restaurant. Although it did not look like much on the outside, the food was exceptionally good.

I'm an avid jogger, and every morning I went jogging through the residential neighborhoods around the hotel. Most streets have sidewalks, and joggers trying to cross major streets are protected by traffic signals and crosswalks. Being able to exercise outdoors, rather than on a treadmill in a hotel exercise room, is another reason to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I like Hilton hotels for their usually reliable internet access. Alas that wasn't the case for my night here. Rooms offer both wired and wireless free access, but after trying both without success, I moved to the lobby where I was finally able to connect for email. Front desk staff were helpful and notified maintenance who said they'd been having problems and reset their router many time the previous day. Only a few rooms reported internet issues even with a full house, so it may only affect some rooms. Everything else was great. And unlike other reviews, my window opened and I enjoyed the fresh air and quiet location. No noticeable traffic noise from I-5. Breakfast buffet flat price is a bit steep for a bowl of oatmeal & cofffee. Hearty eaters have the advantage here. ..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenton oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The personel was extremely curtious, and helpful. Check in and out was a breeze.
The rooms were very comfortable.Fantastic beds. The only draw back was that windows were secured shut. Therefore air circulation was poor. I am a smoker, and requested smoking room which I wasgiven but no way to let fresh air in.Therefore rooms were smokey smelling and bothered allergies.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgal97146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Oswego hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland South/Lake Oswego
0.2 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites
Phoenix Inn Suites
#5 of 7 in Lake Oswego
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
3.7 mi away
Lakeshore Inn
Lakeshore Inn
#3 of 7 in Lake Oswego
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland South/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
Address: 14850 Kruse Oaks Blvd, Lake Oswego, OR 97035-8603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing Lake Oswego hotel, the Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego hotel is conveniently located near Tigard & Wilsonville, OR within close proximity to the beautiful Oregon Wine Country and only minutes from downtown Portland. We are also located near Bridgeport Village Shopping Mall, Washington Square Shopping Mall, Oregon Zoo, Rose Garden Arena, and Lewis and Clark College. Plus, the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Lake Oswego offers 179 spacious guestrooms full of thoughtful amenities complemented by friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. At the Hilton Garden Inn, you'll find everything you need, right where you need it during your stay in Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego Hotel Lake Oswego
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Oswego
Hilton Lake Oswego
Lake Oswego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing