We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Phoenix Inn Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Having previously stayed at this property I felt confident that my stay, celebrating my mother's birthday, would be clean and comfortable at the Lake Oswego Phoenix Inn. I was very disappointed.

I was very surprised when we entered our room: #319, to immediately smell a musty, mildew scent and see extremely dirty carpet. (Also later found in the stairwell.) Mildew in the shower and on the shower curtain, dirty glasses, intermittent sound cut outs on our older model TV, a fridge that had no adjustments and got cool, but not cold, were just a few of the disappointments to follow.

The usual 'fresh baked cookies' were non-existent. One old cookie seemed to be on the front desk plate for the two days we were there. We always seemed to miss fresh coffee too, and always had 'decaf' in our room instead of regular - which I thought odd.

What was good? The WiFi was excellent, the microwave worked for both reheating dinners and making popcorn. We used the pool and Jacuzzi, both of which were clean and in working order.

What was bad? The room we received was simply 'unclean', and even on the second day when the room had been attended by housekeeping, it was still unclean. Leaving bits of paper around the room in major traffic areas to see if vacuuming occurred yielded evidence that it had not. Items left on the countertop near the sinks were not moved - indicating to me that they'd not wiped down the area. Beds were not terrible, but slightly lumpy with a few rock-hard pillows.

Bedding and fixtures were dated in this room, but we'd previously stayed at this property and received an updated, 1st floor room that was very nice. Clean and comfortable, not at all like what we received this time.

The road noise from I-5 was extremely bad in this room! At 4:30am or so the sound of traffic was so loud, none of us could sleep. We had not experienced that the last time in a first floor room on the Bangy road side.

I booked this stay through Hotwire and wondered if perhaps that's why we received such a sub-par room. No matter what the reason, it was bad enough that I complained to the front desk upon check-out. The resident manager was apparently in the building, but had her front desk clerk talk with us - she never came out to discuss our concerns with the room.

I laughed to myself as I read the sign at the front desk proudly announcing their 'Diamond' status with AAA for 2012. Apparently whoever checked out the property to give out that rating didn't see room #319!

While disappointed in the lack of cleanliness and overall comfort of our room, I was most disappointed in the lack of customer service provided when those concerns were brought to the front desk. The desk clerk was pleasant, but powerless and the manager never came out to take the heat.

Upon returning home I wrote to the corporate office and the general manager of the property, sharing photos of the conditions of the room. I don't know if that will get a response, but I certainly hope they will look into it for the future guests of the property.

I will not be returning to this property, and would recommend you avoid it too, unless these issues are addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room to the Bangy Road side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you had in your room. I again apologize to you if we seemed to not care about your concerns, as I did not know you were still here in the hotel. No one is more disappointed than I, when we do not meet guests expectations. I do not want to make excuses, but some of the double rooms have seen more wear and tear, in the almost 20 years we've been open. I do appreciate any and all feedback, so that we may learn to serve our guests better. I do hope that you will take us up on the offer of trying us again, even if is it at the Tigard location...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
69
30
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband I & have stayed here on several occasions and can count on that we will have good service. The hotel is nothing fancy, with it only views of I-5, a service station & restaurant. Despite the view, you can count on a large suite that is quiet and clean. The beds are comfortable with a light weight down quilt. The Inn provides a hot & cold items such as make you own waffles, scrambled eggs, tortillas, toast, cinnamon rolls, etc. A nice touch: fresh cookies at the desk in the evening!

It is a solid room for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to leave such a great review! We appreciate any and all feedback, so we can know what we are doing right and/or wrong. We look forward to our future updates, and seeing you again at the Phoenix Inn Lake Oswego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our road trip down to LA. Booked through Hotwire as a 3 star for 82/night.

My biggest issue was that my expectations going in was that of a 3-star. Had I booked it as a 2-star, my review would have been better.

It is a dated hotel, very 70s/80s. Clean, but in need of a renovation. Some of the bathroom fixtures were loose, including a shower curtain rod that must have been screwed in at least 4 different times without success hitting a stud or using a wall anchor.

While it did have a pool, the pool room was not properly vented or sealed from the rest of the hotel. That made the hallways smell like chlorine.

Breakfast was ok for someone in a rush. WiFi, while free, was very inconsistent and slow

At this price point, I might stay again for 1 night on a road trip. Any longer I would look somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFoodGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to additions to our 2006 partial renovation, and we hope that you do to. Thank you for letting us know about the inconsistent wifi...so that we will have our vendor take a look at that. Hope to see you on your next trip to Lake Oswego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is one of those hotels that you can't say a whole lot really good or really bad about. It's simply average - a decent place to stay for one night, two at the most. I'll simple summerize the pros and cons:

The Pros:
-Decent price. We paid $99 with free parking and free breakfast for two, which for a AAA 3-Diamond hotel in Portland in mid-summer is pretty good.
-Nice size room. Two queen beds, pretty comfortable.
-Large vanity area, outside of the shower/toilet area, with two sinks. Very helpful for getting ready in the morning.
-Free WIFI, good speed for a hotel.
-Free breakfast. Pretty typcial stuff but tasty, with scrambled eggs, waffles, pastries, juice, good coffee.
-Nice, helpful front desk staff.
-Nice area, lots of restaurants nearby (Chevy's is excellent - see separate review), convenient to the freeway for getting to Portland.

The Cons:
-The room is outdated. The furniture is a little dark and scuffed. Old TV and entertainment center. Old vanity. The only thing in the room that seemed pretty new was a nice cream-colored leather love seat.
-The bathroom is dark and kinda dingy. The exhaust fan is loud. Lots of caulk in the shower (I always use caulking as the gauge for when a hotel is ready for updating). The toilet bowl had a crack in it. The shower curtain was dirty in spots.
-Very few toilettries (just a soap and shampoo dispenser in the bathroom, and a bar of soap in the vanity area. No creme rinse.). Older towels.
-LOTS of freeway noise if you open the windows, so you need to keep them closed and rely on the the thru-wall AC unit for cooling. The windows are double-pane but still have a weird magnetic storm window over them to further help with the noise. We even asked for a different room, but were told they were pretty much all the same.

Once again, okay for a night or two, especially if you want to save some money, but for a few bucks more I believe there are better places in the same area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay in July. I hate to keep repeating myself, but we really do look forward to more updates to the hotel, and appreciate all the feedback. We hope that you will stay again, and check back for future updates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Unless the absolute lowest price is your priority, I do not recommend the Phoenix Inn. The hotel is right off I-5 which is convenient for going to downtown Portland (15-20 min drive). The front desk is friendly and helpful. The room and everything about the hotel are a bit dated. The TV is the old tube style. The bed is comfortable enough. The towels are way overdue for replacement. Dual sinks outside bathroom can be annoying for some or efficient for others like family trying to get ready in the morning in a reasonable amount of time. The included breakfast is such poor quality that we decided to stick only with coffee (weak) and bagels. The pool and the gym are small. I didn't use them. Free WiFi was slow and unreliable. Although Phoenix Inn had the best price in Lake Oswego area when I checked, I would pay a little more for a much better experience (see my review of the nearby Hilton Garden).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate all feedback, and we know what we can fix to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope that you will check back to future updates...and consider staying again at the Phoenix Inn Suites Lake Oswego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is my second time staying at a Phoenix Inn (first one was in Vancouver WA) and it did not disappoint. The location was convenient and right off the highway. If you are visiting Portland, it is just another 15 minutes north. There is a gas station next door and a Chevy's and Olive Garden within walking distance. The lobby was welcoming and parking easy. The hotel also had a indoor pool a small exercise room.

Check in and out - I had no problems with long lines and was able to check in a few hours early. Service was professional and friendly.

Breakfast - The breakfast room was a bit small. For my two night stay the food included tortillas, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, bread, bagels, waffle maker, apples, coffee, tea, and juice. I was very impressed that when an item got low, it was quickly replenished. I can't say it was a fine dining experience but it was one of the better breakfasts' for a chain hotel. The guy running it did a great job ensuring that dirty dishes did not pile up and everything remained clean.

Rooms - My room was large, spacious and well laid out. Everything appeared clean. It had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and wet bar. The "sitting area" had a small love seat and coffee table. There was also a separate desk and chair. The television, surprisingly was not a flat screen but it worked fine and had about 50 or so channels. The bed was very comfortable and I slept great. The hotel rooms do have wi-fi at no extra cost. The bath had a soap and shampoo dispenser. Water pressure was fine. Overall I did not hear much noise except for some guests that slammed their doors.

Other Info: The hotel does provide shuttle service if you need it. Coffee and tea is available in the lobby 24 hours. Baked cookies are put out later in the afternoon. The hotel does accept pets but I did not have any negative experiences with smells or anything else in my room or on the property. There is a computer in the lobby for guest use. This was a life saver for me since my laptop computer screen had died on me. However, the internet connection was awful! It was very, very slow. My primary purpose for using the computer was to transfer photos from compact flash discs to my personal external hard drive. For this it worked fine and I'm thankful that there was a computer available. There is only one elevator that can get slow during busy times. Staircases are located on either side of the halls. Ice makers are on every floor and the lobby even had a hot and cold water dispenser.

As stated above, this is my second time staying at a Phoenix Inn and once again, I have not been disappointed. The price was right, location perfect, and rooms comfortable, clean, and met all of my needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your very thorough review of our hotel! I am very excited to share this one with my staff, as it always nice to hear when we've done it right. We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to the Portland area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed five days great location near restaurants decent breakfast clean rooms would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nativearizonain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLechner, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for your quick note to say we met your expectations! We look forward to having you on your next trip to Lake Oswego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Oswego
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland South/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#58 of 142 in Portland
156 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites

Property: Phoenix Inn Suites
Address: 14905 Bangy Rd, Lake Oswego, OR 97035-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenix Inn Suites hotel in Lake Oswego, Oregon offers 62 spacious, comfortable and inviting suite accommodations with an indoor pool. Each sleeping room offers amenities with both the corporate guest and the leisure guest in mind. We offer blocks of rooms for wedding parties, plus other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel Lake Oswego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing