We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeshore Inn - pros and cons”
Review of Lakeshore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeshore Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We spent eight nights at the Lakeshore Inn in June, 2006. Overall, we had a good experience, but it was not quite what we were expecting.

The pros are that the hotel is very clean, and well maintained. We had two problems the first morning after we had arrived - the refrigerator did not work and the shower head was more like a water jet than a shower head. Both problems were fixed extremely quickly and fully on the first visit. We had no problems the rest of the stay. The hotel has a good location if you do not want to be in central Portland. It is located in the center of the upscale suburb of Lake Oswego, right on the eastern arm of the lake. A Starbucks, Albertson's, Rite Aid and numerous other restaurants are in walking distance, as is a two screen family run movie theatre. Be sure to visit the Tillamook Ice Creamery around the corner! Additonally, the hotel is right on a bus line with good service to central Portland (albeit about a 30 minute ride). The rooms are reasonably spacious and I believe each has a balcony. The rates are certainly reasonable. Refrigerators in the room plus nearby coffee shops, etc make the lack of on site breakfast facilities tolerable.

The downsides are that the hotel is not the quietest. From our room, we could easily hear any conversation on the neighboring balconies, plus conversations on the lakefront walkway across the water (by the railroad tracks). Parking is a challenge - although to the hotel's credit, they do tell you where to find overflow parking (and where not to park).
Additionally, if you want to take a day trip to areas near Portland - the Gorge, Mt. St. Helen's, etc, the hotel is not located near a freeway. In my view, this is the biggest negative. If you are planning to visit Portland and spend most of your time downtown and . or in Lake Oswego, this is a good place to stay. If you are planning to take day trips to outlying areas, I'd personally recommend you stay elsewhere - on or near an interstate.

4  Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 252 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Plymouth, Minnesota
28
Reviewed April 2, 2006

The Lakeshore Inn in the pretty, upscale town of Lake Oswego, outside of Portland, has an interesting sort of funky feel to it. I was there in rainy, chilly weather but would love to visit again in the summer. In spite of the chill, my room was welcoming and comfortable. I should say rooms, as I had both a bedroom and a living room/kitchen, and a lovely little balcony overlooking the lake.

I loved having a little kitchen. It reminded me of a summer cabin in that way.

The neighborhood, downtown Lake Oswego, is safe and has plenty of good restaurants, coffee shops, and a little movie theatre all within easy walking distance from the Lakeshore Inn.

Parking is free, and you're also right next to a great little park at the lake. While other reviewers complained about the train noise, I never even noticed it!

I found this to be a perfect hotel for a woman alone or for a family. It might not be the ultimate romantic hotel if you are a couple in search of an escape, but otherwise I think it's a great place to stay when you're in the Portland area.

The staff were friendly and helpful, great directions!

I will definitely return to the Lakeshore.

Stayed: March 2006
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed June 25, 2005

My Sister and her family came up to Eastern Oregon to visit. We needed to spend a night in Portland the day before they flew home. I had stayed at The Lakeshore Inn, Lake Oswego, some years ago and was very pleased with the rooms and service.

When I phoned to make reservations the Desk Clerk was very polite and helpful. When we arrived at the Lake Shore the Desk Clerk was also very polite and helpful. She told us about the area resturants and points of interest.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which seemed like being in an upscale apartment. It was big, roomy and the view was fantastic. The swimming pool was warm and also right on the lake. My sister and her family were ready to move in.

We enjoyed the view, the room, the pool, the service and how convenient the location was to so many shops and resturants.

We will stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
14
Reviewed June 4, 2005

I stayed at the Lakeshore Inn for three nights. The room was fine but nothing spectacular considering I could pay a lesser rate for a nicer room for other Lake Oswego lodging. The view of the lake and the location of the hotel was very nice. However, there were two issues that would stop me from staying there again.
1) The blaring of the train and its very loud whistle at something like 5:00am every morning. The train tracks run right next to the hotel and clearly there have been no arrangements to help insulate the hotel from the complete noise pollution.
2) The floors are so thin that one can hear every movement in the room above. Very intrusive.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dayton, Ohio
14
Reviewed May 31, 2005

Please, please, please - Do NOT make the mistake of booking a room at this place. My wife and I chose this hotel for the beautiful view of Lake Oswego, but were disgusted by the rooms and, more importantly, the service. The trip got off to a bad start when not only was the toilet clogged upon our arrival, but the bedroom floor was covered with cat feces. Our complaints to the service desk were met with laughter and derisiveness. This hotel is a horrible hell hole and I'm sorry I ever stayed there.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2005

No one on our staff has any knowledge of this guest or incident. We do not allow pets at the hotel. We would appreciate a direct contact from this guest so that we could rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
14
Reviewed May 31, 2005

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The management at the Lakeshore Inn could learn a thing or two about "customer service"! The power in our room went out due to a blown fuse. We called the front desk after playing with the fusebox and she came upstairs to "help"...Instead she rolled her eyes at us, muttered some insults under her breath, and told us we were using too many lights. Have you ever heard of restricted electricity use in a hotel room? The manager, Larry, then came up and immediately began yelling at us about how we caused the problem and all he could do was bring us some fans. We reminded him that there was no where to plug in the fans. He refused to credit the room for the night, or attempt to find us other accomodations (it was 98 degrees that night). It turned into an argument between us and Larry about how we wasted his hotel's "electricity". Eventually we called a friend who fixed the problem and thanked Larry and Jennifer (front desk) for all of the "help"...Worst Service Ever!
Oh, and don't expect the maid to do more than make the beds...they left the dirty towels in a big pile on the floor. If you go, don't use their electricity, and don't expect any service.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2005

The problem that the guest described was a tripped GFI plug in the bathroom. We apologize for not recognizing the problem and resetting it more promptly. Our staff say their intention was to be helpful and they apologize if it appeared otherwise. Our staff have all been with us for a long time and they are routinely complimented for their customer service. We did begin to locate another hotel for these guests and would have refunded their money, but after the power was restored they decided to stay. Our housekeepers provide a thorough cleaning of our guest rooms and bathrooms, including clean towels, daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sweet Home, OR
220
Reviewed April 19, 2005

We recently spent the night at the Lakeshore and it was simply like being at home....we couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable and relaxing time. The room offered all the anemities of home (microwave, TV/DVD, fridge- and yes ladies even a blow dryer and iron and board!!!),We even had a complimentary basket of snacks awaiting us, which we thought added a special touch to our stay. The lake view was spectacular and it is just a hop and skip away from the new developing downtown area. We truly enjoyed the staff's attentiveness and would not hesitate to call on the Lakeshore again when we are in town!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Oswego
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland South/Lake Oswego
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Rivershore Hotel
3.9 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites
Phoenix Inn Suites
#4 of 7 in Lake Oswego
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Inn

Address: 210 N State St, Lake Oswego, OR 97034-3110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Lake Oswego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lake Oswego
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeshore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a wonderful lakefront room or suite in the heart of downtown Lake Oswego. Guests will enjoy complimentary pastries and gourment coffee, lakefront decks, Wi-Fi, flat screen HD TVs, DVD players, small kitchens and lakeside pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Hotel Lake Oswego
Lakeshore Inn Lake Oswego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing